A Very Special Day


It all stopped when I saw you for the first time.

There was longing and agony and loneliness and woe.
Worry, and strife, and a struggle to find what I am.

Hardship and sweat, pushing a boulder uphill eternal,
Never lasting joy, never enduring happiness.

I knew nothing of what life could be, what love is.
I knew nothing of laughter and lighthearted play.

Things long forgotten arose, awakened, stirred anew.
Things lost to the river of tears that marked time in me, found.

All the hurt stopped.
All the darkness cleared.
All the storm stilled.
All the wind, whining in the eaves and through branches and limbs
grew quiet, from tempest to zephyr.

The seas still rage.Β  The winds howl.
I have found safe harbor, calm port, placid shores.

It all stopped when I saw you.

Happy Birthday, Vanessa.

7 thoughts on “A Very Special Day

  1. It all began when I saw you – my life, my joy, my happiness. My dreams come true, my hopes become reality. I love you with all my heart – thank you for this. πŸ™‚

  2. I think this totally makes up for the elves and gnomes thing the other day. This is just so sweet and beautifully written.

    Ok, I tagged you in the game. I don’t usually do these, but this one was actually pretty interesting. Go check it out on my blog and good luck!

  3. Casey — Thank you sweetie. I’m humbled you thought it was well written. πŸ™‚

    I’m off to see your game. πŸ˜‰ Thank you so much for stopping by.

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

