Writing about Writing — an Experiment


An interesting thing to note:

Ever since I’ve done my bio-data posts, I’ve had almost no other search terms cross my blog. My writer’s confession blog post the other day outstripped the bio-data searchers for a day and came in a close second the next day. I wonder, if I turned this blog into a writing resource blog, with links to things and topics and posts about writing, if the traffic would go up?  Or become different, given the bio-data/biodata bent it has now?

Seems a lot of people found my last post with the “writer” part of the title. At least, that’s the only thing I can think of for why the hit count was so high. That, and folks coming back to check on whether they’d received answers to their comments.

But that’s really been done, and over-done, hasn’t it? I mean, I may as well turn my blog into a political one if I want the traffic. God knows there are enough of those out there to make you dizzy.

As a writer, though, I have little to contribute. I have nothing to contribute, actually. I’m not qualified. Who is? I’d venture that you have to be someone published to be credible as a source on writing … don’t you?

Over on my deviantART page, I’ve been doing a little “Writer’s Helps” thingamabob, wherein I take a basic stumbling block and try to make it concise and clear for budding writers to work with. For example, the last one I did was on the use of “lie” vs. “lay”. Not a problem for a lot of you accomplished writers, but a stumbling block for some people. Me included. So writing it helped me and them. The one before was about using ellipses and em dashes correctly. (Another eye-opener for me.) And the next one I have no subject for right now. I was thinking a list of common mistakes in grammar and spelling that make people look stupid (moreso than they actually are, I suppose), but that’s more for corporate communication than for fiction or creative writing.

Anyway, I bring that up because, as a result of popular demand from my dA watchers, I’ve been posting those little helper snippets as News Articles under the auspices of Back to Basics month. Spelling and grammar are optional for a lot of people writing on dA, so giving them basic skills to use makes it easier on the eyes of the reader. And if I did something like that here, in the blogosphere, I’d probably be met with even more rousing rounds of blasé than I’ve gotten there. The Inter-webs fancy themselves talents without need of help, and writing about writing is for “experts” — meaning someone who’s published. Right?

4 thoughts on “Writing about Writing — an Experiment

  1. I often tag search for writer’s blogs.

    Pieces I write about writing do generate hits but not as many as the pop culture pieces or the personal stuff (I have a sizable grief following and they show up in droves when I “go there”).

    As to grammar, I taught English for 20 years and I really loved grammar. I am not an expert or a SUTA grammarian however. I used to tell my students that making grammar mistakes on purpose made one an artist and by accident – lazy. Still it is my husband who beta checks me and always finds errors. I attribute this to haste. Words and sentences. Stories. Sometimes they are cloudbursts and need to be caught without fuss.

    Write about writing. If nothing else it clarifies your own thoughts.

  2. Annie — Good point. Today, in fact, I’ve learned the reason(s) why adjectives and adverbs are so anathema in fiction writing. It was so nice to see the logic behind it, the less than arbitrary purpose.

    Thanks for the backing. One question: What’s a SUTA grammarian?

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

