Six-Word Memoir


How would you sum up your life if you only had six words to do it?

That’s the theme of the latest meme with which I have been tagged, by Leafless over at Pen of Passion. It’s based loosely on the “world’s shortest story” of Ernest Hemingway fame.

Without further ado, the rules:

  1. Write your own six word memoir.
  2. Post it on your blog and include a visual illustration if you’d like.
  3. Link to the person who tagged you in your post and to this original post if possible so we can track it as it travels across the blogosphere.
  4. Tag five more blogs with links.
  5. And don’t forget to leave a comment on the tagged blogs with an invitation to play!

With that out of the way, I don’t know that I can do it in six words, frankly. That’s hard to do. I’ve had a lot of living happen in only 4 decades and a bit, but I’ve ridden a pretty ridiculous and exaggerated roller coaster. I’ve always felt this quote suited me best, honestly:

I have love in me the likes of which you can scarcely imagine and rage the likes of which you would not believe. If I cannot satisfy the one, I will indulge the other.
-Frankenstein’s Creature, from “Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein”, 1994

So, trying to say that in six words is pretty tough. On the other hand, as a writer, you kind of want to take up the challenge. So, I think I’d like to remember my life this way:

Rise up on wings like eagles.

Hasn’t happened yet. May never happen. But that’s where I’m trying to go, what I’m aiming for, what I hope for and pray for. We’ll see; time will show.

So, now I gotta tag people. Okay, that part sorta stinks, but I tag the following really cool bloggers: Sherri, Raquita, WhatanAmateur, Bryce, and Jules.

Have fun, and God bless, y’all!

-JDT-

7 thoughts on “Six-Word Memoir

  1. Pingback: Story Hack

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

