Traffic Patterns and Blogging

Blogging Readiness
Image by cambodia4kidsorg via Flickr

So it must be wedding season in south-central Asia.

I can tell, because most of the time, my daily posts will outstrip the posts about bio-data information during the week, then lag behind over the weekend when I’m not posting.  It’s always neck-and-neck, down to the wire, but my posts are usually more popular in terms of views on a daily basis than the bio stuff.

Not so lately, though.  This week, the wedding resumes are more popular by a fair stretch.  Today (as I write this, which is a Wednesday), it’s a 33% margin of lead.

I get over a hundred views a day now pretty consistently, but I owe most of that to the personal and professional bio-data information I compiled last year.  If I remove that from my blog (and don’t think I haven’t considered it), I wonder where I’ll end up?  Probably something more akin to what I have on my fiction blog (which ain’t much, rarely more than five and never consistent).

It’s been sort of tricky for me to figure out what would drive traffic to my blog over the time I’ve been interested in that.  For one thing, I don’t have a consistent topic about which I blog.  For another, my search terms were always slanted toward the personal CV stuff because I mentioned it in a post once.  Since it was ticking me off, I decided to give ‘em what they want, and now, I have no other search terms at all bringing people to my blog.

Nothing wrong with being focused, I guess, and having a targeted audience.  That just isn’t the one I wanted.

Here’s a few things, if you’re interested, that I found in my research to drive traffic to your blog:

  1. Comment on other blogs.  Folks who see your comments around the blogosphere will follow you home, so to speak.
  2. Join a forum.  Got a hobby or interest you like blogging about?  Find a forum about that topic, comment and post, and put your blog address in your signature.  Voila, more hits.
  3. Put your blog address in your signature on your emails and anywhere else you might correspond or be seen.  Your Twitter profile for instance, or your Facebook or MySpace page.
  4. Make sure you link to other blogs similar to yours or of interest to you and your intended audience.  Also communicate with similarly targeted bloggers and see about exchanging links and link-backs.
  5. Make use of ping sites like Technorati.
  6. Add chicklets to your blog for sites like Technorati, Reddit, Digg, Del.icio.us, etc.
  7. Put an RSS feed button on your blog.

Just some general items you can use to pull some traffic your way.