The Continuing Saga of a Traffic Whore


Okay, I’ll admit, I’ve tried to kick my traffic habit over the last couple of months, but I did it for all the wrong reasons and it came back to bite me big time.

For one thing, the number of hits I got each day seemed pretty sound and relatively stable today.  My stats counter graph still looks like a seismic reading from Mt. Vesuvius, but the highs seemed consistent and the lows never lasted.

Now my graph looks like a child’s crayon rendering of a mountain range.  I have no idea why.

And this comes on the heels of my being awarded a blog award by my friend Damyanti.

At times, it seems my fiction work draws a lot of attention to my blog.  Other times … mmm … not so much.  So I thought maybe you didn’t like my fiction work anymore, blogophiles, and I thought I’d have to post it only on my deviantART page instead.  (Hmph.  They LIKE my fiction work over there, I’ll have you know.)  The last piece I posted looked, statistically, like it bombed.  The few who read it (RAGA!  Woo!!) left me very positive feedback, but not a lot of views showed up in my counter.  So I scratched my head, considered posting something letting people know they should use my contact page if they want a copy of what I write, and stop posting fiction here.

But Witch Hunt seemed pretty doggone popular.  I thought it was, anyway, and I got some really good followers through the rough draft of Ghost Hunters, too (RAGA!  Woo!!).  So I’m all confuzzeled and discombobulated and whatever.  I don’t know what you people want from me!  (Maybe more Witch Hunt?)

You probably want interesting content.  Guess what?  My fiction work is as interesting as I get.  I’m known in Latin American countries as El Bore-o, master of boring life.  I’m a couch potato, a lazy lout and a cad.  I’m not interesting, so how the hell am I supposed to generate interesting content for you to read??

I’ve reviewed all the software I have time to review already.  I’ve not done a post on bi0data stuff because, damn it, I have no idea how to do that, don’t have time to do the research, haven’t ever seen one and frankly, don’t care.  So I’m not goin’ there, y’all.  Despite the fact that it turns up every effin’ day in my search terms, to hell with those seeking it!  I’ll not kowtow to you!

Um … unless you want me to.  I guess.

I mean, I could, I guess.

Meanwhile, the Love of My Life is gaining popularity.  She even gets comments from Dwight.  He said he wouldn’t be able to quit me, but quit me he did.  Cold turkey, fast as a bad habit. (Just kiddin’ D … mostly.)

*Sigh*  I give up.  I don’t know what to do for you and I’m such a slut about it, I’ll do dang near anything short of donkey acts.

What do all you normal, non-traffic-whore bloggers do to keep your guests coming back?  I know Sherri uses deviously sexual references about soap, but what else works?  I’m genuinely interested.  Let me know.

-JDT-

PS – I’m really just curious about this, not actually stressing, just so you know.  But I’m wondering if we’re getting into the summer doldrums for the blogosphere?  Hm.  Sound off, y’all.  Let me know your thoughts.
-jdt-

12 thoughts on “The Continuing Saga of a Traffic Whore

  1. HAHA! You know what? I was expecting some hits from that, like you said, but I haven’t gotten any sexual search terms. However, when I posted about nude pictures, that post got the most hits ever, and lasted over time. So maybe that’s something to think about.

  2. I have found that there is no rhyme or reason to what resonates and what doesn’t. Things I write about dealing with grief or about my marriage seem popular but that kind of writing makes me feel a bit like a soap opera people are following.

    Some of my passions, like women’s rights and related issues, are huge clunkers but it’s my blog and I will post it anyway.

    Building community. Searching out new blogs and commenting. Writing for other sites. These help. I am told that Twitter is a great way to build a following but I seriously can’t deal with another social networking thingy right now. I just don’t have the time.

    It sucks to be a writer who craves to be read sometimes but that is our lot, is it not?

  3. Annie — You’re right about several things. For one, what gets a lot of hits or not really does feel pretty random and capricious, doesn’t it? And I agree with you, I’ll post what I want to post whether it’s popular or not. It’s my danged blog, I’ll do whatever the heck I want.

    I mostly jest about this now, but at one time I was genuinely bothered by it. I think I finally figured out no one can dictate what I put up, so I can’t dictate who will read what. If my blogulars (regular blog readers) like what I write, it’s worthwhile to me. My friends are the ones I care about and the only opinions that matter anyway. πŸ˜‰

    I’m not interested in chasing a lot of other blogs and being a comment-dog, because it becomes expected, and Lord help me, there are only so many hours in a day. I have to find a way to balance these things and I really, really want to write, so being a reader will come second until I’m ready to refill for more writing. I guess. Does that make sense? I follow my friends and some blogs I like (like yours, and Damyanti’s), and I’m not going to chase around on Twitter or MySpace or FaceBook or anywhere else. I think you nailed it — I can’t deal with another one; there simply isn’t enough time.

    But, I’m glad to have you aboard, and I’m happy to read what you write. My wife is getting more hits than I am and she can’t figure out what she’s doing either, but there it is. So who knows? πŸ™‚

    Thanks for sounding off — I appreciate your input! πŸ™‚

  4. Woo Raga! LOL If I could clone myself 100 times I’m sure all 100 of me would come check out your blog everyday.

    ‘Course you could also start posting about exploding outhouses again. That seems to draw a crowd for some reason.

    Don’t lose heart and don’t you dare stop posting your stories on here. I don’t like the DA place. It’s not you, it’s them.

    Raga ~ your always faithful and rarely silent fan and friend.

  5. Raga — WOOO!! I love you baby, and even if I did stop posting fiction here, I’d be all about emailing it to you so you’d be able to have it. But you’re one of the awesomest ever people and I’m as much a fan of yours as you are of mine. I always will be, too. Love you sweetie, and thanks for being there! *hug*

  6. Casey — Sorry, sweetie, I didn’t see your comment until now. Talk about awkward? Us dweebs need to unite, hon, so any input you have is okay with me. πŸ™‚

  7. Bryce — ROLFMAO! Too true, bud! But you generate traffic with high-quality writing and edge-of-the-seat action, so you’ve got the advantage there. And when you’re not doing that you’re posting pictures of pretty girls with guns. What’s NOT to like?? πŸ™‚

  8. Welp, I got here because of the randomly generated “related posts” at the bottom of my blog. I thought “traffic whore” might be another bicyclist. I would be laughing out loud but it would wake people.

    I’m so glad you came, and enjoyed the post! Thank you for commenting!

    I got the most hits ever when I posted a link to a chocolate cake you could make in five minutes in the microwave.

    And I’d DESPERATELY love to see that recipe! If you provide a link to your blog, I’ll even pimp the post for ya. πŸ™‚

  9. Oh… but I just might read a story in the morning. Oops, doesn’t look like I can. Those things that look like links to stories get me 404s.

    Oh, I’m sorry. Here’s a NEW link for you (I moved all my fiction to a separate blog):
    My Fiction Blog.

    Thank you so much, and I hope you enjoy the stories!

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

