On the Shores of Dream Lake


Maxilar bone with left sided sinusitis (left m...

I had a weird, weird dream yesterday.

First, a little background.

I’ve been having terrible headaches lately as a spate of weather fluctuations roll through our happy little corner of the world’s cesspool.  Those pressure and temperature changes very often cause sinusitis and its associated pressure, pain and stuffiness.  And if I’m really unlucky and not paying enough attention to what’s going on with my sinuses, I’ll get a full-blown, can’t stop the rock, OMG the lights are stabbing my brain, DO YOU HAVE TO BE SO EFFING LOUD, feels like I’m giving birth through my eyeball migraine.

Been fightin’ ‘em all my life, and mostly over the last 15 years, I’m winning.  Last couple of days, though, the changes come fast and hard and soon as I’m aware I have a headache it’s happily hurtling like a runaway freight train toward threshold.

Okay, so the last couple of days have been real fun for me.  Oh, and for the kids and the wife too.  I’m in such a grand, jovial and playful mood when I have a headache and as I recover.

When I feel them coming on, I have a tendency to overreact, and slam a ton of meds down my throat.  That generally induces a coma later, when all the chemicals begin their barbiturate action.  And when I hit the pillow and  am merciful unconsciousness, I typically don’t dream.  (Drugs like this tend to impair REM sleep anyway.)

Well, not so yesterday afternoon (as you read this).

I dreamed of being on something like a mushroom chair, in the back room of a house surrounded by a majestic pine wood or redwood forest.  The rust-colored needles all over the soft, spongy ground, the slate-gray sky, and somewhere nearby, the smell of water.  A lake house?  It might’ve been an A-frame, but I can’t be sure.  I laid in a room between the main house and the exterior.  I saw a gash open in the wall over my head and to the side, and saw movement beyond it.  Someone out there, but they seemed to be knocking, or seeking permission to enter.  (It’s a dream, I don’t know.)  Then I saw them turn over a table and leave it on the back porch.  A moment later the visitor left.

My wife came in and I asked if she’d ordered a table.  In a resigned, disappointed voice she told me no, she’d paid the neighbor a dollar to deliver his old one.  I thought the tone of her voice indicated she was … angry? disappointed and ashamed? of me.  I felt bad in the dream.

I saw two cars at the end of our drive, but never went into the house.  Instead I walked across toward the end of the drive and noticed the neighboring house.  Somehow I understood we had dwelled in it once, and said something like “Someone finally moved in that place?” to my wife.  She said nothing.  She still seemed angry/hurt/disappointed.

I remember being afraid of the lake.  I wanted to fish, but was afraid of what I might catch, if anything.  (I remember being dubious about there being anything alive in the jade green waters at all.)  Instead, I saw someone else fishing, and I skirted barefoot (??? I’d never be caught dead outside barefooted, EVER) around the lake shore, muddy and dark, my feet sinking into the muck as I retreated to our house.  I was afraid my wife would be angry again if she saw my feet, so I tried wiping them as I went along, but it didn’t work.

When I got back to the house, the geography wasn’t the same as when the neighbor dropped off the table.  There wasn’t a long drive; the room where I slept when the neighbor brought the table sat a couple of feet from the water now, with only a short walk made of broken concrete slabs in front of what appeared to be more like a garage.

Then, I woke up after explaining to my wife the mud on my feet was from the lake.

Weird, no?

-JDT-

All original content © 2009 DarcKnyt
ALL rights reserved.

9 thoughts on “On the Shores of Dream Lake

  1. Wow. Hm. Okay, the house, table, angry wife *waves at Fal* represent the deterioration of your home because of being out of work and the fear of failing your family. The lake is your subconscious, wanting to work through issues that are holding you back, but afraid of what you might “catch.” Skirting the edge of your subconscious is causing problems, i.e. muddy feet.

    Anyway, those are my thoughts. I’m sorry you’ve been feeling bad. I’ve been a bit migrainey myself, so here’s hoping we both have a clear stretch of health hereafter. 🙂

    Lord, it’s been AWFUL! Two straight days of radical temp changes and more to come. I’m not sure what’s in store, but I feel one building now. It’s not a headache yet, but … *shudder*

    Thanks for all the time and effort — both you and Kreestee did an amazing analysis here — and for your insights, sweetie!

