How was Your Weekend?


Beef and Corn on a Charcoal BBQ grill

I’m posting this on Monday, September 7, 2009, even though I know a good number of my readers are still on their long weekend. You’ll probably be back tonight, unless you’re like me and try to take an extra day around the three-day weekends to extend them. (That’s back when I had a job, though.) So here’s a welcome home just in case you’re not doing anything today and want something to read.

Since it’s sort of a throw-away post, I’ll keep it simple. How’d your weekend go? Did you get the things done you’d planned on? Did your plans go as well and smoothly as you wanted? (I hope so!) Did you have a barbecue over the weekend, or are you having one today?

Our family, the Darcs I mean, doesn’t have any celebratory traditions we can think of, and most of the time we’re struggling for one reason or another.  So today’s just another day for us.  No special plans, nothing we had to do or places we had to be.  (That’s a good thing in my book.  🙂 )  But lots of you do have traditional celebrations for holidays, and if you do, I for one am interesting in knowing what they are.  Did you create a new tradition this weekend?  Something you did which you enjoyed enough to want to do every year?  Some food you threw on the grill which will become a staple of your backyard barbecue celebrations from now on?

As for grilling, I am of the belief nothing makes meat taste better than fire.  I prefer charcoal grills to gas ones, but it’s hard to beat the convenience of gas.  I like experimenting with different types of methods for using our grill, but alas, it’s not always something I get to do.  Lazy and life often get in the way.  This past year, it’s been both.  and my focus has been on job hunting for many months, and that’s sort of a damper too.  But we still enjoy our long weekends, which seems weird.

To those who work, I celebrate you today. Happy Labor Day, God bless you, and keep up the good work. Some of us out here envy you your jobs, and I hope you can not only appreciate having a day in your honor to celebrate you doing the job, but can appreciate the job itself, just having one, because it’s easy to take for granted.

Here’s hoping the work week ahead of you is easy and short!

-JDT-

10 thoughts on “How was Your Weekend?

  1. A throw away post? 🙄 The first time I’m first in 3 months, where’s the cut off toes and serial killers? All I get is a barbeque grill? 😳 I want rib-eye on that grill (never mind that I stopped eating beef last March). That’s what happens when you stay up late and watch Letterman and Marg Helgenberger (or however you spell it from CSI) and her first job ever was working at a slaughter house in Vegas and she describes it in detail. So that’s the last time I ate beef. Hope you guys had a great holiday weekend. *hug*

    It was relaxing, thanks, hon! 🙂 *hug*

  2. Somehow unemployment hasn’t stopped me from loving a long weekend either. The camp out was a success! The grownups are still trying to catch up on their sleep but I haven’t heard a single regret uttered. Hopefully the Darcs are in the habit of celebrating every day, you seem like you are, no tradition can trump that!

    Yay! A successful campout! Glad to hear that, and I can relate to the sleep deprivation aspect! But a good time was had by all, and what else matters? Yes, we celebrate our lives in other ways, subtle, quiet ways, and thank you for reminding me we can always do that. 🙂

  3. Well, there’s labor and there’s labor… You don’t have to have a quote-unquote “job” to be active, productive, etc. I know a heck of a lot of people with “jobs” who sit on their hands a lot more than you. So let’s celebrate work and not jobs, eh?, and you can climb aboard the parade float with the rest of us. Or of them, as the case may be. 🙂

    Ha! Great point, JES. Sounds like a plan!

    I got absolutely squat done on the writing front for the last 3-4 days, which annoys me no end. OTOH, I helped out at a charity yard sale Saturday, spent about 4 hours in front of a grill yesterday, and… what’s that thing where you close your eyes for hours at a time? oh, right: slept.

    Sellin’, grillin’ and sleepin’? What else are weekends made for?

    But man I really gotta get back to the story…

    You go, boy!

  4. I never thought about Labour Day as actually celebrating labourers, until one time I was downtown early meeting a friend on Labour Day, and an entire parade of unions and their members came marching by! There weren’t a lot of people watching the parade, because most everyone else was sleeping in or at their cottage, but it was still impressive.

    Sounds fun! Too bad more people didn’t attend, though; has to be a bit sad for the marchers. 🙂

    My labour day tradition is enjoying the air show, which I’ve written about on my blog.

    Air shows rock. Love those.

    Enjoy the holiday!

    You too!

  5. I bought some mis-cut T-bones on sale for 3.88/lb, so we had those last night. Yum. It’s not a tradition or anything. If my head cooperates, I plan to get the first stage of an editing job completed so I can focus on my writing. Hubby has tomorrow off, too, but the kids go back to school so it’ll just be him and me. Whatever shall we do? *wink wink* Ah, who am I kidding. We’ll probably sit around and play Farmville all day.

    Someone has to explain Farmville to me. I see ALL. OVER. FACEBOOK. But I don’t get it. And T-bones, even if mis-cut (what’d they leave off, the filet or the strip?), sound tast-AY. And hooray for even longer weekends, when you get to be alone with your Farm … I mean, spouse! Woot!

    • I guess they left off the filet. The little part, whatever that is. But yeah, they were still good. 🙂 Farmville is a dumb little game where you plant crops and collect animals and make money and buy things. Dumb, but addictive. Sort of like Sims in that you’re building you’re own little world. If you want to give it a try, holler and I’ll send you a neighbor request.

      Man, Farmville — it’s tempting, but I’m going to have to pass; I don’t need another time thief in my day right now. 😉 Thanks, though. Oh, and yeah — the little part is the filet mignon. Too bad; best part. But strips on the bone are awesome. As you know. 🙂

  6. I lived up to my promise of clearing out the “hoarder” closet though I will admit that Hubby did the physical labor of going through all of it while I went through the mental angst.

    It’s a tough job, mental angst, but SOMEone has to do it. You’re a trouper to step up.

    Whew! freed up closet space WooHoo! Lots of clothes for charitable donation at the Goodwill store WooHoo!

    Woo! Awesome!

    Now, on to the grilled burgers – yum!

    W00t! Grilled burgers! Only thing better is grilled STEAK! YEEE-ha!

  7. We actually didn’t do a whole lot this weekend. I slept, A LOT. Chris didn’t want to go to the festival again, so we played like vegetables and didn’t do a whole lot. Went across the street to our best friends house yesterday and had grilled BBQ chicken, corn on the cob, and french fries. All very yummy. We watched My Bloody Valentine, full of typical horror movie cliches, but watching the behind the scenes was fun. Today, hubby left for Kentucky for the week. Ahhhh a week of quiet bliss. 🙂 Hope to really get down to business and write some while he is gone. Glad to hear you and the family are doing well!

    Well, sleeping is a GOOD thing in my book; can’t ever have too much of that. 😉 We’re doing okay, thank you!

  8. We don’t have a tradition. I don’t come from a family that managed to make traditions–too many upheavals for that. But even now that I’m the grown up, I don’t make too many. The husband worked (as he ALWAYS does on these holidays). The kiddo had a play date, which went well. We went to Sonic for a treat. Hung out. Watched some TV, played Uno, read stories, practiced math (the kiddo wanted to do the math–it was his idea!), and that was it.

    That sounds all right to me — well, except the hubby working part, but if he wanted to … 🙂

    Now I’m going to work on that screenplay.

    I’m dying to know how that’s going. It’s gotta be tough. Did you check out Celtx?

    May you be laboring hard by the next holiday! (And I mean that in a good way, you know.)

    I do know, and I thank you. 🙂

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

