Another One Down


Happy-Birthday-01 Well, another year is behind me. And despite my circumstances, there wasn’t a lot of contemplation about who I am, where I should be, why I didn’t get there, and what I’ll do differently as I approach the 45th year marker of my life. That’s quite something. Over the last several years, my birthday more than the holidays and New Year brings with it a sense of reflection. None of it’s ever good, either. So it was a bit of a relief to wake up and realize my kids were a LOT more excited than I was about my birthday, my wife was willing to let me be spoiled, and I really didn’t have anything to complain about. I can usually find something, if I want, but what the heck. It’s always possible to have it worse, I suppose, no matter how much better it could be. Thinking about it wouldn’t make it different. Being angry or depressed won’t change my circumstances, and while I can’t always push things aside and forget them, I was able to do that yesterday.

I got some very nice birthday wishes from many of you, and if I didn’t thank you where and when you made them, let me thank you now. I so appreciate all of you and the gifts you’ve been to me. God bless you.h-birthday_thm

Other than that, I really don’t have much to say today. I’ve got a lot of work to do on a project I’ve had on my plate for way longer than I should have, so I won’t be posting any tomes as I usually do. And if I’m not around commenting on your blogs very often, please forgive me. I’ve really got to get busy on this thing and time is a precious commodity, especially when January will have to bring renewed efforts on my job search. Be patient; I’ll be back when I can.

Thanks for all your support and caring. I appreciate it, and all of you. I hope your holiday was happy, blessed, and filled with the warmth and love only rivaled in Courier and Ives prints. 🙂

-JDT-

All original content © 2009 DarcKnyt
ALL rights reserved.

13 thoughts on “Another One Down

  1. Happy Birthday from one December babe to another. Glad yours was good and hope that Christmas was as well.

    Here is to hoping that the Job Fairy visits soon as well. 🙂

    Thank you Delaney! Our Christmas was loving and happy if not abundant. Hope yours was all you hoped and more, and thank you for the Job Fairy wish. 😉

  2. Dude, you’re old.

    Eh? Whassat? Speak up!

    Oh, you couldn’t hear me. I guess along with your youth, your hearing is no longer with you.

    YOU OLD!

    OH, yeah. Duh. So?

    So, remember, eat your prunes and take a nap if you’d like to stay up long enough to catch Lawrence Welk.

    They don’t air Lawrence Welk anymore, dagnabit! MAAAAATLOCK!

  3. Hey, Happy Birthday. I’ve been away from computers for the past 5 days, so I must have missed it.

    You didn’t miss much, Bryce. Thank you. My post erroneously says yesterday, but I wrote it on Sunday. My birthday was Saturday. 🙂

  4. Happy Birthday, you young un! A lot of celebrations in such a short time! Wow! I can barely handle one at a time. Reflection is fine but sometimes highly over-rated. Keep your eyes ahead on the prize. God has his inheritance in store for you. Truly!

    Amen, Berna. I sure could use a little spending cash now, though. 😉

    I wish for you all the time and tools you need for your project. I too have some professional stuff I have to finish now. Somehow this brief hiatus will feed into that effort. I hope that works for you too.

    I hope so too! Good luck with your projects, and God bless! You’ve certainly been a blessing for us. 🙂

  5. I said it before elsewhere but it is worth saying again–Happy Birthday. May your next year keep your family safe and happy and bring you luck and what you need.

    Thank you so much. It’s a lovely sentiment. 🙂

  6. I just have a few months left on 45. It’s been nice, I’ve spent the past year being 45 rather than contemplating 45 – highly recommend. 😉 Hope that your project goes smoothly and that January brings new opportunities for all of us that sitting in uncertainty. Blessings to you and yours Darc, tons of blessings.

    Thank you Jaymie, and I hope the new year brings all the happiness and joy you can manage too! God bless. 🙂

  7. I don’t know what to do with the positive thinker you’ve become! So glad you had a great birthday. I hope you have security in the coming year. You already have a lot of love and support, especially right in your own home. 🙂

    LOL! Give the positive thinking time, sweetie; I don’t think I can sustain that all the time. But you’re right — all the love and support I need comes right here at home. Having the love and support of all of you is such a huge blessing and bonus. 🙂

    You go ahead and work on that project. Take some time off if you need to. You rarely take time off from the blog so I’m spoiled, but I’ll be here when you go back to regular scheduled programming. *hugs*

    I know, I’m a little disconcerted at the thought of not blogging, but I have to set the priorities. Maybe I can blog about my progress? I’m still not sure about confidentiality though. But I’ll see where that goes. 🙂

  8. I’m sorry about your job situation, but hopefully 2010 will bring good things for you and your family. I know it sounds lame but you all are in my thoughts and prayers for what it’s worth.

    That’s not lame at all, Steve, it’s very thoughtful and MUCH appreciated. We like thoughts and prayers around here. 🙂 Thank you for the support. We know God is about a work, but we don’t know what or when it will come about. Thanks for being willing to go to Him on our behalf. All the best to you too!

  9. A very Happy Birthday to you…this is going to be your year….you know how the chinese name their years…well this is going to be the year of THE KNYT…..gonna get some stuff published and going to find that exciting challenging job..i know it i can feel it….okay i dont know if i can feel it..but i can sense it…..zman sends

    Thank you Steve! Hope you and yours had a wonderful, joyous and blessed Christmas!

  10. Belated Happy Birthday!! Sorry I missed it…too busy lazing on my holiday I guess 😦

    And a very Happy New Year to you and your loved ones!!

    And to you and yours too, Damyanti! Don’t fret about the birthday. I almost missed it myself. Only my children were excited about it. 😉 Glad you had a restful vacation!

  11. Maybe the jobfairy.com site can be of help. Yes, I know it’s kind of pink, but it might be useful. Hope that helps and good luck with the search, Sunny

    Thank you very much, Sunny! I’ll check it out! I’m glad you stopped by and I hope you had a joyous holiday season!

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

