New Dashboard


Well! WordPress has unleashed its new dashboard on us. I must say, it’s not bad, not bad at all. I think it has some potential.

The layout’s not hard to get used to; things are situated along the left-hand side in a menu-type format. That makes things centralized and gives a cleaner appearance. I didn’t have to hunt around to find things. And this post is coming to you from the little “QuickPress” feature in the dashboard’s upper right corner, right there for use if you find yourself sparked with sudden unbridled and uncontrollable inspiration to blog.

It would be useful if this feature could be used similar to something like ScribeFire, which allows you to blog from any web site. (I was reading the comments on a technical writing book by Microsoft and one of the reviewers pointed out there is no such thing as a “website”, that it’s two separate words: “web site”. So there you have it. I know you were burning for that information.)

Anyway, I like the new dashboard so far. It has all the features and I think puts them at your fingertips in a better way.

Anyone else?

-JDT-

9 thoughts on “New Dashboard

  1. yea, I am getting used to it….but WHOA I wasn’t ready for it… πŸ˜‰

    LOL — yeah, I clicked in here and BAM! There it was. I tell ya, though — I really like it. I especially like the drag-‘n’-drop of the different elements on that home page. Awesome. I’ve arranged so that your comment greeted me right as I came onto my dashboard. πŸ™‚

  2. I haven’t really perused it all that much. Saw it for the first time this morning. I will probably get around to poking around it later today.

    It’s pretty cool. I like the new layout; somehow it makes more sense to me. It’s like they thought about how it should be used and reconciled that with how people are actually working in their blog dashboards, and so it makes so much sense. And the drag-‘n’-drop thing is sweet.

  3. even though I can’t see it very well right now, I think I’m going to like it.

    BTW, I feel better this morning, but the sight is still weird. The return of my energy has me excited about the prospect of health. πŸ™‚

    I’m glad to hear you’re doing better, Sher. Always a plus. And yes, I think you’ll like the new dashboard design. It’s more intuitive, and you’re all about the intuition. πŸ˜‰

  4. It’s not bad. My only complaint was that I had finally gotten used to the old one :)!! I do like the layout and I’ll play with it more but I think it will really grow on me!

    I love it so far; I think once folks get used to the new look it’ll be a hit. I know I’m enamored of it. πŸ™‚

  5. Yeah, it’s okay. Didn’t cause any browser headaches at least.

    No, it actually seems a bit zippier somehow. I’m really enjoying it. πŸ™‚ Hope you’re doing well, Ms. Published Writer, ma’am. πŸ˜‰ (Yes, I AM jealous. Does it show?)

  6. I like the new dashboard too. One can view a lot of stuff and find a lot of links with just one screen. Very useful.

    I thought so too — much better organize, IMHO. πŸ™‚ Thanks for stopping by!

  7. There’s a drag n drop thing?

    Yeah. On the main dashboard page you can drag and drop the elements into different spots to customize it to what you like best. Try it out, and check out the post about the new WP 2.7 in the help or whatever. I think the new stuff’s better, myself.

  8. I just figured out how to use it and they changed it.

    I hate it when that happens … but it’s a good one. I’m sure you’ll figure it out pretty quick. It’s very intuitive. And thank you for coming by and dropping a line! πŸ™‚

  9. Not crazy about the new dashboard just have not figured out to get it the way I want it yet..otherwise I like the 2.7 although I don’t get the difference between an avatar and a blavatar…Zman sends

    Yeah, the whole avatar/blavatar is … well, dumb. I think it’s the same thing. I haven’t bothered with that yet. And thanks for stopping by. πŸ™‚

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