  2. I agree with Sherri about the table, house, angry wife representing the deterioration of your home yadda yadda yadda. However, I have a different interpretation of the lake.

    I think the lake represents your writing. You want to fish (submit pieces) but are afraid of what you might catch (hmm… rejection letters? fame and notoriety as an uber awesome horror writer?). Wondering if there are even fish in that pond = should I even bother casting my reel (submitting pieces) because who knows if there are even fish in there (editors who will even read my stuff before filing it in the trash can or are even soliciting open applications from an unproven-to-date author)?

    I think the mud is your self-apprehension that you’re not good enough. You see someone fishing in the lake (admiring all the writers who have made it big (King et al)) but you hide in the shadows instead. Your wife wants you to get pieces ready to submit (right, Fal?), and you know that by not doing it that you’re risking her disapproval. Not that she would ever do that… she’s just kicking you in the right direction 🙂

    So yeah, that’s my amateur psychoanalysis of your dream. Do with it what you will 🙂

    Interesting. Both of you have interesting ideas, and here I sit scratching my head just wondering if it was a drug-induced hippy-style dream. 😀 Thanks for all the effort and thoughts, hon!

  3. That is a very atmospheric dream. I love the initial scene, with the mushroom chair, the soft ground, and the smell of water. You are a fancy dreamer, you – I can’t recall ever smelling anything in a dream!

    Well, thanks! I think my dreams become more vivid as I get older. Well, the ones I remember anyway. There’s always a lot of setting. I’m waiting for the day when I can read in my dream, though. I’ll have something then. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  4. I tend more toward nightmarish versions of the not so savory parts of my past growing up in an abusive atmosphere. Or, I find myself in dream versions of past employment which is funny since I haven’t worked at that hospital since 1994 yet those are the people/places that populate my dreamworld most often. Worked for another health related institution for about the same number of years and that was my last job, yet only once in awhile do any of these people show up in my dreams.

    That’s funny. I grew up in an abusive atmosphere too, on a lot of levels, but I don’t dream about them. My Lord and King has been merciful in sparing me from being too haunted by it, though I know my past creeps out through me sometimes despite my best efforts … which aren’t all that good, I guess.

    I feel for you with the migraines, I get them too and have to worry about having too much cool air in my face as well as the barometric changes effecting me. Sinus migraines suck so bad. My daughter inherited this from me and they have increased for her since she got pregnant so unfortunately she is suffering. No morning sickness at all but headaches, yep.

    I’m so sorry to hear about your daughter. I was 28 or 29 before I ever found out the best way to control my migraines; for all the years before that, I had to deal with them. Now, I can usually stop them if I catch the sinus problems in time. But the weather changes so fast here — SO FAST! — it’s not always possible, especially when I’m not at home. So please pass your daughter my sympathies. 😦

  5. Knyt

    Huh!!…..See that you have a bad headache and you dream well and write a great story…how about that….hope you are feelin better…zman sends

    Thanks, much appreciated. 🙂

  6. Great stuff and dare I say just a little Lovecraftian? In the sense of his dream vs reality style stories like my beloved POLARIS ( http://www.dagonbytes.com/thelibrary/lovecraft/polaris.htm ) As I said before since my writing went into full speed ahead mode I haven’t had many vivid dreams. (well there is one… but I am still mulling it over)

    In fact when I had my last bout with the damn fever I kept having these recurring dreams of going in to work but not being able to find my desk because the office had doubled in size.

    The dream would get going, then a chill or stomach cramp would wake me up. I would twist around in bed, nod off again only to find the dream has restarted but the office has doubled in size since the last time.

    By the 4th or 5th time I gave the Hell up and decided to eat too many damn cookies and watch the sun rise.

    Interesting dream, Al. I know a lot of people ascribe meanings to them; I personally can’t, but I enjoy them when they’re as strange as mine was this time.

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

