Check THIS Out


Microsoft Word

Okay, so here I am, working in Microsoft Word.

That’s right, you read me right. I’m not working in Windows Live Writer, I’m working in MS Word. And I’m posting to my blog right from Word.

I kid you not. This is one of the features of Word. I had no idea. It’s “teh awesome” as the kidz say now.

I guess it’s been a while since I did anything with a seriously current version of Word, but I have to tell you this is pretty amazing. I can get all the powerful editing features of MS Word, like its grammar check utility, its spell checker, the formatting options … and yet, I can post directly to the blog of my choice from a variety of providers. I can manage my blog accounts, insert categories, and insert pictures and other items just as with other Word documents. And it will post directly to my blog when I’m finished with the nifty little “Publish” button.

Pretty cool, no?

Now, there are other things I can see it won’t do. Such things as insert tags, or do the auto-linking which is such an integral part of my love for Windows Live Writer. But for those of us who love to post fiction and poetry on our blogs, using a late-model version of Word so you can have the editing power of a full-featured word processor and some of the capabilities of a blogging desktop client.

Pretty doggone sweet.

This isn’t going to replace WLW for me by any stretch of the imagination. Not a prayer. I have too many other things in WLW I’ve come to depend on for me to want to do that, and Word makes me work a lot harder after hitting the publishing button to get things right. But it’s a pretty cool way to get a blog post done, and if you’re someone who’s wanted the capabilities of a word processing software package to do your blogging, this might be the real deal.

Just another cool toy to play with, so I figured I’d give you all a shout-out about it.

Hope you’re having a great day.

-JDT-

17 thoughts on “Check THIS Out

  1. I wish I could track with what how you do the things with your computer. I have all that ‘stuff” on mine (just a laptop), but I have never learned how to use it all. (heck, I’ve finally mastered ‘caller ID’ on my cell!) I’ve got to broaden my knowledge…

    Aw, don’t worry about it Steve! Here’s the deal: I was perusing the templates in Word and ran across this one. I’d been using a version of Office which was about seven years old. I figured I’d better get cracking on an upgrade. I got hold of a newer version, and was exploring it when I ran across the blog post template. The software did the rest. Walked me through setting up the connection to my blog, prompted me for username and password, and connected all by its lonesome. Still has some weak spots, but it’s fast and easy. πŸ™‚ HTH!

    • “fast and easy!” … now that’s exactly what the doctor ordered! πŸ™‚

      If it ain’t got those, it ain’t got me. πŸ˜‰

  2. Which version of Word? I had no idea. Huh, wonder what else I don’t know.

    It’s in 2007 versions and above. Blogging wasn’t a big deal in 2003, which is the last version prior to the ’07 suite. πŸ™‚

  3. It seems pretty obvious to me.
    Word, Windows Live Writer; both Microsoft products, right?

    Well, yes, but separate and independent products. WLW isn’t under the developmental wing of the Office suite.

    These days, Microsoft products are well, sorta modular, if you know you’re way around Visual Studio. Existing programs share a lot of common functions, why code it twice? Let’s say Microsoft makes a “Publish to blog” function. The guys working on Word decide to implement use of that function in Word. As for the guys working on WLW, well, that’s sorta the whole point of WLW, to publish to blogs, right?

    That’s true, and integration of the function into Word is a logical step (probably integrated into Outlook too, if they’re smart. People want to be able to blog from their phones, email and desktop, so they’d better think about making it possible PDQ if it isn’t now). But they left out some key blogging features which would’ve been nice to have; those things are in WLW, so it’s hardly a replacement.

    A few years ago, when Microsoft launched Vista and related programs, Office, Visual Studio and a couple others. I attended the Canadian launch. I went to this demonstration where Word documents where being created on the fly, programatically without actually having to open the whole Word application. The demonstrator quickly coded some software to access functions of Word to make documents. I’ve done similar programs with Excel documents. I’ve got a program floating around on a disk somewhere where I make and maintain a spreadsheet without actually having to open Excel.

