I’m SO STOKED!


When I was a child, the one thing which frightened me more than anything was … werewolves.

Lord, I’d cry when werewolf movies came on!  I’d shut my eyes, cover my ears, and weep like … well, like a frightened child.  Once, when I was little, my mother found me crying in my bedroom.  She asked what was wrong, and I answered by showing her my arm.  She perked a brow, and asked for clarification.  Apparently, the tiny, wispy hairs on my arm indicated to me I was becoming a werewolf and would feast on my loved ones at the next full moon.  She had a good laugh, explained (as best her pickled brain could) about hair follicles and the nature of human skin, and reminded me of the hair on my own father’s arms.  I felt better, but my attachment to werewolves remained.

I have no idea when it happened, but somewhere along the course of my life I stopped believing in movie magic, and it might’ve been because of my desire to overcome my fear of werewolves.  By 1981, I had no fear of any monsters any more, of course, but I’d also lost the ability to suspend disbelief for any form of entertainment.  When An American Werewolf in London was released, I not only was able to enjoy the movie without any chills, it became one of my all-time favorite horror movies.

Now, werewolves are my favorite mythical monsters.  Ben and Bryce have their zombies, Twilight and True Blood fans have their vampires … but give me werewolves.  Not the sissy ones like in the Underworld franchise, but the nasty, mindless, monstrous ones like in … well, see for yourself:

These film makers beat me to it.  If I were going to write and make a werewolf movie, this looks like the kind I’d make.

This is going to be awesome.  I’ll have to wait for either Pay-Per-View or the DVD, but I’m going to see it.  And I can’t wait.

-JDT-

All original content © 2009 DarcKnyt
ALL rights reserved.

19 thoughts on “I’m SO STOKED!

  1. Oh my! This looks like an awesome movie. Somethings twists in my head thinking of your childhood fear turning into your primal passion as you got older. Amazing! Thank you for sharing.

    Oh, you’re too flattering. Thank you very much, Beth. 🙂

    • Well Freddy and Jason and Michael Meyers never scared me when I was younger. The clown from Stephen King’s IT, yeah, that got me a little. But I prefer the maddness of the Saw movies. The madness and details of the different devices. That gets my blood pumping. 😀

      Haven’t seen any of the Saw franchise, and don’t plan on starting with the upcoming number 6, but we each have something that stirs our adrenaline, don’t we? 🙂

      • It isn’t for everyone, just us raging psychopaths. LOL I love all horror movies. Was looking for something that would scare me when I started with the Saw movies. Didn’t so much scare me as just got my muse dancing in my head. After all, it’s okay for the movies, it’s okay to write, isn’t it?

        All’s fair in love and fiction. 😉

  2. I’m much more interested in a werechicken. You see, wolves, just plain run-of-the-mill wolves are scary enough for me. Those things can easily kill a man, but a chicken, a chicken is not that scary. So it takes some sort of magical voodoo curse to make a chicken a vile and destructive creature. That amount of weirdness and oddity much more appeals to me than some been-done-to-death werewolf story.

    Hm, werechickens. Very intriguing.

    Think about the werechicken. The male of the species will cock-a-doodle-doo at the moon instead of the sun. See, interesting. The female of the species will lay werechicken eggs. See, interesting. And that’s how the curse can spread, people eating a werechicken egg. Or maybe that’s how a curse can be lifted.

    Niiice. I like it so far.

    You see, so many possibilities. I’m giving you gold here. This is your next story. The Curse of the Werechicken.

    This IS gold, man. This is awesome. I love it.

    Chances are, I’ve subconsciously lifted the entire concept from the Far Side. If so, well, Gary Larson’s a genius and thusly it’s okay to steal from him. He did do a panel about a vampire cow.

    And punkupines. Punk porcupines. And the boneless chicken ranch. And there IS Wallace and Grommet’s Curse of the Wererabbit, which is similar.

    Okay, I’ve googled werechicken and found something from the old Ghostbusters cartoon. That sounds familiar. Either way, write a story about werechicken. Your protagonist can be a colonel.

    Yeah, a white-haired colonel with a goatee from the deep south, in a white southern gentleman’s suit with black bow tie. AWESOME! You rawk, WIGSF!

  3. When I tried to play the video it said embedding had been disabled. 😦

    Doggone it. Thanks for letting me know, sweetie. I’ll see what I can do. 😦 Follow the link to the YouTube video, though. Awesome.

    I’ve never been scared by werewolves. Honestly, though, I’ve never been actually “scared” of any mythical monster. Monster movies scared me while I was watching them, I guess, but I wouldn’t be scared afterwards. Unless you count ghosts, which I think are real, but whatever. The thing I was most afraid of was homicidal maniacs. I stayed awake at night worrying about axe murderers before I even saw a slasher movie.

    Growing up in the era of the Zodiac killer, who murdered someone at Lake Berryessa in California during a time when my family was spending a LOT of time at that lake, I can relate to fear of killers and maniacs. As a child I didn’t have a great grip on suspension of disbelief; as an adult, I can’t achieve it. Oh well.

  4. I just thought of something. Another comedic spoof of a famous Herman Melville story. The Colonel goes after a giant white rooster. I think you know what to call that story.

    Yeah, I sure do. And when I write it, BOY, are my hit counts going to skyrocket. Woo!

  5. Wow. I bet men with hairy backs would have sent you over the edge as a child, huh?

    EEEWWWW! GROSS! Thanks, I’ll have nightmares tonight. *GAG*

    I am ROFL at WIGSF’s idea. I’d buy that book, or movie.

    Then pony up the dough, girlfriend, ’cause I’m a-writin’ it. You can executive produce.

  6. Wait a minute, now you guys have a Coloniel, a rooster, and a big hairy guy. Like the kind that when he takes his shirt off you are not sure if he is wearing another underneath…. Now I think I might be scared. 😀

    Big hairy guy? No, that’s Calliopespen who has the hairy guy. *Shudder!* Not I, dear. Not I at all!

  7. I remember the boneless chicken ranch! The Far Side was one of my favourite cartoons when I was younger. (Now I don’t follow cartoons because my grandmother no longer saves the funnies from the Sunday paper for me like she used to.)

    When I was six for some reason I ended up dressing up as a werewolf for Hallowe’en. I don’t know how that happened. I was much more of a ballerina/princess type. My mom must’ve got a hand-me-down costume from a friend.

    But it must have been nice to break out of the mold, huh? 🙂

  8. I agree…..casting Benicio Del Toro as the Wolfman is brilliant. Throw Anthony Hopkins in their….this should be a slam dunk for success…..the wolfman is a great story…..i really look forward to this…zman sends

    Me too!

  9. I love Sir Anthony Hopkins and Benico Del Toro so it should be pretty cool. I am eagerly awaiting the new Sherlock Holmes with Robert Downey Jr. to come out because the previews look awesome and I love RDJ in just about anything. Watched the Soloist last weekend – he and Jamie Foxx were great in it and it is a very sobering movie.

    RDJ is awesome, when sober. And yes, Sherlock Holmes is going to be incredible I bet. I can’t wait for these!

  10. Eek! I hope Ben doesn’t try to drag me to this movie. I don’t do scary movies of *any* kind. Glad to see something has perked you up though – don’t think I’ve seen you this psyched for a while 🙂

    I SO have to see this! It’s going to be amazing. At least, in my mind it is! 😀

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

