Weekend Happenings


Cover of

Well, we had a fairly busy weekend.  Okay, not really, but we had a good time, and it was busy for us.

After contemplating burgers all weekend, I decided brownies would be good to make.  In anticipation of wanting brownies, sometime last week I picked up a couple of boxes of Ghiradelli brownie mix.  I love Ghiradelli chocolate; grew up in the SF Bay area, remember, so I’m familiar with those pups.  Even the boxed variety are delicious.

But we didn’t get to that until later.

First, Saturday rolled around and it was time to get my wife to her author meet.  One of her newfound favorite authors, Brad Thor, came to our library for a book signing appearance.  She agonized over whether or not to go until Ben and Kristy provided a copy of his last book (not the newest one for which he’s touring), The Last Patriot, for him to sign.  Brad Thor, so says my wife, was engaging and approachable.  He answered the usual round of questions with patient good nature.  And he was far briefer than the time slot allotted him implied.  He only took forty minutes of his ninety, signed books for those with kids in the library waiting first so they could wrangle them, and was gone in a whirlwind of star-struck yokels and magic author-dust.  Good stuff.  While he regaled his audience with his writerly charms, I sat with the kids and let them read books about their current obsessions: ants, bats and sharks.  Overall, not a bad afternoon.

We decided to risk financial ruin and treat ourselves to dinner out of a paper wrapper, and reveled in the glory of the cholesterol spike.

But Brad Thor’s visit made my love imagine things.  She wanted me to “get ready” – meaning, get ready for the time when I, as an author, will have to tour and do book signings.  It’s nice to have someone so supportive, so full of belief in your ability, in your corner.  I can’t thank her enough for that confidence, and it’s only one of the myriad reasons I love her so.

She heard the usual round of questions — “Where do you get your ideas (from)?” [hey, we’re in the Midwest; it’s not really a sentence if you don’t end it on a preposition] and “What made you decide to become a writer?”  My wife told me only a couple of the audience members were wannabes, which surprised me, frankly.  I thought he’d be swarmed with them, having published seven novels now.

Still I resist the dreamer’s urge to speculate on what I’ll say when it’s my turn.  My turn, despite what my loving spouse wants to believe, may never come.  I haven’t finished a manuscript yet, and I can’t say even if I do and it gets picked up and published, I’ll be required to tour like a rock band.  Depends on how well it sells, I’m sure.

Anyway, I’ll talk more about that in a later post this week.  What else do I have to talk about?

Sunday was an easy day with the kids, and then – at the behest of our daughter, not quite four years old – my beloved made brownies.

Sound exciting?  It wasn’t.  But we had a good time, and what else matters, really?

How was your weekend?

-JDT-

12 thoughts on “Weekend Happenings

  1. Watched UFC 100 with some friends at a bar & grill. Nothing better than watching two men try to knock each other out.

    Watching some girl-on-girl’s pretty good too.

    Oh, I had a first date with a woman. Made plans for a second.

    Hey, congrats! That’s progress! Is that why the week seems so long to you?

    • Dinner Friday night. So yeah, this week is going to kill me.

      That’s AWESOME. I’m really glad for you. I get how you’re dyin’ inside too.

  2. I had a great weekend, thank you for asking.

    As for book tours, I hear they are dying out. Which is fine by me because I dread the idea. Of course, I’m getting ahead of myself. I can’t get one agent to listen to me much less a room full of people.

    You know, I don’t think I’ve heard anything about author tours going extinct. I’m not opposed though; same reasons as you. But I don’t have to worry yet either.

    • I used to work for Barnes & Noble. I’ve witnessed the need-crowd-control book signing and the oh-here-comes-someone-now signing. The pain!

      But I have read that publishers are reluctant to pay for tours–especially for unknown authors. But if you want to organize one for yourself, the publisher will be happy to see you go.

      Hehehe … I’m sure they would be. If they’re not footin’ it and makin’ me, I ain’t goin’.

