Quick Update


My thing at 10:00 a.m. this morning went well, despite the hazardous driving conditions. My thanks to all of you that prayed and supported me during that time. I won’t know how it pans out, but that’s another matter all together.

As for me, I’ve been doodling around with Linux today for the most part. I’ve downloaded a bunch o’ LiveCDs and spent some time today burning them to CD. Some of them actually failed, just DOA. I think those may have problems with the image. I’ll download it again when I can and give it a second try … maybe. They don’t give CDs away.

So far the only one that goes off without a hitch is Mandriva. Fedora worked too, but not as nicely. Nothing has detected my wireless card, either. I can’t get on the network via live CD, so hopefully the actual installation will give me a better chance to configure the Windows driver with NDISwrapper or something. I hope. I pray.

Pff. I should be writing. I’m sorry, but that’s going to have to wait until tomorrow, y’all. I hope that’s okay.

I might have new fiction by then, or I may have more Witch Hunt. I hope to edit a couple of more chapters of Ghost Hunters too.

Oh, and I’ll try and give you more detail on what happened with my Linux try-outs later this week. If I have time between all the running around and writing I’m going to do. (I’m trying to pressure myself into being productive.)

Anyway, thanks to all, and God bless.
-JDT-

Technorati Tags: , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Quick Update

  1. Actually, they do give you a free cd of linux.
    https://shipit.ubuntu.com/
    I got 5 CDs in the mail that was a while ago.

    And by the way, if you haven’t tried ubuntu linux, i really recommend it. As long as you’re connected to the internet, it can automatically update itself (with a release every 6 months…) It was relatively painless to install, and finding and downloading new programs for it is really slick.

    I tried fedora for a while, but I really liked ubuntu better. /end plug

  2. Hey, Bryce, good to see you!

    I know they give you a free CD, but you do have to pay for shipping. I downloaded and tried to run Ubuntu 7.10 and 7.04 this past year. For whatever reason, it doesn’t seem to like my graphics card. And no flavor of Unix likes my wireless card; it sees it but I can’t get it to work. I remain unconnected.

    I don’t know how much you know about Ubuntu, but if you have any particular tricks you can provide to get Ubuntu going, I’d love to give it a shot. For now, without the ability to hard-wire to my router, I have to stick with Winblows. Eventually, when things are normalized again, I’ll probably get a Unix-friendly wireless card and give it another try, but they need to figure out something with the graphics card. I can’t figure out why a computer going on 3 years old isn’t completely supported by now.

    I know nothing about Linux, so getting it to run without my graphics card problems, while possible, is beyond me. And I can’t seem to find the post in the Ubuntu forums where someone gave me instructions to fix it. I want to join the revolution — really, I do — but I can’t seem to get aboard no matter how I try.

    I’m gonna give Mandriva a shot, though, and see if I can’t find something to get the card working. I doubt I can, since it needs the ‘Net to do any upgrading and I can’t get the ‘Net without my wireless card. It’s a vicious circle.

    Anyway, /rant. Thanks for stopping by, bud! God bless!

  3. Glad things went smoothly. I’m still crossing those fingers!

    As for your writing you know we’ll be patient. Heck my birthday is next month, the 10th, so as long as you have something out near that time I’ll be as happy as a bug in the rug. If you need help writing you can have HH fall down the stairs. J/K sorta…But seriously you don’t need any help writing.

  4. Sherri – Hey there, sweet’ums. What I mean is, I don’t have an answer on it yet, and probably won’t until this afternoon. If I get good news this afternoon, then it will probably be another 2 weeks before anything really good happens with it. I can explain further if you need it.

    And thanks for being on our side, Sherri. We love you.

    Raga – Thanks for the finger-crossing, hon! We appreciate it! And you bet I do need help writing! I tried to tackle it a couple of times, but our situation is just killing my creativity right now. But now that I know when your birthday is, I’ll have to make sure I have at least one part ready by then! (God willing, we’ll be quite a bit farther along because our situation will have been resolved.)

    Thanks for the ongoing support, Raga. We love you for it.

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

