The Case as it Stands


The A8N VM CSM, an ASUS microATX motherboard

As you know, my wife’s computer decided to give up the ghost a couple of days ago.  I’m not sure yet – because I haven’t really felt like investing the time and energy into the troubleshooting, frankly – whether it’s a system board failure (likely), a hard drive failure (possible also), or both (not as likely, but hey – stranger things have happened … to me).  Until I know, I can’t say what it will cost to get the machine back up and running again.  We do know replacement of the PC at this time is impossible.  Even cheap computers are more than we can handle right now, and I’m not willing to buy someone else’s cast offs.

That being said, we are currently sharing this computer.  And so far, it’s been fine. She uses her PC a lot more extensively than I do.  She spends most of her day on it (so in one way, this has been a good exercise for her too, forcing her to do other things), and has a couple of favorite games she plays.  She’s not able to do that on this machine without having to start from scratch and that sucks, so she’s sitting tight.

What this means, ultimately, is we have to spend the time we have on the computer concentrating on doing things we need to do as opposed to things we want to do.  In one way, it’s a good thing; it means I spend more focused time and eliminate some of the time thieves I’ve allowed to get into my schedule and muck it up.  On the downside, it means I may not be as prompt in responding to your comments, and I may not be as faithful at commenting on your blogs.

I hope that’s not offensive to anyone.  I truly do.  I don’t mean to be a taker without giving; I hate not reciprocating with you when you’ve been so kind about coming around my house and leaving me your thoughts.

I’m sure this means I won’t hear from some of you as much if at all anymore.  I’m sorry again, but right now things are stretched, and if my employment situation doesn’t change, I’ll be going offline for a long while anyway.

The point here is to let you all know how much I appreciate you coming around and being faithful about commenting here and letting me share your lives.  And to let you know I’m sorry if it seems like I’m not doing that in return.  I don’t have the time I used to, and won’t for a while.  Be patient, because I’ll either disappear soon or I’ll be back around your houses eating up your food and dirtying your dishes again.  Hang in there with me, and thanks.

God bless,

-JDT-

9 thoughts on “The Case as it Stands

  1. I’m not going to keep a tally of how many times I’m here and how many times you come by my place. There have certainly been times in my life when I got to eat only because I found change in the sofa cushions, so you my understanding. See you when you can be here. You still be welcome.

    Thank you so much. 🙂 I appreciate that unconditional support.

  2. I miss you guys! When I saw this post in my Reader I pounced on it. Send me your phone numbers again, I think I lost them. That way if y’all have to go offline for a while I’ll still be able to pass along any good news I get.

    Email me any time, even if it’s just to say you’re alive.

    We’ll try to find a way to keep in touch, sweetie. It’s not like we’re losing touch tomorrow or anything. I just wanted to give y’all a heads up about how things’re going and if I don’t seem to reply to each comment, why that might be. 🙂 I’ll shootcha an email today with those numbers. 🙂 Love ya.

  3. Use this opportunity to go outside for a walk. Fresh air, exercise. That’s better than reading some lifeless text on a computer screen.

    Probably a good idea, frankly. I’ll give it a shot. 🙂

  4. Hey Do what you have to do…however with my blog I have worked out a plan

    CARRIER PIGEON

    Step 1. Read said blog – Get off comp, let wife use.
    Step 2. Type up or neatly handwrite a reply.
    Step 3. Attach said note to deftly trained pigeon foot Send on Way.
    Step 4. Pigeon arrives at my location I read note.
    Step 5. I input your words into my blog and write reply on note. Send Pigeon back to you.
    Step 6. You receive Pigeon – Repeat Steps 1 thru 6 until you can reply and read MY BLOG in a more timely manner.

    This should alleviate any guilt you might have for not reading my very well thought out posts.

    Hows this sound…reply of course by Carrier Pigeon…Zman sends
    Step 6.

    Sounds awesome! Now, where did I leave that pigeon of mine … 😉

  5. Aw, man! A busted PC. That’s a downer. Although, it’s good weather for computer downtime. At least there’s the great outdoors to enjoy for the next few months.
    Good luck to you, and I will certainly keep an eye on your posts, even though I don’t comment every time. I continue to wish you the best of luck in your search for employment.

    Thanks so much! And please know I’m doing the best I can to keep up with your blog too, though I don’t always have something to contribute to the conversation. 🙂

  6. A wrecked PC is no fun at all. There was on time when my our cat Fred (who is now sadly dead) sat on the keyboard of my wife’s latop and somehow manged to turn the entire windows screen sideways.

    I was terrifed and amazed.

    Here’s hoping you get back into the blogosphere soon…

    Thanks, Al. We’re okay for now. But I’ll holla if something changes, bud. 🙂

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