  3. Sometimes the best weekends are uneventful. It rained all day Saturday so it was a nice ‘goof off around the house while the baby sleeps’ kinda day. I’m sure we’ll be pining for those when she’s zooming around the house terrorizing the dogs.

    I don’t know if it’ll take that long. 😉

    Yum – brownies!

    Oh yeah.

  4. Not a bad weekend – wrote some, did the customary dog-related things, watched some TV, dreamed. Yours sounds nice, too.

    It was, thank you! Glad you got to relax in yours too.

    I’d like to have a touring lifestyle a la Stephen King, where the “events” don’t necessarily have to do with promoting a specific book. Otherwise I’d be too nervous: What if not enough people show up? Worse, what if too MANY do — and they’re there by mistake, because the local paper mixed up MY event details with, say, Oprah’s?

    I don’t know how I’d react to a lot of people. A lot of people accidentally at my book signing would be weird, though. Definitely weird.

  5. I think a lot of people do all their “touring” online now but still do signings at local bookstores and talk at libraries like Thor did. My superstition says thinking about such things jinxes my success, but I do it anyway. Maybe I should post about that tomorrow.

    I’d like to read that, actually. Post away! I’m not superstitious, but I daydream too much, and I can just see myself being cranky at one of those things. Not good.

  6. Hi! I found your blog through calliope’s….something told me I had to check you out. Seems like your reputation precedes you — or I’ve become fairly proficient in recognizing good writing when I come across it.

    Well, thanks for the warm greeting! And welcome to my blog. I’m happy to have you along. 🙂

    Yep, I was right. Good writing vets itself.

    You’re WAY too kind, but thank you all the same. I never turn down flattery. Or money. But flattery’s good. 🙂

    Hope to hear from you!

    And I hope you feel free to stop by anytime and chime in! You’re more than welcome! 🙂 Thank you for stopping by and being so gracious with your compliments.

    The Nerd
    wordnerd45.wordpress.com

  7. Oh, is it Monday???

    Now that the kids are on summer break and I don’t have any “real” work to do I lose track of the days. I can’t even remember what I did, other than actually watch a movie–which I never do, and putz around the house to avoid balancing the checkbook. Try as I might those damn bills just won’t disappear.

    If you find that incantation, PLEASE let me know!

    Sounds like your weekend was much more fun. Especially the brownies. Is there anything that can compare to the joy of seeing a four year old with a mouth full of chocolate goo? Nope. Nothing. 🙂

    It’s pretty cool. Watching her “wash her face” in a sinkful of water for half an hour’s pretty fun, too. 😀

  8. Oh, and BTW–what’s this nonsense about not writing a book? Listen to your Falcon–she is right. 🙂

    Oh, I’ve written it. I’m in the middle of editing it … for the last year and a half. If I ever get it finished, I’ll be sure to crow from the rooftops.

  9. We had an a great weekend but a busy one. Went to KC, MO to our daughter’s house to have a combination celebration for her birthday, Hubby’s birthday and for Father’s Day. We have so many things come up in June/July including 2 anniversaries, 2 birthdays and Father’s Day so we get together when we can all find a weekend that works.

    That sounds nice! Good idea, getting all the celebrations in one spot at one time. 🙂

    Had great seafood, went to the movies and had fun visiting. Then we came home and Hubby had to mow 3.5 acres in 100+ degrees – UGH!

    UGH indeed. Yuck. Still, having 3.5 acres TO mow must be grand. And seafood sounds AWESOME. (That’s my word for the day.) I envy seafood lovers who can indulge their tastes, though.

    We don’t get too many authors on tour here in the boonies but I wish they would! Maybe you’ll be kind to us stuck in OZ. :o)

    Hehehe! If I’m ever out Oz way, I’ll be sure and stop in. 😉

  10. We had a local author, John Shors, come to our bookclub after reading his book. He had decided to join in on discussion about his book remotely, or in our case, by stopping by for the first year after publication. It seems to be working for him and he said he enjoyed getting feedback from his readers. I thought it was an interesting approach and it seems to have increased his readership.

    That’s interesting. Authors love to get feedback from readers, so why not do it directly? Great idea, I think.

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

