7 Things I Do Which…


… really crack my wife up.  That’s the subject of this blog post.

I don’t have to to work very hard to get the Love Of My Life laughing.  I do it all the time, and more than half of those times, I have to stop and ask her what’s so funny.

“I didn’t know diabetes could cause ED,” the TV actor said, wearing a grave, my-cat-may-not-have-used-the-litterbox face.

“Now you know,” I droned in reply, my voice hoarse with sleep and migraine medication.

That’s all it took.  She thinks it’s funny.  I don’t get it.

So, here are a few things I do which make my wife laugh:

  1. Talk to the TV.  It doesn’t matter what’s on – program, commercial, movie, sporting event … I’m gonna talk to the TV.  Sometimes I mutter.  Other times I scream.  Depends on what’s on and how interested I am in it.
  2. Change children’s song lyrics on the fly.  I do this a lot, actually.  After hearing the same songs played on Noggin all day long, I get a little … weary of the same-ol’, same-ol’.  I aim to spice things up.  Not always appropriate for children.
  3. Tell Bible stories in modern English.  I’m just going to … leave it at that.
  4. Imitate voices.  I can’t just sit there and hear an interesting or strange voice and not imitate the speaker.  I. Can’t. Do. It.  And she busts a gut every time.  You should hear my Lou Gentine sometime, or my Michael Silver.
  5. Imitate cartoon voices.  At one time, my wife counted, and I could do (probably not now, though) about 20 different character voices from The Simpsons.  None of those were the actual Simpsons family characters, however.
  6. Annotate things I’m reading.  She says I’m “mocking” – but EVERYTHING’s mockery to her.
  7. Tell her about my life.  No kidding.  For some reason hearing about my past is funny to my wife.  She’s gone into stitches listening.

So there you have it – some weird stuff you didn’t know about me before, and probably didn’t care to know.  But it’s in your brain cells now, and you’re stuck with it forever.  Ha!

-JDT-

All original content copyright DarcKnyt, 2008
All rights reserved
Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
8 thoughts on “7 Things I Do Which…

  1. Are you saying that she doesn’t laugh when you put the Groucho Marx glasses, nose and ‘stache on your private parts and wiggle like you’re ashing a cigar? She must be made of stone not to laugh at that.

    SHHH! You were SUPPOSED to keep that between US!

  2. With more practice, you could surely make a nice side career as a voice actor. Keep it up! 🙂

    Thanks! That was the dream once. But it’s a VERY competitive field, and not easy to break into. Isn’t that surprising?? 😉

  3. You dont stop laughing because you grow old, you grow old because you stop laughing – M. Pritchard

    Life is great when you know you can make someone laugh huh!! Great post very uplifting!!! Zman sends

    Thanks, Zman! Glad you enjoyed it! My wife and I spend an awful lot of time laughing. We don’t see that changing, despite circumstances. 🙂

  4. My husband loves making up words to songs as well… although it’s usually because he’s sick of hearing my music all the time so he decides to sing over it! I do have to admit though, it can make me laugh no matter what else is going on.

    And what job does a husband have more important than that? 🙂 Thank you for coming by and saying “hi”!

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

