Got any Spare Changeling?


Cover of

My wife and I watched a movie this weekend called Changeling starring Angelina Jolie and John Malkovich, directed by Clint Eastwood.  I have to say, I was pretty impressed with it.

It’s based on the true story of a woman whose child is abducted from her Los Angeles area home in 1928.  Five months later, the police contact her to let her know her son is alive and has been found in De Kalb, IL.  A few days later he arrives by train.  But it’s not the same boy.

The woman objects, but is told she should take the boy home to “try him out” for a couple of weeks.  (???)  She does, but when she goes back to the police a few weeks later insisting it’s not her son, she’s institutionalized under Section 12 of a penal code which allows the police to toss anyone they find disagreeable or inconvenient in the loony bin.  With the help of a local pastor with a radio program and a lot of attention (who is, by the way, bent on rooting out the corruption of the police department and get a real law enforcement agency in place), she’s released.

The story revolves largely around her plight and the difficulties she has in getting anyone to believe her.  I won’t say how it ends, but I’ll tell you it’s only partially satisfying.

The movie sticks directly to the three-act story structure, and everything falls right in place and right on time.  It’s powerful and gripping, doesn’t drag, and is entertaining.  Not being familiar with the case, I didn’t have the ending figured out ahead of time.  (My wife, not me, paused in the middle of the movie to look the case up and get the answers.  So there.  Pbbt.)

I recommend this one.  It didn’t seem like a long movie, it’s well written and acted, and while Angelina’s looked better IMO, she did a wonderful job with this part.  A good story, good movie and intriguing case.

So, if you’ve not seen it and haven’t got anything to do some night where you’ve got two and a half spare hours laying around, check out Changeling.  It’s a good one.

See you tomorrow.  🙂

-JDT-

All original content © 2009 DarcKnyt
ALL rights reserved.

11 thoughts on “Got any Spare Changeling?

  1. But it’s Angelina Jolie. So unless there’s some lesbian nakedness, I ain’t watching.

    Even girl-on-girl wouldn’t be appealing with THIS Angelina, bud. Ick. She looked pretty bad.

  2. I have trouble taking her seriously with her huge, flotation device boobies and emaciated frame. But it did look good in the previews, and I like Clint Eastwood movies…Maybe I could give it a shot.

    No boobage in this one, and the clothing mostly hides those things anyway. Her hands are skeletal. It was creepy seeing her this way. But an excellent movie nonetheless.

  3. Will have to watch this one . . . I think it’s listed on pay-per-view right now in the world of satellite TV. Thanks for the encouraging review. I’m on it!

    –Weezel

    My pleasure! Enjoy! (I found it OnDemand for free with Comcast.)

  4. Clint Eastwood is one the top 10 directors. Thought it was excellent as well. Love the sepia scenes filmed as if you got out the box of old photographs from the box under the bed.

    It was really well done. 🙂

  5. I agree, good movie. I waited until after the movie to Google the real story though. 🙂

    And I’m not a fan of Jolie’s, but I kept thinking, she didn’t used to be emaciated, did she? Sorry, but I don’t think bones showing through your clothing are attractive.

    I’m with you. She looked terrible. Proof positive that there IS such a thing as too skinny. Ugh.

  6. Clint Eastwood movies, at least in the last 10 – 15 years or so have all been fantastic especially if he has anything to do with the writing or directing.

    I like AJ and find it troublesome that she is still going through whatever personal demons are making her abuse her body like that. Yes, actresses have to be small but not that much.

    Yeah, definitely overboard on the thin thing. She looked terrible, and it makes her look older than her years by a lot. A whole lot, actually.

    If you look up celebrities that have given back to communities, she and Brad rank in the highest percentage even with giving to foreign charities. That impresses me much more than Oprah’s one million which was among the lowest amounts given away and she is so damn rich that one million is equivalent of a shopping trip.

    I’m not into follow celebrity news or anything, and I have no problem with Brangelina in general. Oprah’s … another matter entirely. But until EITHER of them give to my favorite charity — ME — I don’t really care. 😉 (J/K)

  7. I’m shocked that Angelina Jolie could come across as unattractive. I’ve seen much older actresses look completely lovely. It’s a shame.

    It is. She’s so emaciated it’s not good — on her or anyone. 😦

    You almost had me ready to watch the movie, but I find anything over 2 hours to be a bit tiresome. Maybe it’s just my attention span… I recently did the Benjamin Button epic viewing. Hoo boy, that’s a long movie. Here’s my review: It’s Forrest Gump, except he’s aging backwards instead of being retarded.

    Oh yes, I did just say that.

    HA! Thanks! You just saved me a LOT of time. 🙂

  8. I’m not an AJ fan but I’d take her looks over my own any day. Maybe she isn’t looking great in that movie compared to a great looking AJ, but, you know, compared to us ordinary mortals, she is still up there as far as I can see. But I did not see this movie. I did hear an interview with someone familiar with the case and the changes they made in the film bothered me–though I remember being bothered by it at the time, I don’t now remember what they were, so take that for what it was worth.

    Interesting. I didn’t talk to anyone familiar with the case directly, but we looked it up on a couple of sites. I didn’t think the changes were too egregious, but that’s me.

    I have this resistance to watching Eastwood films. It is hard to explain, but I just don’t want to watch them.

    He makes good ones. You might want to lower your defenses for one of them. 😉 Just sayin’.

  9. I thought this was a very good movie, but so sad. I, too, looked up the case, but not until after I finished the movie. I thought it was interesting that the town changed it’s name to get away from the bad reputation.

    Yeah, that was interesting, wasn’t it? Very determined township.

    And as far as taking the boy home and “trying him out”, I was scratching my head, too.

    I know, wtf? o_O Like that’s going to work somehow? Yeesh.

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

