Blog Experiment One


Do you know what you’re reading? You’re reading a post I made for my blog with Microsoft Office OneNote.

I’ve been hearing about this OneNote thing for a long time. Supposedly, it’s a real boon to students, who can take intuitive style notes and drop images, web links, all sorts of things like that right in, anywhere they want.

So, I can leave ALL this white space around what I’m working on and position stuff just so, all without having to worry about the program making me jump through any sort of properties hoops or any of that.

Really, it’s pretty cool.

Then again, you guys know me. I’m a software sleaze-ball. I’ll do ANY software if it’s cool enough, and this OneNote thing’s pretty cool. I can see applications for linear thinking, or for making templates and notes for new novel ideas, story outlines … almost anything a writer needs to do except, maybe, for the actual writing.

So, you know I’m a happy camper.

-JDT-

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
12 thoughts on “Blog Experiment One

  1. But Microsoft is evil. It’s evil I tell you. EEEEEE-VVVVVVVVIIIIIIILLLLL!

    I just want attention.

    It’s okay, we all see you. And yes, Microsoft IS evil — well, their licensing practices are anyway. πŸ™‚

    • Microsoft helps to pay my bills… I’m a Microsoft-whore πŸ˜€

      Yep, I grew up in technology under the loving hand of Uncle Bill too. My only problem is, aside from their prices of course, when I actually buy a software package (haven’t done that in many, many years though), I want to OWN the software, not RENT the software. I want to install it as many times as I want to, on as many computers as I own, as many times as necessary when things like re-imaging become necessary, and not have this imposed limit. I paid HUNDREDS OF DOLLARS for it, it’s MINE, so Microsoft REALLY needs to re-evaluate their licensing practices and figure out a better solution. Just my opinion, but it’s one shared by a LOT of people. πŸ™‚

  2. You keep adding new things to try faster than I can figure out the old stuff! I’ll add it to the list.

    I think you’ll like it for the layout capabilities, Jaymie. And it CAN post to the blog, but it has to go through Word’s blog template to do so — won’t post directly. So if you’re not using a current (2007) version of Word it may not work. Still, it’s an amazing note-taking application. πŸ™‚

  3. I loooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooove One Note πŸ™‚ I use it to keep all the project documentation and/or notes for my customers in one place. I just wish I could get the guys I work with to use it and life would be all happy. They’re afraid of anything new and despise change. Oh well, I won’t have to deal with that much longer πŸ˜‰

    Glad you found a software program that gives you a warm fuzzy!

    I find a LOT of ’em that do, sweetie. It’s finding a MICROSOFT product which does that’s the challenge. πŸ˜‰

  4. I wonder how OneNote would work with notes/chapters/drawings for a book? Does it have that kind of organizational capability? Guess I could try it out, at least for 60 days.

    Yes it does! You can create a notebook for each book you want to work with, add text, images, clips of web pages, and LOTS of other stuff to it, right on the page. You click where you want to type and type; that’s it. It builds a little text box right there for you. You can have a page of notes, a page of images, a mix of both, a page for the plot, a page of collected scenes which appear in your head — and because I know you like non-linear work patterns, you can move those text boxes around all over the page so re-ordering your scenes is a snap! This is MEANT for folks like you, sweetie!

  5. Hmm, I have it on my PC and I love softwares but I’m just too lazy to try something new, haha! I’m sticking to Blogspot’s mediocre worksheet lol!

    It wasn’t the BEST tool to use for blogging but it helps gather things in one place. As a student you should give it try, sweetie; you may find it useful for research projects and such. πŸ™‚

  6. I’m with Jaymie! I just barely mastered the caller ID on my cell phone!

    ROFL! Okay, well — bookmark these and come back when you feel more tech-savvy, Steve! πŸ™‚

  7. This is clearly not experiment “one.” You’ve been experimenting since you first started this blog. πŸ™‚

    Aw, ya caught me. πŸ™‚

    Oh, and Microsoft sucks.

    Evernote + OpenOffice 4 ever!

    Ah, I knew I’d draw the OpenSource crowd out of hiding recommending a Microsoft product. Heh. I’ll check Evernote out, but don’t hold your breath, and DUDE, Office 2007/2010 kicks OpenOffice’s BUTT. They can’t compete anymore. πŸ˜‰

    • The only thing I like better about MS Word is the outline view.

      I hate the new ribbon. I hate the way MS handles styles (So much easier in OO). There’s even a free grammar checker plugin for OO.

      THE. RIBBON. ROCKS. Period. I have spoken. πŸ˜‰ What styles are you talking about? MS can do styles in RINGS around OO, IM(ns)HO, and they preview without clicking. Awesome. Having said that, I used OO for about 15 minutes, and TEN OF THAT was waiting for it to load, so I could be wrong here. πŸ™„

      *confession* That all being said, I use Live Writer for posting. *end confession*

      Live Writer’s awesome AND free. OO can’t say that; free, yes, awesome … not so much. πŸ˜‰

  8. I am still waiting on my (free by the way πŸ™‚ ) upgrade for Win7. Had to jump through all sorts of hoops since I bought my computer from the brand’s website and the upgrade is coming from a 3rd party that isn’t too much of a party if you ask me. I look forward to seeing if this goes better than Vista.

    It will, I guarantee it. Hell, NO operating system would work better than VISTA. UGH.

    Biggest problem was they were fighting with me on “proof of purchase” and wouldn’t except my printed out receipt as a good enough POP!!! I had to go through their company, the parent company and the support people set aside to deal with the Win7 upgrades. I am in their danged system since I bought it online and I am a registered customer. The eventually sent me an electronic receipt/POP that the 3rd party would take though I was emailed the dumb thing yet they couldn’t attach a copy or cc it to me and the separate support branch. I had to forward it to them, they then sent it on to the 3rd party group!!

    Good grief!! “Free” doesn’t mean too much when you have to work THAT hard for it! That’s — NOT FREE at ALL, actually!

    Make sense??? No??? Didn’t for me either and I was the one dealing with this crap. I think they did it to save on cost of the software for the people that got too frustrated to keep messing with it.

    Not me, software is MINE, dang it after all and I WANT it!!

    HECK YEAH! GO GET ‘EM DELANEY!

    I’m tenacious like that. Just part of my overall charm don’t ya’ know?

    Glad you got to get warm and fuzzy with this now if we can just get your hits up or find another strange search term then you would be in computer heaven πŸ™‚

    Ha! Thanks, Delaney, and Merry Christmas and happy New Year to you and yours. πŸ™‚

  9. Microsoft is evil, but glad your experiment is working. Keep us posted!
    -V

    *S.I.G.H.!!!* Microsoft’s NEW PRODUCTS ROCK. They’re LICENSING practices are evil. C’mon, people, let’s get this right here! πŸ˜‰

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

