A New Rejection Form


All right, I don’t expect to win any popularity contests with my winning personality and charm. I’m pretty open and blunt and those things don’t make friends and influence people. I’m pretty cynical and jaded, too, and those things don’t make for someone others want to cuddle up with. I understand that, and in recent years I’ve mellowed as much as I twitter_blockcan. Time will mellow me further, I’m sure, and like a good wine, I might continue to get better. (Or just turn to vinegar. We’ll see.)

At the same time, I don’t expect someone who’s never had any conflict with me, never met me, never had any communication with me of any kind, in any way, in any circumstance, to have a problem with me.

Does that seem unusual? Is that unreasonable? I expect to have problems with people who know me. The better they know me, the larger a problem they’re likely to have with me. I know that, I accept that. If we do happen to be friends, it may just be a matter of time before I tick you off or offend you or insult you. Okay, I’m aware of that. But for someone to take a distaste for me and display it electronically without ever talking to me before having an issue with me?

Well, I’ll leave it at “I’m baffled.”  And I know it’s me, because the same person doesn’t seem to have a problem with my wife.

It’s worse than what I’m painting here too, because this person is respected around the Internet within the publishing industry. It’s a literary agent, actually. And that scares the holy crap out of me. I’ve managed to blacklist myself with someone in the industry already and I haven’t even finished my first manuscript yet.

I’m doing my best not to panic, but I can’t figure out what I’ve done to make this person angry, especially in this arena of electronic communication. Did something spam from out of my account I wasn’t aware of? Did I inadvertently broadcast something negative? Did I accidentally offend with something I’ve said?

Oh, it all harkens back to Linda’s “be careful what you say on the Internet!” post. I’m sure I didn’t do anything directly to that person, and I’ve never, to my knowledge, mentioned this person by name in any electronic way. Maybe I complained about the agent/gatekeeper process one too many times. Maybe they think it’s offensive that I feel the way I do about them. Whatever the case I can’t find out because somewhere, somehow, this person has banished me electronically. I only found out by trying to connect with them. That’s it. I had no idea until I tried. Others can, and one Facebook friend suggested they were being “pre-emptive”. Gracious, really?  What the heck?!

Oh well. Too late now. I wonder if I should reach out find out what’s wrong? On the other end of that, however – I’m blocked, so I can’t.

Interesting, no?

-JDT-

All original content © 2009 DarcKnyt
ALL rights reserved.

19 thoughts on “A New Rejection Form

  1. That would make me crazy Darc. I would have to try to find out what happened. A reasonable person would at least offer an explanation. If you do manage to get a hold of him/her, and no explanation is offered then at least you know what kind of person you’re dealing with, and chances are you aren’t his/her first victim.

    Well, the problem is, this person doesn’t know me from Adam. If they blocked “DarcKnyt”, I don’t think I have any way to get through to them. *Sigh* I’ve considered emailing them, but I think the unsolicited email would probably just hit a spam filter and be gone. It’s a tough thing, and it IS driving me crazy! 😉

    • You may have already mentioned this, but how do you know if you are blocked? Do you receive a notification or do you just not see them on your following list anymore?

      For me it happened when I tried to follow them. I wasn’t following them before; went to their page and tried, and promptly got a little drop-down saying “This user has blocked you from following them” or similar. I couldn’t believe it.

  2. I still think you’re overreacting to the blockedness of your Twitter persona. I’ve accidentally blocked, hidden, ignored, and removed people from almost every one of my various social media accounts, and I’m certain that’s what has happened here. I certainly think you could email the agent and say that he/she must have accidentally blocked you, and can you please follow her. I doubt agents block bloggers based on simple opinion. If you had attacked that specific agent then maybe…but you haven’t.

    No, haven’t attacked a specific agent. Haven’t even had a harsh word about an agent, or agents in general beyond my disillusionment with the system. So…wtf?

    Or, you could just shrug and forget about it. Plenty of other agents with good advice.

    I know, and you’re right. Problem is, I know agents speak to each other and I don’t want to have this screen name smeared or blacklisted — only to have my pen name or real name blacklisted with it, all for something I did or wrote which I can’t even bring to awareness. Maddening, I tells ya!

  3. Ahhh…is it just a Twitter thing? Well then in that case I’d have to agree with Sherri. I’ve been “unfollowed” for no apparent reason too. I’m not sure if I’ve been blocked because I’ve never checked, but I know I could very easily make a mistake and block somebody because I am so tweet challenged.

    Well, yes … it IS just Twitter, and I don’t mind being blocked really. I’m more concerned about being defamed in the industry. It’s the “why” of the blocking causing me to rock in the corner and mutter and laugh, that’s all.

  4. I agree with Sherri too. It is probably a random thing and has nothing to do with anything you’ve said here or wherever. The danger you run in trying to find out is conforming that you are a stalker type–if that is what they were worried about in the first place. I doubt you are blacklisted. After all, I’ve no way to know who anyone else has blocked. It is most likely an unfortunate mistake. And there are other agents.

    Oh, I don’t think I’d betray myself as a stalker by trying to find out what happened. I simply haven’t had any contact with this individual. They have THOUSANDS of followers. I’m just confused how I got singled out. The question of why is the thing driving me insane.

