I Know You’re Out There …


Category:Wikipedians who use WordPress

… lurking … watching … reading ….

Seriously, have you ever wondered how many people you have lurking around your blog, reading your words, traveling on the road of cyberlife with you, but remaining silent in the background?  Shadows on the path of your life, darting and flitting and dancing just out of your eye’s direct line?

I didn’t either until recently.

My buddy Sherri has interesting things to say, and one of the things she did was to publicly thank her lurkers for being there.

I think that’s an awesome idea.  For those of you – if there are any, of course – who lurk but say nothing in comments, I’d like to thank you.  Thank you for taking time from your busy lives to come here, spend that time reading the spew I vomit onto this space, and coming back time and again.  I don’t know if you’re out there, but if you are, I’d like you to know I’m grateful for you.  I’m grateful you find enough interesting things here to pass your time with.  You could be doing anything else – reading a book, watching TV, visiting another (truly) interesting blog, shopping online, watching midget pr0n – a million things.  Instead, you come to my tiny corner of the Internet and share with me whatever it is I happen to say that day.  If anything.

Some of it’s irrelevant to you, I’m sure, but maybe you read it anyway.  Some of it is profound and touches you in some way.  How wonderful that is!  Some of it makes you laugh.  I’m so glad I could give you a small piece of joy.  Some of it’s just random and weird, but you’re here following along with me.

Thank you. From the bottom of my heart, thank you.  You don’t know how much it means to someone like me, who wasn’t even sure a blog could be more than a journal, a personal place on the Internet to store my own internal thoughts and workings, never to be seen by a soul other than mine.  (Well … me and my wife, anyway.)

This post does nothing more than thank you for being there.  I hope you’ll come out and say “hi”, let me know you’re there, but if you’re not willing to, that’s okay too.  I read plenty of websites and don’t say anything.  I don’t always feel I have something to say, and nobody’d want to read it even if I did, so I keep quiet.

I want you, however, oh dear and valued lurker, to know I do care.  I do want to hear from you.  I am interested in what you think, what you feel when you read the things you find here.

So, if you’re interested in taking a chance, come on out and say hello.  I’d be happy to meet you.

And if you decide not to, well … thank you for being around.

God bless you all.

-JDT-

All original content © 2009 DarcKnyt
ALL rights reserved.

14 thoughts on “I Know You’re Out There …

  1. I am always amazed by the amount of people that read blogs but don’t leave comments. I understand if it is a blog version of something like CNN but on personal blogs, not so much. Personal blogs sort of beg you to leave a comment. Not literally but more by the type of content. Although, I have noticed a few blogs that I follow that consistently get at least 25+ comments on each post (which I would love by the way) and then the most controversial (political) bloggers get the high comment counts.

    Yeah, I agree. And I have no interest in going all controversial and stuff just to get people to comment. But we’ll see if anyone peeks out just by asking. 🙂

    Oh well, I appreciate the readers that comment and try to reciprocate in kind especially when I enjoy the blog.

    I hope I didn’t give the impression I didn’t appreciate my commenting readers! ACK! I do so appreciate all of you.

  2. I think there are many people who just don’t feel they have anything to add to the conversation, or who are afraid of exposing their own perceived ignorance on a topic. For example, I know lots of people think they have to be poets to comment on poetry; they think each poem contains some kind of hidden meaning that only a poet could understand. It’s a shame because it isn’t true. In your case, now that you’ve moved away from the movie reviews a bit, which could exclude some people, maybe some new folks or old lurkers will come out and say hello. 🙂

    I certainly hope so; I know how hard it is for me to speak about things I don’t feel qualified to speak about. Like poetry. 😉 But if no one comes out to say “hey”, then I’ll still be happy knowing I have loyal commenters who will always be willing to give me their feedback. I hope you know how much I appreciate you all!

  3. You see how many folks de-lurked on my post: ZERO. lol Oh well, that wasn’t the point of the post anyway. I hope the lurkers here will come on out and just say hey, because they won’t be sorry. It can only be a good thing to know you. 🙂

    Aw! You’re such a doll! And I hope this post doesn’t send an ungrateful signal to those who are loyal readers and commenters, like you, dearest. I do appreciate you being here so much. More than I can say.

  4. Very true! I don’t know why, but I LOVE commenting…I guess I like to leave my mark, kinda like a dog! 🙂
    Plus it is a good way to make friends out there!

