Updates on Life


Cover of "In Our Time"
Cover of In Our Time

I don’t have a topic about which to post today, so I thought I’d do a brief run-down on what’s happening with me at this point in my so-called life.

Let’s see.

First, the job front.  Nothing.  Well, not entirely nothing, I guess.  I had a spirit-lifting call from a recruiter today about a potential job.  A medical proofreader, whatever the dickens that is.  The good news is, I got the call.  The bad news is, it’s for a local (large) company here that doesn’t think highly of me.  They have their reasons; I don’t think they’re valid ones, but my opinion on that is a moot point.  Still, that’s better than no calls at all.  Which is what I’ve gotten so far.

I’m reading Ernest Hemingway‘s collection of short stories In Our Time.  Now, I’ve been told ol’ Ernie’s the father of modern American prose, and that he, in fact, changed literature forever with his short, tight sentences and clippy style.  He won a Pulitzer Prize in 1953 and in 1954, he won the Nobel Prize for Literature.  Impressive.  Except … it’s not.  The stories aren’t … stories, exactly.  They’re vignettes.  Snapshots of his characters doing pretty mundane things.  Boring.  My beloved actually used the description “sucks” to describe them.  (I read her one aloud to get her input, because I couldn’t wrap my head around the idea that I thought Hemingway was … well, sucky.)  Now, to get a full flavor of Ernie’s work, I need to read something like The Old Man and the Sea, which I did read in high school back in the dark ages.  And I might want to take on A Farewell to Arms before I form an opinion.  Fact is, though, based on his short stories, I don’t want to even try something novel-length.  Time will show, I guess.

Let’s see — what else?  Oh, the NFL players lost at sea remain lost at sea.  Nick Schuyler was found clinging to the boat about 35 miles offshore of Tampa, but his three companions remain missing (as of Monday afternoon when I wrote this).  I wonder how much attention this would receive if they weren’t minor celebrities?  I hope it wouldn’t be any different.  And for the record, lost at sea’s a lousy, scary, lonely way to go.  I feel for them and their families.

Mm — not much else going on right now.  Anythng else I’ve got happening can probably be summed up in a Tweet on Twitter.  If you’re interested in following me, I’m DarcKnyt there too.

God bless, all.

-JDT-

5 thoughts on “Updates on Life

  1. I hated A Farewell to Arms just as much as most of Hemingway’s other things. I did enjoy Old Man/Sea.

    Yay for getting a call!

    Well, if the call pans out, definitely. I was blown away by Hemingway. I’ll re-read OMatS before I pass judgment on whether I like him or not, but so far … meh.

  2. I think Hemingway is over-rated, but quite a few early 20th century writers are. The Sun Also Rises (I think that’s the title) was okay but a bit romance novely for a guy, I thought.

    Hehehe. That’s funny. I’m getting the overrated vibe from Ernie too so far.

    Actually, Hemingway writes like a girl when it comes to love.

    Note to self: Stay away from The Sun Also Rises. Got it.

  3. Love Hemingway..great way to spend time..losing yourself in a hemingway book…Things will pick up…enjoy the downtime …my advice is explore where it is you fit in…here are some things to do…

    I think that’s part of the problem I’m having, Steve; I don’t KNOW where I fit in — or how marketable it is. 🙂

    watch a sunrise….try a food you have never had…..start a fitness program…go visit someone you have not seen in a while….make a friend (someone that could use a friend right now preferably) Zman sends

    Those are excellent ideas. Well worth trying … all of them. Thanks again, Steve, and we’re all praying and pulling for you. God bless.

  4. Knyt

    I am fine and will be fine..oddly enough I am more worried about you. Finding your spot is tough..maybe its time to find a different route
    What makes you happy???? What gives you purpose???? What can you see yourself doing in 10 years…an old friend told me once Imagine what you want to have when you older..then spend the next 15 to 20 years getting it….hope it helps..Zman sends

    Those are great questions, Steve. And damned if I can ditch the feeling I’m too old to feel this way, need to be going down this path. Should’ve done it when I was young. Ah well … youth is wasted on the young, isn’t it?

    Thanks for caring, too. I appreciate it.

  5. Love the blatant attempt to get more followers on Twitter… you already have more followers than me! 😉

    I’m a comment and traffic whore. What can I say? 😉

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

