Another Notch in the Belt


Well, I think I’ve finally found my groove on this computer programming video learning thing. I’ve figured out how to take notes in a way which works well for my mind, and allows me to keep up with the video much better. No more trying to “take notes” (read: “transcribe”) by pausing the video and re-wording what I see on the on-screen slide.

I’m doing it faster and retaining it longer, and last week, I put some stuff I learned to work for the first time. I not only remembered the processes but some of the details too. (Not all of them, of course, but I’m still new at this and didn’t exactly “study” beforehand.

What this all means is, I finished another class. By the time you read this I’ll be moving on to the next one, trying to decide what that will be. So go me!

The downside to all this is, I’m slacking off a bit on the viewing. I’ve been tired and drained every night when I get home and slept in on Saturday. While I love what I’ve got working for me right now, in terms of the note-taking (I never did learn how to do this in school, btw), it has become a two-step process for me. I have to take the raw, rough notes and then make them legible and clear in their permanent location elsewhere. I’m not sure how I feel about that and I wondered whether it would create problems with recall for me to go too long between viewing sessions. So I deliberately waited a few days as a test.

I found as I transcribed and cleaned-up the notes, my recall was pretty good. I knew what everything meant, and actually expanded on some things a bit as I worked through them. And the best part is, I covered more ground more quickly with fewer pages. I love it.

So now, to apply.

I’m excited to tackle the next phase of my learning – MVC. I think I’ve described that one to you already, but if not, don’t worry. A horrible and boring review probably isn’t far off as I work through Appmageddon and see where it takes me. I have to hurry up and get it done, though, so prayers are appreciated.

On and up!

-jdt-

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