    It is! The fastest way to get visitors to your blog is to read and comment on theirs regularly! Great strategy! And who doesn’t like leaving their oily, urine-scented mark on the Internet, I asks ya? I’m always glad you chime in here, sweetie. 🙂

  5. Its so true what Delaney says about how many people look but dont comment. I peruse others peoples’ blog and dont comment for different reasons…dont like the content…..or I know they will not reply back…You ever look at the older comments on someones blog and see who they have an ongoing conversation with. I usually comment if i like the subject and then i put my name..at the bottom…but I think people like to read and peek into others’ lives but dont want to intrude sort of like hearing a conversation while on line at subway…you listen but dont want to butt in…hmmmm great topic ..thanks Zman sends

    I’m that way a lot too. I don’t always chime in. Lots of reasons for it. Just wanted to give anyone who wanted it a chance to do so. Thanks!

  6. One more thing…you ever read someone’s blog and wonder about them…….do they have a den where they write…are they a good person…..where do they live …why do they write a blog….what are they doing when they write…is this a routine for them with the coffee and all……are they with there kids on the lap and all….dont know just curious i guess..zman sends

    I think it’s pretty normal to have questions about the person behind the text. 🙂 Thanks again!

  7. I read many blogs regularly (even this one) but I usually only say something if I have something to say about something. I’m not the kind of person to just ramble one and on. Not like my cousin Richie who dropped acid and stole all those parakeet mirrors…

    I thought he was acquitted of those charges? … Well, I for one, am grateful you’re around, Al. You AND those weird little mirrors you carry.

  8. Lurking is a different way of enjoying a blog. It’s pressure-free. I feel luxuriously selfish when all I have to do is read and there’s no pressure to come up with a witty or meaningful reply. On the other hand I also value the relationships I have online with other bloggers, so there are some blogs for which I’m willing to make the effort. Not that it’s always an effort. Sometimes it’s easy. It’s just like any relationship: there are both expectations and rewards.

    Well, I’m certainly glad you chose to come forward on this one. 🙂 It’s been a privilege.

    When I lurk, which I do on some very popular sites where the bloggers are inundated with tons of comments anyway, I feel more like an audience than a participant.

    I hope you feel participatory here, Sparkling Red. I’ve been more than happy to have you coming around and being part of things. Please feel free to continue to your heart’s content. 🙂

  9. Midget pron?

    I know there are people who visit my blog regularly and never comment. Sometimes they visit 2-3 times a day. I get a little weirded out by it, but I guess that’s what blogging is all about.

    Leave the door open, you never know what the cat’ll drag in. 😉

  10. I don’t know if you’ve got a sitemeter/Web stats counter hooked up here, but it can be sobering (or embarrassing, or obsession-making) to see you’re getting (say) 100 visitors a day, but only a couple-three comments per post on average. Actually not conducive to good mental health, probably.

    LOL, Prob’ly not. I was never able to make heads or tails of Sitemeter’s stats when I used it on a previous blog. It just confused me; the downside of being walnut-brained. 🙂

    What usually draws me to de-lurk — implicitly, though I don’t like to embarrass people by saying so out loud, as it were — is that I hate to get something good for free… that I’m the beneficiary of a one-way communication. In your case, having seen and appreciated your musings over at Marta’s place, I couldn’t not visit here. When somebody’s, like, laying it out there, I need to signify to them that it hit home in some way.

    Thank you for saying so. I’m honored to have you visit, and touched you feel I’ve offered something of value to you. 🙂 You’re very kind.

    Commenting, to me, is a privilege. There are only so many hours in the day, and I couldn’t possibly comment on everything that I appreciate reading. But heck, somebody leaves the front door open and cookies on the table, I’m darned if I’m going to make a habit of just wolfing them down all the time without sometimes saying (if not in so many words), Boy howdy — anybody ever tell you you could bake, partner?

    HA! Well, c’mon in an’ help y’self, pard. You’re welcome to all the cookies you can find here. My wife has a banner on her blog site which reads, “Come to the Darc Side … We have cookies!” You’re welcome here, to comment or stay silent as you see fit, and I’d like you to know how grateful I am to have you along. OH, and you just earned yourself a spot in both my feed reader and blog roll. Thank you for being here. 🙂

  11. I’m a horrible lurker. I *always* have something to say 😉

    And I’m more than glad you do. Please never hold back. 🙂

  12. So I leave a couple of lines of gratitude as I’m feeling guilty in my attempts to get all three running at full speed and I miss a day, which I am now making up for and every place I’ve been today has some words of gratitude. How absolutely delicious to feel this full. Twenty two hugs and then some!

    🙂 Thank you!

  13. The requirement that people have to provide their email address when commenting is a big obstruction. It’s a privacy issue.

    Hm. I see. Something to think about, for sure. Thanks for letting me know!

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

