Me … Talking to Myself in Public …


So there I was, weaving among the aisles between rows of faceless, nameless cubicles, just as I have most of my career, and shuffling toward the restroom.

I don’t know if I’ve ever mentioned it before, but … I talk to myself.

Maybe you’ve already guessed that about me. A lot of people do it, it’s not unusual. But I have entire conversations. Most times, I turn them into prayer. Other times, I just keep ’em for myself. Either way, it goes on all day, the conversations inside me. Some of them turn audible, others remain internal, but they are constant and unceasing.

16 thoughts on “Me … Talking to Myself in Public …

  1. I talk to myself too. Have since I was a kid. Only I will assign part of the conversation to “characters”. Not personalities, mind you, I am not Sybil. But I get a lot of things worked out this way.

    Oh, and the not washing hands thing? It depends for me on what the sink and basin look like. Sometimes they are quite disturbing. This is why wet wipes are a must.

  2. Blowback, huh? I think you’re waiting too long to use the facilities if you’re have built up enough pressure to have a problem with blowback…

    My brother and I break bathroom etiquette whenever we’re in public restrooms. We have conversations from one end of the urinal line to the other.

    We will also congratulate other restroom patrons if their bodily functions are loud/bizarre enough. Its not like we hang around outside the stall, though. Just a quick shout out, “Hey, good one.”

    Yes, I know we’re gross. It doesn’t matter. We’re guys, and we can get away with it.

  3. Talking to myself is part of my daily routine too. Since I am alone at home all day, nobody really knows about it, though hubby says I talk in my sleep. I am also capable of waking up, having entire conversations with him, and remembering nothing in the morning.

    I once was sucking my tummy in to better my profile checking myself on the mirror of a public toilet when I was caught in the act. Embarrassing.

    Anyway Darc, talk away to yourself. It made for an interesting post:)

  4. Annie — I’ve always done it too. Could it be a creative mind thing? And yes, I’ve assigned the “other side” of the conversation to … whomever. Mostly God, but in my youth, it could be anyone. In an interesting way, this made me a great debater about 15 years ago. I was able to anticipate argument paths and cut them off before they could be used. Hm. I should’ve been a lawyer.

    And yeah, the wet wipes thing. Definitely.

    LOML — Glad ONE of us thought it was funny. πŸ˜‰ Love you too.

  5. Bryce — ROLFMAO! Holy cow, bud. You had me rolling in the aisles with that one! You should post those tales in full detail on your blog! It’d be a hit!

    Damyanti — Ha! Nice to know I’m not alone in getting caught! Blushing that hard burns, doesn’t it? πŸ˜‰ And I will keep chatting. It’s part of me. πŸ™‚

  6. Here’s what I do sometimes:

    Somebody says something to me that either embarrasses me or pisses me off. However the situation plays out, I rethink how I could have acted differently in the situation.

    In doing that, I verbally replay both what I could have said and what the other person could have said. Sometimes it’s a little embarrassing to explain to people, but they seem to understand my logic to it.

  7. Oh, I forgot to mention, that’s how I come off to talking to myself sometimes. Don’t you hate it when somebody says “What?” like they were talking to you, and then you have to say “No, I was just talking to myself. Sorry!”

  8. Franktown — Welcome! Now both you AND J.R. are here! It’s a party now! Woot!

    Yeah, I do hate it when someone thinks you’re talking to them. I usually try to turn it around; they say “What?” and I look confused and go, “WHAT what?”, like I don’t know what they’re talking about. Then they say “What did you say?” I take that opportunity to look confused again and say, “Uh, I didn’t say anything. You must be mistaken.” Their day is more surreal and I get a laugh later.

    But I do the same thing as you. Or I’ll hear something stupid and for the rest of the day I’m muttering all the things I would’ve said in that situation but couldn’t/didn’t. I come home and tell Falcon all about it so she can laugh too.

  9. We girls don’t get blow-back, but we sometimes get splash-back.

    I talk to myself a lot, usually whenever I need to work something out. I give myself pep talks, sometimes rant, and pray. I used to try to speak in complete sentences, but now a thought will start in my head and end audibly. Now, if I heard somebody else doing that I would give them wide berth.

    I’ve never gotten caught talking, but I have been caught singing, dancing, and pulling my panties out of my crack.

    Hope your day’s going well. πŸ™‚

  10. Hey, Sherri! Thanks for stopping by, Ms. Hiatus. πŸ™‚

    Yes, my day’s going well, thanks!

    I’ve only been caught pulling my crack clear once, but it was enough. I will. not. do. it. anymore in public. Yikes.

    And like you, most of my audible “thoughts” are incoherent to others because they start at one location, somewhere deep in the tapioca I call a “brain”, and end on my lips in a completely different neighborhood than where it started. Like a tourist taking a cab in backwoods Mexico or a rickshaw ride in Hong Kong. Meh.

    And isn’t it funny we give others doing the same thing a wide berth? And then we mutter about them in our self-conversations, talking about how crazy they are. Hnh. Go figger.

  11. I can’t stop laughing. The post and the comments are too much. I have to pee now.

    I talk to myself all the time too. Since we all seem to do it, it must be a sign of greatness! πŸ™‚

  12. Raga — WOO! Haven’t seen you for a while, sweetie! Nice to have you around again!

    Yeah, Bryce’s was especially great, but they’ve ALL been funny, haven’t they?? πŸ˜€

    If I don’t talk to you have a great weekend!

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

