Another Glimmer


monsterdotcomcritterWell, you didn’t notice (probably), but I was offline most of the day yesterday.

Wanna know why?

Well, I’m gonna tell you anyway.  See, I had a long-awaited, much-coveted, extremely rare job interview yesterday.

That’s right, I had an actual, face-to-face, in-the-flesh interview.  I had to put on a suit (which still fit, surprisingly) and everything.  I wore a tie.  I had to drive to the location.  I had to sit down and take a couple of number assessments.  And I got to speak with a representative of the Human Resources department of the hiring company.

So, I got there about twenty minutes early.  I smoked a quick cigarette (yeah, yeah, I know) in the parking lot, said a fast prayer, and went in.  I waited for about ten minutes before the person who contacted me brought me into the bowels of the building for the assessments.

They were from Wonderlic.  If you don’t know about my experience with Wonderlic, it’s not good.  Last time I blew their test, horribly.  I actually had to re-take it, and online, I did great.  With a pencil in my hand, I did horribly.  Maybe that’s fitting for a horror writer, but it wasn’t good.  I didn’t get a second interview.

This time I didn’t fare much better.  I had to compare two numbers and put a check mark next to any identical pairs.  I had four minutes to do it.  I had 200 pairs to match.  That’s right – 200.  How’d I do?

I got through 101 of them.  I had no idea four minutes could pass so quickly.

Okay, nothing I can do about that one.  The nice lady brings me another one.  She laughs with me when I give her the deer-in-the-headlights look.  We have a nice chuckle.  She gives me the second assessment.  This time I have one page of numbers.  I have to complete the patterns.  You know, something like 1, 2, 3, 2, 4, 2, 5, 2, 6 … blah blah.  So they give you enough numbers to establish the pattern, then you fill in the last two numbers.

How’d I do?

Well, the nice lady stopped me again and I freaked.  Freaked.  I blew it again?! Are you friggin’ kidding me?!

So I figured I’d be dismissed summarily.  No, no, it’s okay.  I get put into Interview Room number 1.  Immediately I feel like a suspect in a murder investigation.  That’s what they say on CSI when they’re going to grill a murder suspect.  “Put ‘em in Interview 1.”  That’s usually followed by “You’re under arrest for …”, so I was more than a little nervous.

The interviewer comes in.  She’s an older lady, very prim and librarian-like, and she’s a good three inches taller than I am.  Greeeeaaaaaat.  So, I stand up to shake her hand and then the interview is underway, just like that.  She asks me how I am as she’s looking over my information and descends into the chair across from me.

It’s a form interview; she’s got a list of questions with spaces for her to write down my answers, and a few of them have blank bullet point markers.  “Tell me your three greatest …” or “How would you rank yourself on this software package on a scale of one to ten?”  That sort of thing.  She asks.  I answer.  First couple of questions, she ends up cutting me off as I’m answering.  Not rudely, mind you, but briskly.  Move along, move along.  I got what I wanted, next question.  I finally got the hint and started watching her fill out the form (she didn’t make eye contact while she was writing), and when I saw the pen stop, I made sure my mouth did too.

How’d it go overall?  Well, I was out of there in about 20 minutes.  If there’s a follow-up interview, they’ll let me know.  If there’s not going to be, they’ll tell me that too.  I leave in a bit of a tizzy and wonder how it went.  In the hard-hitting pace, I forgot to ask her for a business card.  I have no idea where to send a thank you email.  *Sigh*

So, that’s my interview, but it’s still a glimmer of hope in an otherwise dark landscape of unemployment.  If you’re the praying type, please pray for us.  We need it.

What’s up for the weekend with you guys?

-JDT-

All original content © 2009 DarcKnyt
ALL rights reserved.

15 thoughts on “Another Glimmer

  1. Getting in the door is the first step. I can’t tell you how many candidates don’t even get that far. The last time I went through applications I dismissed 88 out of 91 submissions. Those 3 got invitations to take the online personality test and only 2 got invited to interviews.

    I have a good feeling about this. 🙂

    I wish I could say the same. There was a time when I aced interviews — I knew if I got the interview, I’d get the job. Things are so incredibly different, competitive and just hard right now — I have no confidence about this situation at all. The last interview I had (the company asked to change it to a phone interview) went so well, I got COMPLIMENTS on my answers. But … nothing. So, I’d love to be upbeat about this, but I’m not going to do much more than let it be done and trust God knows what He’s doing.

  2. Having an interview is a good thing. Keeps you out there. And you never know about tests and the like. Often they’re aren’t about the actual task but how you handle the task and what you do when you don’t finish. Maybe a kind of stress test.

    Either way, probably not good. I was a little shocked by the brevity.

    But I’ve gotta say, just got to, that just because she is taller than you, doesn’t make her any meaner. I say this as a woman is 6’1″ and who often gets that “oh great” look from people.

