I’m Down to MEMES, People


Cover of "I Am Legend"
Cover of I Am Legend

Yes, I’ve dipped that far.

My reservoir of blog topics is dangerously low.  I’ve got nowhere to run, folks.  Without posting fiction on this blog anymore, which wouldn’t help me right now anyway, I’d have to do memes to occupy this space.

I’ve been pretty good at keeping my content fresh, my updates regular, and my comments replied to.  But at this point, I got nothing for tomorrow.  So unless I have a great nightmare, I guess I’m down to telling you about conversations I’ve had with people on Twitter or doing memes.

I hate memes.  They’re the tools of the lazy blogger.

And I’m gettin’ mighty lazy.

So … anyone know about any good memes I can do?  Nothing that involves an iPod, please.  Not only would they be the same as my beloved’s answers, they’d be … boring.

I had to run to the library today to return some movies, and while I was there, my love rattled off a list of horror classics I have in a book.  I think I found three of them in our library.  Three.  Richard Matheson’s I Am Legend, which is about a vampire pandemic, and Ira Levin’s Son of Rosemary and Sliver, but not the recommended classic Rosemary’s Baby.  I ask you – no Rosemary’s Baby?  Whiskey TANGO foxtrot, y’all??  They had some William Peter Blatty, I’m sure, but I’m not in the mood to deal with The Exorcist at the moment, so I didn’t look.  They had some King, and some Koontz, but I’m looking for different stuff, so I didn’t look for them.

What else?  Hm.  I’ve never read an Elmore Leonard novel, either, and I hear tell you can’t write good dialog without learning from master Elmore.  Anyone got any good recommendations from him?  I’ve tried more than once to find Harlan Ellison there too.  Nothing.  Not one.

I finished up the kiriban prize too.  No, I didn’t meet my goal of 1,000 words or more for each day (Friday, Saturday and Sunday) to which I’d committed on my deviantART page, but I did write 1,000 words or more every day I wrote something.  I wonder what would happen if I just committed to writing 2,000 words a day no matter what?  Even if they’re just words for a writing exercise?  What would happen?  What’d be the worst thing that COULD happen?

Hm.

So … any big plans for the weekend?

God bless, y’all.

(I warned you.)
-JDT-

All original content © 2009 DarcKnyt
ALL rights reserved.

8 thoughts on “I’m Down to MEMES, People

  1. I’m amazed at you for writing blogs almost everyday during weekdays! It seems like you always have a lot to say lol.

    Nah, I’m a fiction writer. I make it up as I go. 😉

    As for your writing, how about writing when you feel like it? And with no restrictions? Just a suggestion, though. 🙂

    See above. 😉 😀

    Much Love,

    You too!

  2. Oh, I forgot, I Have never read I Am Legend but I have watched the movie! Well, it was awesome.

    The book is much, much older, but it is worth a read. The movie “The Last Man on Earth” is original adaptation of the book to film, I believe.

  3. Down to memes? Tool of the lazy blogger? I am hurt:(

    Oops! Sorry, Annie, it was intended as a playful jibe at my wife, not you! I saw her doing a meme on her blog, and felt the need to tease her.

    Okay, not so much really. It’s the quality of the meme, sir and the placement. Besides, this 5 or 6 day a week blogging thing is hard if you’re not into current events and politics.

    Whew! No kidding! And I’m definitely NOT into current events and politics. Yeesh.

    I am in the aftermath of a migraine and the school’s buses aren’t running today because of “weather”. I am looking out the window and losing my respect for Canadians, frankly, because it doesn’t look like much to me.

    I’m sorry to hear about your migraine. I can relate completely. Canadians closing schools due to “weather” does seem pretty comical, doesn’t it? But then, we who know the Midwestern US winter fear almost nothing of winter elsewhere. 🙂

  4. still even if you are getting low, you still do a great job. Go out and people watch…that will give you ideas! 🙂

    That’s a great idea, thank you! I liked your little stories, by the way — my wife and I do the same thing. 🙂

  5. Last Man on Earth is the first movie of I Am Legend. The second version is Omega Man and the third is I Am Legend.

    I thought so too. Thanks for the confirmation! 🙂

    Look for Jonathon Maberry at the library. You’ll be pleasantly surprised. Make sure you try to get the first book in the 3 book series The Pine Deep Trilogy. In order they are Ghost Road Blues, Dead Man’s Song, and Bad Moon Rising.

    I did look for him, but I think I had his name wrong. I’ll look again when I go back.

    As for being out of things to blog about? Are you serious? Take a few days break. I’m sure something will come up! Wanna stage a fake Internet fight? That would be amusing 😀

    No thanks. 😉 I do my best to stay out of flame wars! 😀

  6. For Leonard I’d start off with Get Shorty, Freaky Deaky, Kill Shot, or Rum Punch. But all his books are really good. You’ve probably seen some movies based off his works and haven’t even realized it; I know I did.

    Thanks, Max! I’ll take a look, see what the library has. 🙂

    And yeah, the 2,000 words thing sounds very interesting. I might have to force myself into doing that.

    It’s a tough assignment!

  7. A very old book you say? Well, I often find it on bookstores! With the I Am Legend and Will Smith on its cover, though, not the old and original one. I was kinda afraid to pick it up as I thought it’s just the movie’s script. Glad to know the movie is actually based on the book. Thanks. 🙂

    Nope, it’s different enough you’ll enjoy it, if you like Science Fiction. Give it a try. Matheson’s a legend for … well, his “Legend”. Among others. 🙂

    Much Love,

  8. Good dialogue, eh… I’ve heard that David Mamet (mostly a playwrite and a screenwriter) is a really good writer of dialogue. But of course, anybody who tells me that will get slapped. Mamet’s dialogue is awful and I can’t stand it one bit. Humans don’t talk like that. Every line doesn’t have to be something memorable for it’s own grandiouseness. It’s like he wants every actor to over-act every line. Unless every actor is Jon Lovitz, every line can’t be over-acted. And when Lovitz does it, it’s just funny.

    Mamet. Got it. Thanks, I’ll see if he’s got anything at the library.

    Elmore Leonard, I’ve never read his books, but I really think the movie version of Get Shorty has some good dialogue. Don’t know how accurate it is to the book. But Delroy Lindo can read the phone book and make it sound interesting. And Gene Hackman is a quality actor. And DeVito, well, that guy’s always funny to me. Wait, all three were in that Mamet movie Heist, which sucked. So it must have to do with something other than just those actors. The writing or directing had to be different between Get Shorty and Heist. Get Shorty was written by Leonard and directed by, geez, I dunno, to lazy to look it up, probably Levison or Sonnenfeld, I get those guys mixed up. But pretty sure Mamet wasn’t involved. Heist was a Mamet film. Sure as heck left that bad taste in my mouth the same way that Glengarry Gles Ross did. I can’t believe how much that movie sucked.

    You know, I’m so ignorant of his work I didn’t even realize he’d written Get Shorty. Live and learn. And generally, movie dialog isn’t extracted from the books and is filtered through the actor’s interpretation of the speaker/character anyway. Still, good to know.

    As for my weekend plans, don’t have any. Might watch Get Shorty again. It’s a good movie. Maybe I’ll watch that episode of The Simpsons that’s a parody of Omega Man, which was loosely based on I Am Legend. Just something about Homer dancing naked in a church, it’s funny for so many reasons.

    That was part of a Treehouse of Horror episode, right? I remember that one. “Yeah, you get so crazy with the skin-eating.” Good episode.

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

