Note the Change!

All right, WordPress now allows comment nesting.  That means, instead of answering your comments inside your comments, as I’d been doing (thanks to WIGSF), I can now hit the “Reply” link on your comment and reply directly to you.  I’m not going to do that, though; I’ll keep doing it the way I’ve been doing it because it’s cleaner (see below).

This does a couple of things.  It means I get a list, indented and in order, of your comments and my replies.  This is a mess on my dashboard, but it might be worth it in the long run.  I just don’t like seeing my own replies.  Ugh.

It also gives you the chance to respond to each other if you’d like.  I think that’s the biggest benefit.  And it sets up more of a forum-conversation type thing.

So, I’ll leave it this way for a while, but I don’t think I’m going to change how I reply to you all.  I think I’ll keep adding my responses to your comments, and let you respond to each other if you want to with the “Reply” link.

Let me know what you think.

God bless,
-JDT-

More Frustration with Downloads

Graphic representation of a minute fraction of...
Image via Wikipedia

All right … I know I shouldn’t be surfing bit torrent sites, but I do.  C’mon, it’s the Internet of the 21st century.  Why not?

But something … interesting, let’s say, happens when I download something.  Doesn’t really matter what — and I won’t say — but it’s interesting.

Comcast, not long ago, vowed to punish bit torrent downloaders.  There was an outcry from people all over the place.  This is the new way of getting things from the Internet and Comcast was basically censoring.  So they capitulated and said they removed the punishment.  And yet, whenever I try to download something I get punished.

Now, it could be the torrent sites themselves, seeing me as a “leech“, and they’re strapping my download speeds, but there’s more to it than that.

When I download something, my Internet connection chokes.  It actually fails.  I get the annoying error message stating my connection is lost and is trying to reconnect.  It never does.  I have to do the Windows “Repair Connection” fandango and then it’ll resume … for a few minutes.  Then the whole thing happens again and I get dookey.  Back to the repair utility.

Kill the download, and guess what?  Reliability returns, everything’s happy.

It’s starting to tick me off, frankly.  There’s stuff I want, and I don’t think it should take me five days to get it.  I shouldn’t have to repair the connection every fifteen minutes along the way, either.

So … what gives?  Anyone else have this problem?

-JDT-