    This was the big deal about the functionality of VB/VBA integration with Office several years ago. It’s been carried through at least into Office 2007, with subtle changes, and of course all the objects within the application are available to Microsoft programming languages in VS. So yeah, I can see this. And I’ve done similar stuff where I’ve had one application create and update an object in another. It’s fun. πŸ™‚

    And it’s very simple. I’m not some uberprogrammer, especially with VB, but the ease at which I could incorporate Excel into my little application was amazing. And I was using Excel 2000, not even a recent version.

    The VBA behind the Office suite hasn’t changed much; I think the last version I experimented with was still based on VB6. It might be updated now, but it hadn’t been in the 2003 suite.

  4. I tried it on Word but it didn’t work, but I think that’s because it couldn’t find some file on my blog because I put it in the wrong place when I installed it to my site. BUT–I just downloaded LiveWriter, and WOW I had no idea what I was missing. I didn’t know it was free so never looked into it before today. So glad you posted this and prompted me to get with the program. πŸ™‚

    Ha! Get it? “Get with the PROGRAM”? Live Writer is a program … aw, forget it. But now that you’ve used it, you’re going to be horribly hooked on it forever! And you know what else? You can download a Twitter add-on so when you publish your post a Twitter update is sent to notify your followers of the blog post. Get THAT going and see how you like it. πŸ™‚

  5. *yawn* (laughing)

    MS has been working on various Office products for so long, I’d hope they’d do a pretty good job by now. But there’s always something, isn’t there?

    I don’t really mean to knock them. Have used their software for years, after all, and it’s hard to imagine a world in which that software doesn’t exist at all. Still, I can’t believe how much simpler my (home) computing life instantly became when I switched to *nix — and no less fulfilling, at that!

    (And yes, I say that even after my experiences of the last week.)

    Now if I could just lure The Missus over… Naaaaaaah. πŸ™‚

    Your technology woes are in a long line of those I’ve heard over the years, which is what keeps me on MS, for the moment at least. Being too cowardly to venture boldly where few have gone before, and not being technically savvy enough to fix broken *nix should I have to, and not having the bells and whistles I’ve come to love so dearly, I’m sort of stuck. You know … ’cause I’m a sissy. πŸ˜‰

  6. I tried blogging through Word last winter, but I didn’t like that I still had to go to my Dashboard to add tags. Plus, all that Microsoft gobbledygook that shows up when I looked at my posts in html, worried me that some browsers might have fits with the display. My solution is to write my posts in Word, copy and paste them to New Post in my WP Dashboard and then open a New Blog Post in Word and paste there so I can save it in my WordPress/Published folder.

    Hmmm, yeah. Oh well, it works for me.

    Well, long as it works for you … but, uh … sounds complicated. I don’t think I’d remember all the steps, but that’s me. πŸ™‚

    But I didn’t know about LiveWriter so I think I’ll go check that out. Uh-oh, I think I’m distracting myself from writing again.

    WLW rocks, is free, and LOVES Word. My recommendation? Write the post in Word as usual, save to the folder you like to keep them in (otherwise you can save the post as a Draft in Live Writer, but they get cumbersome after a while). Then copy/paste into Live Writer, add categories/tags, hit the Publish button, done. WLW and Word LOVE each other, so no issues with gobbledygook; Live Writer cleans it right up.

    • Uh … but isn’t this what I do with Word and the Dashboard now? Am I missing some advantage to using pasting into LiveWriter rather than the Dashboard?

      I don’t know. Pasting from Word into the dashboard means all the gobbledygook comes too. If you look at the HTML tab, you’ll see it there. Unless I’m doing it wrong, which is entirely possible. Live Writer makes the junk palatable with WordPress. There may be no advantage, and I don’t know if Live Writer’s draft folder becomes unwieldy, but I thought I’d toss it up for your consideration. What you’re doing works, so why mess with it? πŸ™‚

      Still, I think you’ll like the ease of Live Writer. πŸ™‚

      • Ah, I see. You must be trying copy and paste from the blog post template. If you write your post in a basic Word doc first and copy that, it pastes clean.

        No, I was actually copying from Word in a version which didn’t have the blog post template. I haven’t done anything with the new version on the blog until today. Maybe I’m just goofy? πŸ™‚

        But I did install LW and will play with it.

        I’m sure you’ll enjoy it. My wife is an expert with it; if you need help you can ask her. She’s probably got the answer. πŸ™‚

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