    Who knows. Maybe I’m blocked from some agent too but don’t know it because I haven’t tried to follow any.

    Hm. There’s a thought — don’t follow them. Heh.

    Besides, you don’t want to follow someone who would block you!

    True. But I DO want to know why someone in the industry with no contact with me at all would block me in the first place. Hey, if there’s a legitimate reason, block away. But if not, why’d you do it? WHYYYYYYYY???!!

  5. Face it dude, people just don’t like you. I don’t even know you and you’re already getting on my nerves. hehehe

    Oh, that’s just the Dry Sicilian you ate the other night talking. I know you don’t REALLY mean it. Everyone knows you just can’t quit me, WIGSF.

  6. I wouldn’t worry too much about it; of course I don’t worry about too much anyway. Like mapelba said, there are others if this character has his/her ‘panties in a wad’.

    You know, that’s pretty doggone good advice Steve. And a pretty good philosophy for life, if I may say so. 🙂

  7. Twitter? I think it is accidental. Why would a literary agent want to keep from having their opinions read? If they are any good it is only bringing up the quality of submissions. Must be an oversight or a faux agent. Yep.

    Well, it’s not that this person wants to keep their opinions from being read, it’s that they don’t want ME to be able to read their opinions. Why? I DON’T KNOW!! THAT’S WHAT’S KILLING ME HERE! 😉

    Could be an accident, but if you’re familiar with Twitter at all, how the heck do you “accidentally” block someone?

  8. I’m so twitter challenged that I wouldn’t even know I was blocked in the first place.
    You may need to find techno-geeks for this one!

    Oh, it’s not a techie thing, it’s someone doing something either incidentally or intentionally.

  9. I agree, it was probably a mistake. I commented on a blog not so long ago without realizing I was essentially insulting a very well-known agent … and she saw and responded to my comment! But she didn’t block me from following her on Twitter.

    So what’s THIS person’s issue? I mean, I can see doing that — you know, I voice an opinion about the industry and agents and how they do what they do, blah blah, I don’t mean to but I end up insulting them, and BLAMMO! I’m blocked on Twitter? o_O

    However, like you, it would bug me until I knew for sure why I was blocked. So just ask.

    I’d love to, but all my electronic presences — email, Twitter, this blog, my OpenID, etc. — ALL carry the “DarcKnyt” name. I’d have to send an email or follow the Twitter account under a different name just to get close enough to ask!

  10. Actually, you don’t have to be following her, or her following you, to send @ messages. You could start doing random tweets – “I can’t figure out why @soandso blocked me! Anyone have any ideas? Did I offend her somehow? Was it an accident?” Do that often enough and you’ll get her attention.

    Heh. Yeah … not ALL attention is GOOD attention, as you should know from our son. 😉

    • But if you block somebody, that makes it so you don’t see any of their tweets, I think.

      Mm … I think I can’t see their tweet stream, but they can still see any @ messages with their name on it. But what do I know? 🙂

      • Well no, not really – If I blocked you, blocking makes it so that you can’t see my tweets. I could still see yours if I was still following you, unless YOU blocked ME.

        You can’t direct message with someone if there’s not a mutual follow.

        So this person has blocked Darc – all that means is that she’s not permitting him to see her tweets. She can still see his (all of his if she were following him, which she’s not) but she will see anything anyone tweets with her @name on it.

  11. Knyt

    I would not worry to much about it. Write what you want and be yourself. Your writing is imaginative and colorful, if someone wants to block you then F’ um (scuse the langauge) there is a publisher out there that will pick you up as writer. Then you can tell the person or persons that blocked you…to BITE ME. Keep on keepin on…you WILL GET THERE I KNOW IT….Zman sends

    Thanks for the encouraging words, Zman! Hope you had a great TG too. 🙂

  12. Some people are very easily offended. Who knows why this person decided to reject you. Probably no good reason. I don’t think it’s worth worrying about. Other people in the literary business won’t automatically agree with them just because they work together. In fact, in close-knit industries, everyone knows who the crazies are and who to take with a grain of salt. So just flip them the bird, and be yourself.

    HAHA! Get it?! Twitter? The bird? Woo! Good one, Spark! Love it! And thanks for the vote of confidence. I really appreciate it. I hope she’s made a mistake, but if not, I certainly hope I haven’t caused a problem without meaning to. Thanks again!

  13. “I’ve managed to blacklist myself with someone in the industry already and I haven’t even finished my first manuscript yet.”

    HAHA! That right there is over-achieving.

    ROFL! Thanks, hon! Never thought of it that way. 🙂

    I don’t twitter, I haven’t the time or desire to keep up with it.

    It can be fun. Or annoying, like in this case. 😦

  14. Just joined Twitter and started following you.
    What you write in this post would drive me crazy if it happened to me. Any updates?
    Hugs from a virtual friend across the oceans!!

    Aw, thanks Damyanti, and hugs right back over the oceans! No, no change. But I’ve stayed away from the person’s page since then, too. I’m happy you’re following along with me! But be warned! I’m pretty boring. 🙂

  15. hmmm i mean I have totally gotten my fair share of hate mail…but what can I say…you either love someone or you don’t. And for me, I am a fan of you! 🙂

    Aw, thanks hon! I’m a fan of yours too!

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

