Friday Funk and Stuff


Ghost hunters taking an EMF reading which prop...

Well, here it is, Friday, and I’ve got nothing lined up.

Some friends, Ben and Kristy, might have some BIG news later, and I’ll announce that here as soon as I hear anything, but for now, things are pretty quiet.

So, if you’re not into boring, go check out Al Bruno III‘s blog about things he’s found interesting ’round the blogosphere.

I haven’t had a single nibble on the job front since last week’s interview.  I don’t know if that means anything, but it does mean I’m one week closer to running out of unemployment insurance.  I may be able to get an emergency extension, but I can’t tell yet.  The application will automatically be filed, if I understand things correctly.   If you’re the praying type, we can sure use your prayers now.  And know we’ll be praying for you.

In the interim, I just sat through a movie on FEARnet OnDemand called The Baby’s Room.  It was a Spanish movie – both in origin and language – subtitled in English, and I have to say, it was a unique one.  I enjoyed it thoroughly.  It was rated 7 out of 10 by some movie rating thingy, but for me, I give it an 8.  I think the acting was superb, but the subtitles could’ve used a little polishing.  I found missing words and incorrect (if not literal) translations, and would’ve fixed them for a small fee had I been asked.  The plot was predictable, but which ones aren’t?  The execution was carried to the last moment of the movie, and the final scene was poignant.  Very good overall.  Like I said, it’s an 8 to me, and it’s one of the only horror movies I’ve seen lately which I felt satisfied me.  In addition, it was only 77 minutes long.  And that was perfect.

Let’s see, what else?  Hm.  Oh!  I know.  I’ve done absolutely no writing here for a long time.  I’m ready to burst.  I’ve been in a dry spell for months – ask my bud Sherri about what we think of as true writer’s block and she’ll tell ya, we gots it – and it’s driving me nuts.

I’m still trying to get the hang – and the point – of social media like Twitter.  It’s not all that social and I’m not really in a position to market anything right now, so what the heck am I supposed to be doing with it?

I’ve managed to get a chapter or two of Ghost Hunters (my novel, not the TV show) edited this week, and I’m shooting for at least three more this weekend.  I really can’t keep letting myself off the hook with excuses, or it’ll never get finished.  So that’s my goal.  We’ll see come Monday how I did.

Other than that, things are status quo here.  Not much else to tell, gang; I’m boring as ever.

God bless, everyone; have a great weekend.

-JDT-

All original content © 2009 DarcKnyt
ALL rights reserved.

3 thoughts on “Friday Funk and Stuff

  1. Oh my, are Ben and Kristy pregnant again?

    Not anymore. (It was their first, so no “again”.) See my newer post. 🙂

  2. Darc, turn around and look upward cuz that joke shot clear over your head.

    Oh — whoops. Yep, sure enough, there it goes. So far and high, I still don’t get it.

    It’s great to hear that a new baby girl has been brought into this world by a pair of loving parents.

    Isn’t it though? 🙂

  3. I am not the praying type but will pray for you anyway. Congrats to your friends on the birth of their daughter.

    Thanks, Leafless. We appreciate the prayers. I’ll pass on your regards to Ben and Kristy. 🙂

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

