Paranoia State

Image by Henry Fuseli depicting Hamlet in the ...
Image via Wikipedia

So, I might’ve mentioned I sometimes watch Paranormal State, a “docu-drama” about paranormal investigations conducted by Ryan Buell‘s Paranormal Research Society based out of Penn State University.

I watched an episode on March 23, 2009, wherein Ryan and his intrepid band of fellow club members take on a case in Kentucky where a family is reporting paranormal activity.  Through the course of the show, PRS is led (back) to Quincy, IL, where a young girl previously had a “demonic possession“.  PRS called in a priest, who performed an exorcism, and everything was hunky-dory for a while.  Six months, I believe they said.

So Mr. Buell and his brave band of followers and ghost hunters went back to do battle with the demonic force haunting and harming the little girl.

I’m willing to give a pretty wide berth for shows like this.  I just love things paranormal and while I watch them for entertainment and fun, this particular episode left me … well, disappointed would be a big understatement.

For the life of the show, people have leveled accusations of staged events, and the suave, smooth presentation Ryan Buell gives is clearly rehearsed.  But the show’s been pretty fun and has had some moments I thought were pretty interesting.  (For instance, watching the temperature on a thermal camera drop 30 degrees.)  But overall, these shows are pretty hokey and you have to take them with a large dose of sodium chloride and whatever flavor of liquor will help you swallow bovine fecal matter.  I mean, none of this stuff is hard to make up and generate as special effects.

So anyway, on 23-Mar-2009, I watched what was presented as an “exorcism”.  I have to tell you, a more poorly acted drama I’ve not seen in a long, long time.  I saw werewolf movies with Lon Chaney which had better and creepier elements of the supernatural, and in the end, I saw a young girl who probably needed acting classes more than she needed a priest.  I saw a priest who had more questionable theology than almost any (almost) I’ve ever met in person.  I saw an old man who, every time he comes on the show, seems desperate to bag as much camera time as he can and likes to make the editors censor out his foul language, and who presents himself as someone who chats with the dead or demonic — but only he can hear them.  That’s right, the voices speak only to him.  Take that how you will.

I saw a show that probably shouldn’t’ve been aired, frankly.  It was overwrought with manufactured drama and “tension”.  I only pray my fiction’s not as bad.  Please, Lord.  It was awful.

It sort of bummed me out, because I was really starting to enjoy the show.  Oh well.  I still have Ghost Hunters and Ghost Hunters International to entertain my ghost addiction.

And I can’t figure out why I can’t get a job.  Ha!

-JDT-