    Never said she was “mean” … just that I immediately slip into a position of being subject because she’s looking down on me. It’s a psychological thing, and it resonates more with me because I’m short AND fat. But she wasn’t mean. Just very … I don’t know. Curt? No, not curt. She was controlling the situation is all, moving things along as if she had several others to do (which she probably did). I didn’t take it personally, but it’s always better for psychological advantage purposes if I can see the interviewer eye to eye. Her height meant that was surrendered instantly, whether I wanted to notwithstanding.

    Hurray for an interview however it goes. Good luck. Lots of positive thoughts and wishes your way.

    Thanks!

    • Oh, I know you didn’t say mean. Although she does sound kind of mean… I just had to say something because I know very well how some folks get intimidated by my height and it makes me crazy because I can’t do anything about it and I’m a huge pushover and very nice. And at the risk of encouraging a stereotype, the feeling intimidated usually only comes from men. I guess most women take being shorter as more just part of their universe. Or something. Once I had a manage transfer me out of his department because I was tall and he was short. So, you see, it touches a nerve–even though I totally understand how interviews are and how height does play a role in power and all that nonsense.

      It’s really strange. I’ve heard taller, leaner, more “beautiful” (by societal standards) people get preferential treatment — they get the jobs, the raises, the promotions. It’s just a fact of life (even though I can’t find the articles I’ve seen to save my life). And yeah, the psychological effect is weird. I’ve never been tall, so for me it’s a part of my universe too. It just didn’t help with my confidence in these matters so low. On the other hand, she seemed nice, but in a hurry.

      But obviously the height thing here doesn’t matter. What matters is that you feel better and find that job that is meant for you. Still wishing you luck!

      Thanks so much! 🙂

  3. Woo! It’s been so long since I’ve been to a job interview, but even so I remember the words I probably shouldn’t have said, the sweaty palms, the way my own voice sounds strange to me, the cool detachment on the other side of the desk…Yes, I remember it well, even though I’ve never been through a Wonderlic. But I had the same thought as Marta, that maybe the not finishing was the point, like maybe getting 101 was the best they’d seen all day. I’m happy for you, dear Knyt (and Fal, because this is hers, too), that the wheels are turning again.

    Thanks, hon. I don’t want to say the wheels are turning again — this is only the fourth interview I’ve had in almost a year. But it IS something, and I’ve learned to just move forward. 🙂

  4. Any time you get an actual interview with a real person you have bettered your chances considerably on getting the job since most places interview so few individuals anymore. Hope it goes well.

    It’s been tough and a little scary. Thanks for the well-wishes, Delaney!

  5. Hope you get the job man. A wonderful job. A job that pays oodles of money. Enough money so you can get the heck outta dodge, or whatever the saying is.

    Thanks, Bud. But … if I get the job, I can’t move. It’s a nasty-ass catch-22. I appreciate the sentiments though. 🙂

    As for my weekend. My bro and sis wanna go out to a bar tonight. I just wanna stay in, eat fried chicken and play video games. Which makes sense. They can do what they want, I can do what I want. Problem is they want me to join them. I’m just not up for “out” tonight.

    Man, fried chicken in sounds AWESOME. I think I’m with you on this one. Is your bro older or younger.

    • Can you say “Eventual relocation”? 🙂

      Interestingly, the company is relocating to the north about 15 miles. I won’t have to move before the end of the lease if I should get the job, but I probably would AFTER that depending on what’s required cost-wise. But I have to get the job first. We’ll focus on that. 😉

  6. You have no idea how much it hurts to read this. It’s 1995 and 96 all over again. Oh my word. I only had a couple of dogs to take care of in retrospect. I’m so sorry.

    Nothing to be sorry about, Sara, this is GOOD news. I’m not a stranger to being out of work for extended periods, unfortunately, but we believe our Lord and Savior is going to deliver us from the hardship which can come. So we’re okay. But thanks. 🙂

  7. What sort of work do you do?! If I had to compare numbers, or for that matter even look at numbers I’d run screaming from the building. Words, yes. Numbers, no.

    I do IT work, but this is the first time I’ve had to do this sort of assessment. Generally that’s an administrative type job assessment. For this position, it’s necessary because of analysis of data and reporting, I suspect.

    Saying prayers and keeping my fingers crossed for you!

    Thank you sweetie!

  8. I pray that this is the right job for you, and that the interviewer knows it.

    Thank you so much. 🙂

    In the past 8 years I’ve been the interviewer many times. I haven’t been an interviewee since 1999. I try to be nice to the candidates. If I can tell within the first 3 minutes of an interview that I’m not going to hire the person, I still continue the interview for a decent amount of time so that they feel they’ve been given a fair chance and they didn’t drive all this way for nothing. I also give a follow-up call to everyone I called to come in in person to tell them when someone else has been hired so that they’re not left hanging in limbo.

    That’s very thoughtful. At least they feel they’re a PERSON, worth some of your time in all of the rejection.

    It’s rough in these economic times when I get 200 applications minimum for each job posting. I can only hire one. The other 199 will be disappointed.

    I know, and both her and I acknowledged how things are. She did promise the company would let me know if they opted for someone else. A nice touch.

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

