Okay — What Would YOU Like to See?


It goes without saying that I need to write another book. In fact, I should be doing that already. But … I haven’t started a new one yet.

Why? I’m glad you asked.

I don’t have any clue what to write about, that’s why.

See, I have this weird thing that happens when I write. I finish the thing I’m working on and I feel emptied out, dried up, and done. I don’t know why. I focused a lot of energy and attention on Ghost Hunters and I’m happy with the first draft so far. What that means, though, is that I didn’t have a lot of time or energy to devote to coming up with my next story.

So here’s my question to you, Blogosphere:

What would you like to see a story about?

I was thinking about another story with our three intrepid paranormal investigators. I’m just not sure what kind of adventure they should have this time. I don’t want to be stereotypical. I guess I could give them another story with ghosts, but … meh. I don’t want it to become old hat, you know? I could have them encounter some other otherworldly phenomenon or presence, but what?

See the problem?

Or should I just move on to something else altogether? You know, a new story with new characters in a new setting with a new style? Should I try my hand at another genre? (I thought this was horror, but sweet, insightful Sherri has taught me that this story falls under fantasy, not horror. I’m not sure whether or not I know how to write horror … should I try that?)

Or should I make my next post a question-and-answer thing with the characters from the story? You know, I’ll set up a post, those who want to can leave questions targeted at one or more of the characters, and I’ll answer some of them in character on the next blog post? Would that be fun? Boring? Stupid? How many of you would submit questions? It would help me flesh out the characters, and what I say would become canon for the characters … how’s that? And, if you have what I consider to be the best question, I’ll use you as a character in the book … but you have to sign your rights away and agree that anything I do to you is okay. πŸ˜‰

What do you think, blogophiles? Sound off, let me know. I can’t wait to hear what you think!

I may do another software review tomorrow. Hope to see you all then!

-JDT-

Technorati Tags: , ,

12 thoughts on “Okay — What Would YOU Like to See?

  1. Oh I LOVE the question and answer idea! I’d submit questions.

    I already signed my rights away though, so you can already do anything to me you want. πŸ˜‰ (insert wicked laughter here)

  2. Well, if I get to do anything I want to you … this weekend may turn out to be more fun than I thought after all!

    Thanks for sounding off — 1 vote for the Q&A!

    Love you!

  3. Hey, Ian! Nice to see you again, welcome back!

    Thanks for the encouragement, too! I have no idea where or what my passion is, but when I find it, I’ll be sure to run with it as far and as fast as I can!

    If you have any thoughts on the next step, feel free to stop by and leave ’em — I’d love to hear what’s on your mind!

  4. BRAINS!!!!! Yummy brains!!! Hahaha. I like zombie stories. I like all sorts of stories. I think you shouldn’t pressure yourself, maybe just sit down and let the words flow. I’m not a writer though so I’m not sure how it works. Shockingly, ha ha, I would like to see Dillon again. But I understand the desire to move in a different direction with different characters.

    I always find the paranormal interesting but I love a good mystery too. I think whatever you write will be great. I did just finish WIP Prologue and I would like to see that taken further. It really grabs you right away.

    Either way I look forward to the next ride you take us on.

    Raga

  5. Hi, Raga! I’m glad you liked my little WIP … I could come around to that again, if I ever figure out where it’s going.

    If you like zombie stories, you’re going to LOVE Bryce Beattie’s Oasis serial. Check it out!

    … but don’t stay way TOO long … I’d miss you!

  6. Hi, Sherri, thanks for coming by and talking with me! I’m always glad to see you here!

    You know what? The suggestion you offered is EXACTLY how I wrote the LAST story. It is a neat thing to watch, and works really well. I was just kind of afraid to ask lightning to strike twice. πŸ™‚

    Still a good idea and suggestion, though, and thanks!

  7. Whew! Glad to hear it, Raga!

    Hope you enjoy Bryce’s story, too. I know you’re a professional lurker, but give him a shout sometime. He loves hearing from you guys as much as I do.

    Thanks for stopping by daily! We are so glad you’re here.

  8. I think you should write a hard-hitting political thriller in which Dillon becomes a white house intern and discovers a horrible secret.

    Or here’s one, curtesy of an online story idea generator:
    The theme of this story: parody relationship. The main characters: boastful assasin and studious biologist. The start of the story: death. The end of the story: delusion.

    Or from a different generator:
    During the 1890s, guardian angels ponder a difficult moral situation.

  9. Wow, GREAT ideas, Bryce! I may have to look into what could happen if Dillon ever discovered a horrible White House secret. I’m sure he’d forget before he got home, or maybe miss the significance, but I’d still like to see!

    Thanks for coming by and offering up some ideas!

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

