Monday Mornin’ Randomness


The Next Food Network Star

Okay, so, this past weekend was gorgeous, weather-wise.  It could’ve been any more beautiful without being … I dunno.  October.  Cool, partly cloudy, low humidity … heaven.

I didn’t get anything from the library to read last time we went.  I didn’t finish the books I had from the time before and returned them, so I have nothing for books to talk about.  However, I’ve been doing a LOT of reading just the same.  For one thing, you won’t be disappointed if you check out Sara Fryd’s poetry.  I’ve been hooked, and I don’t even like poetry all that much.  (I know, I know, I’m a philistine.  Sue me.)   But every time I see a post by Sara, I’m off to read it.  And I’ve not failed to get something from every single one.

Sara’s not alone in creating my addiction to poetry though.  No, no.  Calliopespen is another poet penning poetry which compels me to read every line, despite my profession of ignorance on poetry’s structure and styles.  I don’t need to be a critic to appreciate the wording and beauty she injects into those nuggets of gold.

But, like Billy Mays used to say (I miss him), I’m not done yet.

If you like poetry, you’re also going to enjoy Jaymie Thorne’s blog.  Another person who can make poetry appealing and visual even for a clod like me.  There’s so much to the lines I can read them a few times and still have to check the comments to make sure I didn’t miss the point (I usually do).  Hey, I don’t know art, but I know I like it.

So I read a lot, even if it’s not a book.  And I can see in those poet’s lines ways of capturing visual images in concise wording … something which can benefit any writer.  Thanks, gang; I appreciate you sharing your work.

My beloved and I enjoy watching The Next Food Network Star, and it’s become an annual tradition.  We cheer for our favorites, jeer at those we don’t like, have fun, talk crap behind their backs, and generally carry on as we always do.  This year, we felt – so far, at least – we agreed with the selection committee’s choices, if not their timing.  Sunday night, though, that changed.  We’re not happy, and most of the world agrees with us.  Check out their site and get a gander at those comments for further information.  Next week will decide whether we ever watch the show again or not.

I was approached by a company last week to do a software review of their product suite.  I’ll be testing the software and putting my notes together for a full review, coming soon to this spot.  Watch for that.  I’m excited about it.  I also dropped the ball; I was supposed to download and install the program over the weekend but sort of fell asleep at the wheel.  I’m going to do that today.

Other than that, not much happened here.  As per usual.

How was your weekend?

-JDT-

All original content © 2009 DarcKnyt
ALL rights reserved.

8 thoughts on “Monday Mornin’ Randomness

  1. “I love the sexy slither of a female snake.”

    Really? That’s a … little creepy, but cool, description.

    • Barry White said that in defense of snakes on Whacking Day after being the Grand Marshall of the Springfield Whacking Day festivities.

      You are the KING of Simpsonian trivia, WIGSF. Awesome reference.

  2. Speaking of poetry, a friend of Ken’s who’s a poet is almost finished the poem he’s writing about our wedding. It’s his wedding gift to us. I can’t wait to see it. I do love poetry. Hearing that news was one of the highlights of my weekend.

    That’s a really wonderful gift! What a great thought!

  3. I don’t get poetry. I like for people to whack me over the head with their concepts and not figure out the meaning within meaning stuff. I HATED the poetry component of any English class I ever took. Plus, rhymes are creepy; all I can think of is the jumprope rhyme in Nightmare on Elm Street One, two, Freddy’s coming for you… Three, four, better lock your door…

    Try the stuff I’m linking to. It’ll change your mind, I bet. It did mine.

    Had a good if not exhausting weekend involving manual labor, a backhoe, and dirt. Fun, fun. I’m brewing a blog post about it even now.

    Double, double, toil and trouble, eh? 🙂 Nothing like backbreaking weekend labor to make you appreciate your cushy office job, I allus say.

  4. I’ve written a bit of poetry. Not good at it but I liked it. I’ve gotten out of the habit of reading it–so thanks for the suggestions.

    It’s my pleasure. Poetry’s not a favorite of mine at ALL, but I’ve really come to admire these poets.

    As for my weekend. It was weird. Someone who hurt me once many years ago got in touch with me and apologized. Amazing. Strange. All these years I’ve been thinking one thing, and the truth was something else. My brain still can’t get wrapped around it.

    That’s really cool in a Twilight-Zoney sort of way. I thought I saw you tweeting about this so I knew something was up.

    Now tonight I’m going to watch the season premiere of Torchwood–cause my head needs to be addled just a bit more.

    Addle away. Have fun. 🙂

  5. Well you’ve swelled my head so much, the only thing that will let the air out is writing. To say I was blown away is an understatement. I have spent most of last night and today writing the story of you as a little boy with yellow sticky notes all over while you roll down a hill and into a Webster’s and then this. My head will be so big I won’t be able to wear my cowboy hat. In your honor. My son Josh’s initals are JD as well.

    http://sarathestorylady.wordpress.com/j-j-d-cornucopia-a-serial/

    🙂 That’s wonderful. How flattering! A story of my very own! Thank you!

  6. Darc you are far too kind. But I am so glad to hear that you are giving poetry a chance. I love the concise nature of poetry also. I also am amazed at how many interpretations so few words can bring out. Imagination wranglers, yep.

    You’re welcome, and I love that term — “imagination wranglers”. 🙂

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

