My Interview


Some of you have inquired about how my interview today went.  I thought, in the interest of letting you all know how it went, I’d give you an overview here.

First, the players.

There’s me, DarcKnyt.  I was the Nervous, Edgy, Caffeinated, Knyt – The Interviewee-Employee-wannabe.  NECKTIE for short henceforth.  I had an interview with the IT Director of a law firm with many names in the title.  You know the kind … where, by the time the person on the phone finishes telling you who you’ve called, you’ve forgotten why you called.  In short, the techboss.

The Smooth, Unflappable, Intimidating Techboss – henceforth SUIT for short.  A man about a decade older than me, with classic grown-up geek hair and a solid-white scruff of beard rolling over his pasty face.  Clearly he rose through the ranks from tech to techboss.

Before the interview, though, I had to deal with the quarter-inch thick wall of ice covering my car.  My 12-year old car.  I scraped, pounded and swore at the ice for about half an hour, but it finally came off.  So into the house I went, freezing and irritated.  I dressed in my NECKTIE charcoal-gray suit and put on my NECKTIE necktie.  I left with an hour to spare.

The funny thing about ice storms and sub-freezing temps (single digits when I left) is that, it leaves ice around.  Gotta be careful.  I was.  Others … not so much.  I thought an hour would be plenty of time for me to reach my destination of Bison Orchard and arrive early for the interview.  As it turned out, it was closer than I expected.

As I drove, the few suburbs that salted the roads caused saline mud puddles to form in the street.  If you’ve never had the pleasure of driving through saline mud, it’s really fun.  Every five minutes or so the windshield becomes so obscured you need to turn on the wipers and use the washer fluid to see.  That’s fine most of the time, but when the wipers have been frozen, they don’t have the ability to stay in contact with the windows.  LARGE patches of murky, salty crust remain where they don’t wipe.  For me today, that meant about three-quarters of the windshield.  Add to that driving south with the sun glaring on said salty crust, and the adrenaline factor goes much higher.  Who needs caffeine anyway?

On top of that, add in the ice plug over one of my washer jets.  Which one?  The one on the driver’s side, of course.  So I have a partially cleared windshield on the passenger side and a salt-crusted mud-cake on the side through which I need to see.  Fortunately, I found the remnant of the ice plug on the jet that worked operated much like holding your thumb over partway over a hose.  It shot the fluid in a spattering stream nearer the middle, and if I leaned over the console between the front seats, I could see.  Not great, but it’d have to do.

8 thoughts on “My Interview

  1. Ah screw him. While funny I completely understand! At least you got out there. It’s coming bud! I can feel it. I believe in ya!

    Thanks, bud! He was, IRL, a pretty nice guy. It just all ended quick when we got to salary. 😀 Thanks for the vote of confidence, too — we believe in YOU, too!

  2. Wow. So that’s a job interview in the real world? I never knew. Teachers have this pay scale based on years and education level. Very interesting.

    Sorry it didn’t come through for you. Something better is waiting.

    I sure hope so. Thank you.

  3. Gross! That’s a pet peeve of mine. I hate it when people ask questions and don’t give you time to answer. It sounds like you’re better off! I don’t think I’d want to work for that guy.

    Hi, Casey! How’ve you been, sweetie! It’s good to see you!

    Oh, this is sort of a dramatization of what really happened. He was nicer than I’ve portrayed him here. 😉

  4. Good thing he took the time to see if you were really worth the money…

    Better luck next time.

    LOL — Thanks, Bryce. I think I’m going to have to just face the fact that I’m not going to be able to seek out tech support jobs in this price range unless they’re contracts. Full-time employment at this salary just isn’t happening. I wish I had better skills to sell, but by the time I get them AND have the experience most places want, I’ll be ready to retire. Or living in a cardboard box. Whichever. For me there may not be any difference.

  5. ::has to laugh:: Only you would put such a clever spin on this pompous asshole. THAT is a classic example of how NOT to manage an interview. You were so nice. Do not feel bad. You will get something soon. I feel it. ::twinkles:: Cheer up! The last time I went on an interview, it was to work at Kohl’s. Now…I had been out of the workforce, except for being a fitness instructor, for a LONG time…before my first son was born. Previous to that, I had worked in the credit area of a bank, and for the FDIC, as special assistant to the Bond Claim. After that while my sons were in school, I have been president of the PTA 4 times, Fundraiser, Carnival Chairman, Fundraiser for the Texas Republican Party, not to mention professional volunteer in just about any educational category. ::laughs:: There was a time my friends did not say “hello”, but “okay, what do you want now?”

    Wow! That’s an impressive and diverse background! I’m … well, impressed! 😀

    Anyway…NONE of this matters. Any job references are long gone, and volunteer experience is not counted. The girl interviewing me asked me these things, and then queried…”So…what have you been doing these past few years?” I looked at her and smiled, “I have been a homemaker, wife and mother.” And she smirked, and said. “That must be ‘nice’.” Well…my red hair got the best of me. After all, I could do this woman’s job without breaking a nail, and she was pissing me off. So I grinned and replied sweetly. “Yes…it is.”

    ROLFMAO! I’d KILL to be a stay-at-home-wife and mother. Wait … .

    ::laughs:: I know. I was bad. But they would rather hire an idiot than myself, and it was humiliating. I just wanted to regain some independence, and because I have not earned a wage for such a long time, I am almost un-hireable. (Is that a word?)

    Sure it’s a word … why not? And I don’t mind not being hired since the pay was so low AND there was required travel involved. For that money, I think they’re asking too much. Still … unions are lookin’ pretty danged good right about now despite the fact I’ve always HATED them and been anti-union all my life. (Started when I was in construction back when I was 19.) And this is only a fictionalized account of what happened. The interviewer was actually really nice. The comment about super-qualifications was real, though.

    I feel sort of bad that I made him out to be a jerk. He really wasn’t. I guess I should amend.

    And you were right not to tolerate Suzy Pimpleface’s attitude, frankly. When she achieves the level of success you have, I guess she’ll have the right to be a snot. Not before. Graduate college and get a real job first … “honey.”

    ::soft hug:: You…should be writing. Can you apply at a Publishing Company? Be an editor?

    I know — believe me, if I could sit around writing stories all day, I would, hon. And thanks for the compliment. I’ve looked at a lot of freelance editor gigs, but they generally want experience. How does one gain experience if they can’t get a job? Internships, I think. UNPAID internships. NOT an option. 😦 But I can rip someone’s work to shreds with the best of ’em. Their loss, I say. 😉

  6. Well interesting interview. That guy was a total tool. Don’t be a suit, find an interest elsewhere, working for someone like that they want everything and want to pay nothing. Keep looking and find something that is you!!!! Zman sends

    Thanks Zman! I’ll keep grinding at it! (And the interviewer was nicer than he appears in my post. I feel a little guilty having taken so much license with his character. Heh.)

  7. You dramatization was very comical but it is sad that it is sometimes like that even if you were exaggerating a bit. I am in the job market as well right now, so I feel your pain. I recently started a blog about my experiences as well, but your seems to have much more than mine. Good Luck!

    Hey, thanks, and thanks for stopping by, too. Yeah, I exaggerated a bit, but it’s sort of true, too, isn’t it? Best of luck to you in 2009; I hope it brings everything you want and more — and good luck with your blog!

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

