Spa Day


spa So, Sunday evening I had a spa day.

I got a salt rub.  I was sprinkled with salt from head to toe, right over the top of my sweats and T-shirt.  Then, I was rubbed with a sponge.  A very sharp knife smoothed the surface of the salt, then I got hosed down in a whoosh of noise, water and spittle.  (I discreetly wiped it away.)  Afterward, a “sponge” – a plastic, Crayola-green half-circle – was loaded with soap and I got a good scrubbing … again, right over the top of my shirt, through my hair and over my stocking-clad feet.

Next came the hair cut.  That same green block transformed into a pair of shears which buzzed through my hair and over my cheeks and chin.  Then it was stuffed into the breast pocket of my shirt.  Of course it transformed back to the soapy sponge first.   You know – to clean the inside of that pocket.  Next, my heart got a rub-down.  Then my arms.  I rolled over and my back got a similar treatment.  My forearms were shaved and then I got a mud path, with the mineral goo applied liberally from the connectors of that semi-circular green block and slathered over head, chest, legs and finally face.  Very relaxing.

After being rinsed off – the whooshing rush of water sound and more spit – I experienced another dosage of salt, but this time a second coat of pepper crusted me.  The knife again – and it’s that same block, just in case you wondered – spread and smoothed the spice concoction like frosting on a cake.  I sneezed, of course, which was uproariously funny to the spa employee.  When the crust sat for a few minutes, another splashing with the hose left me refreshed and invigorated.

“Do you feel better?” she asked.

“Yes.  Yes, I do.  Very relaxed.  Mmm.  Thank you.”

“You’re welcome, Daddy.  I’m going to go play with my brother now.”

“Okay, Princess.”

She bounced out of the bedroom and I sat for about another twenty minutes, basking in a smile induced by my four year old daughter’s spa treatment.  While grateful for the spa day retreat, I gave silent thanks her favorite cartoon characters put on a backyard spa instead of building a torture chamber.  My night might’ve been very different.

What’d you do this weekend?

-JDT-

All original content © 2009 DarcKnyt
ALL rights reserved.

13 thoughts on “Spa Day

  1. I critisized my mother’s chicken. She put orange sauce on the chicken. Yuck.

    Oh, really? I’d rather like to try some chicken l’orange. Mmm.

  2. I thought this was going to be a dream you had. Much better to have been at the loving hands of your daughter.

    She’s very sweet and caring by nature. I have no idea why, but we adore it so.

    This weekend, I cleaned my bathroom and saw 2012 … both unpleasant experiences.

    AAAHAHAHAHAA! I’ll have to do to TheMovieSpoiler.com and get the low-down on 2012 now. Thanks for the heads-up!

  3. I need to get myself one of those green Crayola thingies. It sounds well worth whatever price they’re asking. So useful – more apps than the iPhone! 😉

    And all available in the wink of an eye, no 99 cent download needed! Every home should have at least one. 🙂

  4. This was wonderful! What a great spa treatment!! We had a mini family reunion that was brought on by a wise crack from a family member on FB. 🙂 Cousins even flew in on the spur of the moment! We had dinner with homeade green chile, tamales, enchilada, sopapillas…all the foods we grew up with – and this time…Us kids were playing the part of the adults and made all our own food! The traditions have passed down better than we realized! Sunday about half of us went to see A Christmas Carol in 3D. What fun! Afterwards we had a huge snowball fight in the shopping square that started with my niece and nephew. It makes me smile just remembering! Impromptu party weekends rock!

    They sure do! And WOW! Snow?! Where YOU are?! Astounding! Glad you had fun with the familials. 🙂

  5. This is the best and funniest thing I’ve read in a while! I love your kids! So freaking awesome!

    Aw, thanks sugar! We love you right back! It was big fun, that’s for sure.

  6. Got me at hello. 🙂 Great job Dane. Very sweet. I read two novels back to back. The Poet and The Narrows by Michael Connelly. Well over 1000 pages. And all I could think of is Dane is a lot scarier than this.

    Aw, thank you sweet Sara! How wonderful of you to say so. I’m blushing over here. I’ll have to find this Connelly fellow at the library if I can. But I won’t be able to match your reading speed! 🙂

    • Well if you sit on your booty for 18 hrs straight for 4 days in a row and don’t write or post poetry or play with your blog, well you know. He’s just manipulative in much the same way Alfred Hitchcock was manipulative and had you scare yourself to death without blood or a dead body. His is not particularly memorable. I read The Poet 12 years ago and I couldn’t remember one thing about it even during the second read. I read The Surgeon 6 years ago and I remember everything about it. It’s still too scary to bring in the house.

      All righty then, The Surgeon it is. 🙂

  7. I miss the spa days. Love ’em while they last.

    This is my first so far. Hope it won’t be my last, though. 😉

    I spent a lot of time with the dogs at the baseball field. And I worked. Blah.

    Ick. Working stinks. 😛 I mean … well, I need to work, want to work, am looking for work, but … well, you know.

  8. That is sweet. I like that you call your daughter princess.

    Yeah, Princess and Punkin. 🙂 When she was little(r), she started calling ME Punkin too. It must be the shape. 😉

  9. I LOVE the spa treatment! For some reason my youngest daughter loves to rub lotion on my back. Who am I to stop her? Thanks for reminding me I’m due for another massage.

    My pleasure. 🙂

    So, this weekend was very exciting because the Tooth Fairy came to visit my little spa girl. And tonight, another visit. Now she has no front teeth. It’s so darn cute. 🙂

    I know. I have no idea why toothless person is so incredibly endearing when it’s our kids. 🙂

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

