Finally! A “Not Bad” Movie


Cover of "Flock"

It wasn’t a great movie, by any stretch, but JEEZ, with the way things have been going for me cinematically lately, I thought I’d never see another decent movie again.

So enter The Flock, starring one of my least favorite actors in the movie industry, Richard Gere.  He plays a sex offender registrar keeping watch over a certain list of registrants which he refers to as his “flock”.  Hence the name.

The agent is being forced to retire – seems to be a retire or be fired situation – and during the last month of his employ he must train a young woman as a replacement.  She’s much more by-the-book than he is (he’s become jaded by the work and the type of people he’s overseeing) and a little naive and idealistic.  He’s given a new registrant to watch over and a teenaged girl is abducted.  The older agent is convinced it’s one of his “flock” gone astray, and the hunt is one to determine who it is, where the girl is, and the clock is ticking.

Overall, it was decent.  They billed it as being in the tradition of the movie Seven (remember that one? with Brad Pitt and Morgan Freeman? good movie), and while it wasn’t quite as creepy, it did have a good bit of tension.  It was also slightly predictable, but not so much it wouldn’t be worth seeing, and the characters are pretty well acted.  I’d recommend it.  If you have a chance to see it, check it out.

On the other side of this spectrum, I decided to indulge my poor, long-suffering wife’s Johnny  Depp fetish and we got a movie with him in it.  It’s called Dead Man.  There’s a lot of other recognizable faces in it too, and Neil Young provided an electric guitar “soundtrack”.  How wrong can you go with all that in the movie’s corner?

Evidently pretty doggone wrong.  The movie wasn’t even a “meh”, it was a “wtf?”

Long.  Slow.  Boring.  And even my wife didn’t like it.  Much as she likes Icabod Depp, she didn’t like the movie.  It had moments, but we couldn’t figure out if it was supposed to be a comedy or spoof on westerns.  Whatever it was it failed miserably.  Hopefully his gangster movie will be better.

Nothing else going on really.  Just trying to stay afloat and awake over the weekend.  How ‘bout you all?  Anything interesting happening with you?

-JDT-

5 thoughts on “Finally! A “Not Bad” Movie

  1. My weekend was pretty forgettable–more research work. 😦

    Well, I hope you’re at least researching something interesting … though it doesn’t sound like it.

  2. Family Guy – Volume 7 Cinematic Masterpiece I tell you…..or try Johhny Depp in From Hell great flic…..short post didnt need a nap i like it…Zman sends

    Hm. I haven’t heard of that Depp film. I’ll see if my wife has. Thanks.

  3. Don’t need to drone on about my weekend anymore than to say it started with being attacked by two dogs and ended with a nice big spat with my 6 year old. Disappointing dinner club in between.

    I was sorry to hear things didn’t go as you’d hoped. I was rootin’ for ya.

    In this mood I don’t even want to watch Johnny Depp.

    Yeah, I need to be in the mood for him too. My wife? Not so much.

    As far as movies go–watching Grosse Pointe Blank. Love that. I think I’m really more John Cusack than Johnny Depp.

    GPB was fun, but I couldn’t choke it down more than once. I like John Cusack a lot too. He’s a decent actor. 🙂

  4. Okay, I stopped reading when you mentioned Richard Gere.

    Too bad. It’s not a bad movie. I don’t like him either, but this was decent, and I don’t say that often.

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

