Super-Secret Mission


A sketch of the human brain by artist Priyan W...

Yesterday (as you read this), I had a super-secret job interview.

I didn’t say anything about it.  I could’ve asked you all to pray for me, or for all of you to send me your positive thoughts, or whatever, but … I really needed to do this one alone.  It isn’t that I’m trying to distance from my friends or anything; Lord knows, I need each and every one of you and call on you more than I should.  But I needed to know I could rally myself, marshal my resources, and do something about my situation, for myself.  I needed to learn something along the way, too.  I feel the mission was a success.

No, that doesn’t mean I got the job.  It means I did something I don’t usually do, and I did it in a way I normally wouldn’t do such things.   And it went great.  I don’t know how I did in the job interview, frankly, and I didn’t do as well on my Wonderlic assessment (written this time) as I wanted to, but I succeeded in a personal way, in a deep and meaningful way for me as a human being, as a Christian.  It means a lot to me and I’m still sort of giddy about it.

I don’t know how this will all turn out – as far as I’m concerned that aspect is in God’s hands now – but I did my best in everything I set out to do and there’s nothing more I can do.  And I can lay my head down on the pillow with complete confidence in that, come what may.

I learned valuable lessons today.  Those are things I’ll carry with me for the rest of my life, I hope.  And I feel I’m a different man than I was before I went on that interview, for the better.  I sure hope so, at least.

Thank you all for being such wonderful friends and for supporting me every chance you get.  I deeply appreciate you all.  I’m sure I’ll be asking for your love and prayers again soon.

For the record, I hate tests where you have to color in the stupid little ovals.  They SUCK ASS.

-JDT-

All original content © 2009 DarcKnyt
ALL rights reserved.

6 thoughts on “Super-Secret Mission

  1. Now I want to know what you did different this time. Oh, and I took a test for the editor position. It was fun.

    I made a different decision. Nothing more. Tell us about the test!

  2. I love jobs where I have to colour little circles. Sure beats working a real job.

    Jobs doing that? Fine. TESTS doing that? Not good to give to a slightly OCD person such as moi. Not good at all.

  3. I spent a summer testing people with little oval circles. It’s not too much fun on the other side either.

    I’d rather take that end, if it’s all the same and being offered. I know the reason I couldn’t finish a better portion of the stupid test — which I wasn’t having much trouble with, content-wise, that I know of — is because those STUPID OVALS have to be filled in just so. Being slightly OCD didn’t help any. At all.

  4. There are many things in life we can’t control; one thing we do control is the level of our effort. As long as we make the effort, good things will happen. Best wishes.’

    Thank you so much for the encouragement. I appreciate it!

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

