Well! How ’bout THAT?

Super Bowl XLIII Logo
Image via Wikipedia

That was quite a show the teams put on for Super Bowl XLIII, wasn’t it?  What a great game!  As a fan of neither team, but a lover of the game, I can appreciate the excitement.  This time.

Last time a Super Bowl was lost in the last 35 seconds of the game, I wasn’t a happy camper.  But … hey, it’s all in the past, right?

So anyway, the Steelers are world champions again, for the sixth time.  They are the first NFL franchise in history to win six, and they deserve to be happy and proud tonight.

As for the Cardinals and their fans, please know that my beloved and I understand how you feel.  At least you weren’t the heavily favored team, only to be upended unexpectedly.  And your team played a great, exciting game.  As a fan, I thank you, and congratulations on a really fantastic 2008-2009 season.  May you have many more.

And you know what?  I’m 2-3 in my Super Bowl wishes for the last five years.  I rooted for the Patriots (W), the Seahawks (L), the Colts, sort of, but only because I hate the Bears more (W), the Patriots (L, which still makes me throw up a little in my mouth when I think about it), and the Cardinals (L, but I really didn’t hold out much hope and they played a better game than I thought they would).  I’m going to have to admit that prognostication is not the same as my emotional pick and start using my head and not my heart to decide who I want to win.  I’ll be a happier person, and you’d think I’d know that at my age.  Sheesh.

So, I have very happy friends in Columbus, OH, and I’m glad for them.  I hope the moment was everything you dreamed it would be, and more.  Our hearts rejoice with you.

Even though we wanted the Cards to win.  Heh.

Congratulations, Ben and Kristy:)

-JDT-