Raw Data


raw data Well, I’m going to pick out some new markets to which to submit my rejected story today.  I hope to have those submissions finished by the end of the day.  I’m only looking at simultaneous submission markets right now, obviously, but if that doesn’t work, I might just go ‘head and publish it on my fiction blog and see what you all think of it.  Maybe you can see something wrong with it my wife and Sherri and I didn’t.

Other than that, not a lot going on.  I had a vague idea for another story floating around in my head but it was gone before I could get to a notebook and pen to jot it down.  Darn.  I hate when that happens.

Over the weekend I did what I usually do over the weekend.  Nothing.  So, now you’re all filled in there.  Feel better?

Um … lessee.  Other than that, I don’t really have much to say.  I promised Sherri I’d send her a synopsis of one of the book ideas I’ve been kicking around (a cowboy-dragon story).  I haven’t done that yet.  Sorry, Sher.  I’m not sure why I haven’t done it.  Just lazy.

I know I need to hop back onto my WsIP – editing the finished manuscript and writing the languishing one – but I haven’t done that yet.  It’s not like I’m not writing though.  I’ve done this story I’m submitting and I’ve written out some of the book stuff by hand.  Like I’ve told you all before, I sometimes have a hard time just deciding what software to use to write this stuff in.  I want the convenience of the all-in-one packages and the ease of the straight word processors and there just ain’t no middle ground on that.  That’s no excuse, though.  I gotta get up and get it done.  I will, I promise.  What else do I have to do?

Which means, of course, there’s still nothing on the job radar.

And last but not least, blogging has become … well, let’s just say it’s challenging.  I’m dry with ideas for this space, and they don’t come easy lately.  Nothing’s even broken loose from watching TV or reading your blogs.  So … hm.

What’s up with you all?

-JDT-

All original content © 2009 DarcKnyt
ALL rights reserved.

8 thoughts on “Raw Data

  1. Do I have to give you another list of ideas?

    Oh, that’s right, I forgot about that. I have to go get it and add it my other useless blog topic lists. Thanks!

  2. I think you should let WIGSF inspire you! Others as well. Maybe solicit story ideas from your adoring fans and write on demand. 🙂

    I used to have kiribans (which are little contests based on hit count) and the winner got a custom story written for them, starring them. Last time I did it, it FLOPPED. So I’ve stopped doing that. But this might have some merit. Did you have something specific in mind, D? Hmmmmm? 😉

    • Why yes, yes I do as a matter of fact.

      HAHA! I figured!

      I think you should write a story about an interview that has gone wrong…very, very wrong. :O I am sure you’d have a gazillion people who could relate to that these days! (gazillion??did I write that? i need more sleep, i think)

      Oh, D, you haven’t been paying attention to my blog, sweetie. ALL of my interviews go horribly wrong. I thought you wanted FICTION. 😉

      • You missed your calling. You should have been a comedian. Comic horror, maybe?
        So write about the interview going wrong for somebody else…not you. 😉

        Being one of the lucky 10% or so out of work has it’s advantages after all, eh? 😉

  3. Don’t add that synopsis to the list of things you “need” to write. I don’t expect it, and I don’t want you to feel pressured.

    I know how you feel about pressure, but sometimes it HELPS me. 😉 (I don’t feel pressured; I hate not delivering on promises.)

    You could blog about the writing craft; so many topics as broad or as narrow as you want. Or do you feel like you’ve said everything? For sure, blogging can suck you dry. If you need to take a week and recharge, why don’tcha?

    ‘Cause when I get back none y’all will be here! I can’t leave for a week! Honestly? It’s like heroin. I couldn’t stop if I tried now, but it’s a horrible mistress. 😉 As for the writing craft … I honestly don’t know if I have anything I can say on that. It’s not like I’m a pro or anything. I just … don’t feel qualified, y’know?

  4. I tried Liquid Story Binder XE and I’m kind of in love with it. Months ago you mentioned picking out a software to do your writing and at that point all I had ever used was a word processing program. I thought you couldn’t decided between Word, Works & Office. Hahaha. That would make you a better procrastinator than I am.

    Hehehe, no, no … if it were just simple word processing programs, I’d stick with Word. Probably.

    So far I think LSBXE is the $hit. I was trying to make something like that using Word and it was a real pain. This is so cool. (I really must not get out much.) Thanks for pointing me in this direction. I’m going to try some of the other programs, but right now I’m pretty facinated with LSBXE.

    LSBXE RAWKS. I love that program. It’s a little overwhelming sometimes, but once you get the feel for it, it’s awesome. I still use Word just for the typing, but you don’t have to use an external editor if you don’t want to. And I love the sequencing and mind map features they’ve added. AWESOME, really. Having all the research and background docs in the same environment with the writing makes life SOOOOO simple. And while you’re checking out others, check out yWriter. Very cool.

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

