A Drop in the Ocean


It occurs to me this morning, after having a horrible day yesterday, that whatever happens to me, whatever events I go through, whatever fire I pass through, has absolutely zero impact on the world around me.

I don’t mean that in an “It’s a Wonderful Life” sort of way.  I mean it in a recognition of what minimal impact I have on anyone.  I suppose an argument could be made for The Butterfly Effect, and how I can’t see all the ramifications I have on the universe in general, but for the most part, I’d be hard pressed to see that now.  I sit here and ponder the events of the last 24 hours and I wonder what the hell happened, and what will happen.

And it dawned on me: nothing.  Nothing will happen.  Nothing of significance has happened.  Everything is as it was before, and will continue as it will continue.

Nothing of major impact has occurred.  No one’s life is different, really.  A couple of people have moved out of each other’s circle of contact, into others.  That sort of flux is shifting, shaping, restructuring all the time.  There’s nothing new there.  This happens hundreds, thousands, hell, millions of times a day.  Maybe tens of millions, or billions.  I don’t know.  It happens all the time, everyday.  One person moves from one sphere of influence to another, and the one left behind will drift into another as well.

6 thoughts on “A Drop in the Ocean

  1. You are scaring me. Pal, you’re me but with a better vocabulary and wife and family and stuff.

    On the QT, do you also share my webbed feet?

    Nope, no webbed feet … but you know that little thing … in that secret place? … yeah, I got that. Doppleganger.

  2. Here’s my quick comment! I think this is an important realization for you, Darc. The part where people move in and out of each other’s lives all the time. You are the friend you are, and that’s all you can be. That will be good for some and bad for others. The ones who can’t hack it will leave, and those of us who like you the way you are will stay. And sometimes friends drift apart and come back together when they’ve worked out whatever issues drove the wedge in the first place.

    Love ya, dude.

    Thanks, sweetie. It means a LOT to me that you’re so supportive. And that you’re there, being a friend. I guess the ol’ “can’t please all the people all the time” addage applies, but man … it sucks to realize that, after investing so much of yourself into someone, they can just … toss it aside for the next new thing. Even when the new thing isn’t good for them and they’re too stupid to see it.

    Oh well. All I can do is be me, like you said. But I still feel I need to figure out what the object lesson is for me and embrace it. *Sigh* Thanks for coming by, hon. Love you too.

  3. Friendships come and go. That’s just life. People grow/progress at different rates. And so old friendships slip away and new ones form. I’ll always have a soft spot in my heart for my dusty friendships, and if they ever need my help, I’ll be there. In the meantime I’ll just keep plugging along, learning from and enjoying the friendships I have.

    Sounds like a great perspective to have, Bryce. And a nice piece of wisdom. Glad you put it out there for the world to see. I think the constant change in us as people, as humans who are ever evolving on a personal level, causes the changes in relationships sometimes. This one was over something I thought could be easily resolved though, not as the result of simple, inevitable change in us as individuals.

  4. Friendships can be forever, or ebb/flow or just situational. I don’t think there is a perfect model or even one that is the same from person to person.

    I think though the kind of friendship you were describing via Bill are the rare kinds that transcend the barriers and become more family than friend. In such a relationship honesty is more possible and it is okay to be your authentic self. But I don’t think we get too many of those in our lives. I have two. Just two.

    You are right that personal evolution will change relationships and you know what? That’s not always a bad thing.

    Chin up! These moments can bite but they have a purpose – probably.

    Yes … probably. I can’t figure out what this one is, but there’s probably a purpose. Probably. But you know what? Sometimes, shit happens. *shrug* Whatcha gonna do? Thanks for stopping by.

  5. BTW, you weren’t the only one who thought my synopsis was lacking. So disregard anything I may have said defending it! Later 🙂

    Hey, Sherri! I didn’t think it was “lacking”, per se — I just couldn’t follow it. And you were never defensive about it anyway. I think if something was lacking — it was me! I lack experience in these things. I’m going to do that research we talked about and try it again. I’ll let you know what I find, okay?

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

