Mirror, Mirror


mirrors_movie_poster This past weekend I watched a horror movie called Mirrors.

Mirrors is a supernatural thriller sort of movie starring Keifer Sutherland and some other people I can’t recall and don’t care about. (You might though. 😉 ) It’s a remake of an older movie I know nothing about. Now you know as much about the movie as I do. Aren’t you glad?

Anyway, the movie opens with a pretty nice hook. If you’re not into gore, it’s not a great scene, but it’s tense and leaves the viewer intrigued. Then Keifer comes on screen and we have a whole other set of things to remember and deal with. He’s a psychologically damaged cop on medication to help him overcome alcoholism. He and his wife are separated. There’s a lot of stuff going on there, but that’s all I want to say about the sub-text.

The plot is interesting. Things in the mirror are closer than they appear, and they’re not what they appear, either. Whatever is back there is in search of someone named Esseker, which at first glance looks like it might be a mirror-image of another word. It’s not. Turns out Esseker is a former victim of the mirror monsters. and it’s Keifer’s job to find Esseker and turn them over to the mirrors before they claim his family.

The dizzying, frustrating feeling Sutherland’s character portrays is done well. And the viewer could actually pull for him. This is a man willing to sacrifice another human being to save his family. The inner demons he must mirrors_1overcome to achieve his objective include his own psychosis, self-doubt, and the pills he’s taking. He also has to find this Esseker, convince someone – his wife, actually – to believe him, and figure out why a dead man would send him a FedEx package. He has to figure out what the mirrors want before they get his family, and he has to convince someone who escaped the mirrors to come with him and surrender themselves to him.

The ending was rushed, period. Those are a lot of things to overcome, after all, and the movie might’ve benefitted from more time to develop those things. The responses the characters give is realistic and I thought normal. The climax was … well, climactic. And the ending, in the spirit of good fiction, saw the resolution of the story lines.

Overall, I give this one a B+. Not great, but not bad. And considering the genre? Well, I’ll just say I was pleasantly surprised.

If you get a chance to see it, go ahead and do so. (Don’t pay for it, though.) And once again, there is a bit of a gore factor to be aware of.

-JDT-

All original content © 2009 DarcKnyt
ALL rights reserved.

15 thoughts on “Mirror, Mirror

  1. We watched it… we were pleasantly surprised, but you’re right, the ending was rushed. It left me feeling… unsure, and completely threw the movie off for me, I was enjoying it, but when they made it clear he was now dead, and the credits rolled… all I was thinking was “wtf?! that’s it?” Mind you, the bath tub scene left me feeling nauseous, and uncomfortable.

    I don’t know that he was dead. That’s the kicker; we know he’s trapped but he might be alive.

    We’ve been debating going to check out Sherlock Holmes, or Avatar this week, still undecided.

    Sherlock Holmes will be cool; Avatar has too many humans-are-always-evil undertones for me. 🙂

  2. Thanks for the gore warning. I can handle a little, as long as I have time to get over one incident before they throw another one in there. And I love Keifer.

    There isn’t a lot of gore, but two strong scenes, spaced well apart. I think you could handle it. 🙂

  3. Sounds like a good movie, I will have to check it out. The more gore the better I say. Thanks for the info!!

    You’re welcome. Couple of gory scenes, but not bad. (I’m old school horror; “gore” isn’t “horror”, it’s gore.)

  4. Oh, and now I’m singing that old country song which shares your title. Brooks and Dunn? No, found it…Rio Diamond. I love that song. No gore.

    Rio Diamond? Sounds like Neil Diamond and Duran Duran had a love child. 😉

  5. We watched this a few months ago on either HBO or Showtime and it was okay but not a movie I would watch again.

    I haven’t seen many I’d watch more than once, frankly, but yes, I agree.

    The ending sucked as far as I’m concerned. I know that happy endings aren’t necessarily going to happen every time in fiction or in real life. It just seemed mean to end it that way after all that family goes through, as if they didn’t have problems prior to the new job.

    Very true, but some of the best fiction involves the hero not necessarily obtaining his goal, or obtaining it at a high cost. This one falls into the latter category. Good fiction doesn’t always offer something positive. 🙂

    I read Pet Cemetery and had the same sort of reaction to the ending. I screamed and threw the book across the room. I wanted to do that at the ending of this movie.

    Pet Sematary was great just because of that, though. King did get the emotional reaction he wanted from you. 😉

  6. I prefer my movies to have no gore, unless it’s a medical drama. I will happily watch surgery on Grey’s Anatomy, but I don’t like violent gore.

    Not sure I can recommend this one to ya then, Sparky. 🙂

  7. Love Keifer, but not so much the gore. I’m willing to overlook the blood and guts if Brad Pitt happens to be one of the costars though. Let me know if you remember. 😀

    Nope, no Bradley. Sorry. 🙂

  8. Haven’t seen this — actually, haven’t seen The Hills Have Eyes, either, although I seem to remember that was recently remade under the original name, too??? You made a pretty good case for this — especially allowing for your avowed cynicism about movie plotlines. It’s always good, even if we know (sorta) how it’s going to turn out, if the filmmakers have at least made the story “in the telling” as the expression goes.

    I’ll have to rummage through your archives — have you ever done a post on the general topic of gore in horror? I’ve never taken to it (anything involving torture, especially), but I am often lucky or unlucky enough that I can sort of distance myself from it, pretend that it’s just cartoonish, and focus on the other elements. But again, I never ever seek it out.

    (The Missus got me both Kill Bill films for Christmas. Talk about cartoonish violence. And talk, for that matter, about other elements to focus on. Ha!)

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

