Give ’em What They Want


Google, Inc.

So, a little while back, I got to complaining about those folks who pop onto my blog here in search of information on b10-data sheets.  (Yes, that’s code, so this post doesn’t show up in the searches; from now on, I’ll refer to it as “BD”.)

If you missed that post somehow, the gist of it is this: I get a lot of traffic for folks seeking information on BDs.  I don’t know why.  One time, I asked how someone constructs one, what it was, etc., because I was applying for a job with a company as a writer of some kind (tech writer, I think).  They wanted writing samples, and all I had was some of my fiction … which probably isn’t appropriate to the task.  I needed to put some together, and one of the suggestions the company offered in their posting was a BD.  Okay, I thought, what the heck is that and how do I write one?

Well, I put out a call for some input here on my blog and got a couple of helpful pointers.  Next thing I know, I’m getting hits for BDs … not just professional ones, but personal ones used for marriage proposals.  Now, I’m not going to do any sort of cultural commentary here about why you have to submit a resume to propose marriage.  To each their own.  But I got tired of having so many search terms come up that way and that post be so popular for one lousy statement, which didn’t provide what they needed.

In jest, I got off my rump and did a Google search.  I compiled as much information as I could find, included the links to relevant sites, and made all manner of disclaimers.  In short, I caved and gave the masses what they wanted.  The traffic on my blog went up over the next couple of weeks, and anywhere from a third to a half of my hits now are from people searching out BD information.

All well and good, but I’m tired of catering to that crowd on a blog that’s not about that, never was, never wanted to be.  So I thought about moving it.  I didn’t do it last weekend for laziness’s sake.  But yesterday, I finally made the plunge.  I used to keep a free web site over on a defunct host called FreeWebs.  They’ve since become Webs.com, and they’ve done a lot to improve the joint.  So I went over, decided against using my existing account to host the BD stuff, and started a new site.  I copied all the information over, with all the links, re-did all the specifics so we have live links instead of text code, and voila! – a new BD-specific site lives.

The nice thing is, I could register the site with Google, Yahoo, and include SEO site tags.  I put the description in.  And I enabled (finally! stupid thing) the stats counter.  Then, I went over to my BD main page, put in a notice of site change, and now, I’m watching for the hits to gradually move over there.  (This may not happen until I don’t physically have the information on this site anymore.)  And, for a traffic whore like me, this is going to sting … seeing all that traffic, all those hits, go somewhere else and watching my little bouncing hit-counter ball drop?  Oh yeah. Hard to do.

So, that’s my big news for the weekend.  It took me about half an hour to do it all told; the site builder there is really terrific and easy to use.  It’s not going to have the power or flexibility of a pay site, but for free?

Hey, I’m all about the cheap and free, baby.

So go check it out and let me know what you think.  Here’s the link.

-JDT-

All original content © 2009 DarcKnyt
ALL rights reserved.

12 thoughts on “Give ’em What They Want

  1. And you don’t really need flexibility for a little site you won’t be working with. Webs is the way to go.

    I agree! For a little dump site, all I needed was there. 🙂

  2. I never knew such a thing existed!

    Which thing is that? The free web sites? Yep, for years. Free hosting exists too. If you want it, it’s out there, and FREE. Or did you mean the subject of the post (the b10-data sheet)? That’s weird too, especially for marriage, but yes, it exists. Truth is stranger than fiction … even mine. 🙂

  3. There are several things in this post that I just do not understand. I can’t even figure out how to put a counter on any of my sites… but the other site looks good and I hope it works out the way you want!

    Thanks very much. And if you need help with something, let someone know — Sherri, me, Falcon — we’ll be happy to assist. 🙂

  4. ….I woke up just in time to finish this post.. whew!!!….dont really understand BIO Data….would like to know how to download a new template for wordpress if you do a post on that lemme know please….thank you and have a great day

    Zman sends

    WordPress.COM only allows you to use the templates they offer, which you know how to change already; the other templates are for WordPress.ORG users, which requires a separate host. Then you can download, install and configure WordPress (the software) for your new site and then pick a template from somewhere. That’s the extent of my knowledge on it, because as you know, I’m a WordPress.COM user. 🙂

  5. Back on July 23rd, my stats suddenly shot through the roof. I mean, I’d been averaging something paltry like 50 visits/page views a day, and on that day the count shot up over 600 visits, over 700 page views.

    If you look at my archives, you’ll see that — thanks to an astute nephew — I posted that crazy wedding-entrance-dance YouTube video within days of its original posting on YouTube. The heck of it was, that had absolutely nothing to do with my traffic. Nobody was coming to my site to see that, or, really, to see anything else which I think my site is “for.” (I myself am still trying to figure out what that is, actually.)

    What happened was this: A blogger — reporter for the BBC, covering the USA — wanted to make some point about the way Americans regard the rest of the world. He remembered a curmudgeonly poem by Robert Frost about the quality of goods being imported here from Asia, apparently did a blog search for that poem, and found it buried within a post of mine from a couple months ago. Result: linkage to a single inconsequential post, from a BBC blogger. Instant fuel-injected stats.

    My stats counter(s) have been worse than useless since then, because probably — still — something like 80-90% of visitors are just following that link. I have no idea any longer who’s actually visiting because they give a rip about what I normally do blog about (to the extent I know what that is anyway).

    I do have a fantasy that someone from some mega-UK publishing firm, in all innocence, will follow that link to my site, be captivated, wonder why I’m still unaligned with a publisher, and, y’know, Make My Day. Emphasis on “fantasy.”

    The Interwebs giveth and they taketh away, eh? 🙂

    Yeah, see, that’s about how I feel. I don’t know WHY they latched onto that one little post but the steady flow of visitors have followed the widened path I carved for them faithfully. I guess that’s the way the mysterious Internet works. And yeah, she giveth, she taketh. Whattayagonna do? 😉

  6. I have to admit I’d never heard of bio-data until my first visit here–and I’m a recruiter. I can’t see how it will ever replace the good old resume.

    Please God forbid! ICK!

    I say go ahead and take the plunge and remove all references to it from this blog. Instead–try linking this blog from the bio-data one 🙂

    HA! That’d be a kick, wouldn’t it? But I gave them a one-week ultimatum to start shifting over there. According to my search terms and post popularity today, they’re not listening. I might have to hurry them along. 😉

  7. Are you going to advertise on this site? If you are getting that many daily hits, you should be doing some Google ads so you could make some $$.

    I can’t advertise here, and I’m not getting so many Google ads would pay, I don’t think. But if I ever get the freedom to ad ads to the site (should the hits become something like they are here), I’ll definitely do it. Thanks!

    • If you switch your BD blog to blogger.com, you can set up google ads for free. Your earnings are based on visitors and clicks. It may not be much, but it’s better than a poke in the eye. So far I’ve earned 6 cents! I can now tell people I make money blogging.

      Woo! You’re a professional blogger! I’ll have to check, but I might be able to put Google ads on my Webs.com page for the BD. It’s actually a whole site. And so far, no traffic to speak of, but when I start redirecting from here, it’ll probably go up.

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

