What Do You Think?


barber-scissor-8 A little while back, I did a post about the 80s and some of the horrible things I saw in them. But in retrospect, not everything was bad.

So I need a haircut. Desperately. And I’ve been thinking about how unhappy with my hair I’ve been over the last … oh, I don’t know … 15 years or so? maybe? And that set me to thinking about my hair in the 80s.

When I started actually keeping my hair groomed, or coifed, I guess, I found I liked my 80s hair. We’re talking about circa ‘87, and thereafter. Maybe ‘86, but I think more so in ‘87 and later. I tried a lot of stuff – my hair grew really fast then – and I have to say I spent quite a bit of money on hairdos. Or hairdon’ts, I suppose.

But I’ve been missing my haircuts from the 80s lately. I want the ease of care which came with them. I could spend almost no time grooming in the morning and still have consistent, well-behaved hair.

shears I’m older now and don’t get to experiment with my haircuts as much anymore. It’s hard to find someone who cuts my hair just the way I like it, too. And I don’t have the hair I had in my 20s, obviously. It’s grayer now, more wiry, more unruly. But I still think, from time to time, about having someone cut my hair the way I wore back in the day and see. Just see. I mean, worst case scenario it’s a dated haircut. It’ll grow out eventually. I just don’t know if I can find anyone to do it my way anymore. I don’t know if I can remember what it was, how to describe it, and no pictures of me from that time exist now.

What do you think? Are haircuts transient, only functional for their time, or could I get away with a modified 80s haircut today?

Let me know. And if you’re interested in making a donation to help me pay for a coif, let me know that too. (J/K.)

-JDT-

All original content © 2009 DarcKnyt
ALL rights reserved.

 

18 thoughts on “What Do You Think?

  1. You can have whatever hairdo you want and feel comfortable with and the heck with everyone else. Your head bud, go for it though pleeeese NO mullets. 🙂

    Aw, but I WANT a mullet! 😉 And weren’t ALL guys cuts in the 80s a modified mullet, really?

    Hubby has one style, short and I use clippers on him and do it at home. He hasn’t paid for a haircut in 4-5 years. I can do a mean buzz cut, let me tell ‘ya.

    My beloved has offered to buzz me. I do my son’s hair that way, but he looks great with hair that short. Me, not so much.

    I’m just as bad. At 55 my hair is getting way, way too thin especially for a woman so I keep it extremely short and spiky since the thinness is less noticeable with short hair instead of long hair. Got to admit I love the ease of wash -n- go hair. 🙂

    If it works for you and you like it, hell with ’em I say. GOOD FOR YOU, Delaney!

    I know guys love long hair on women but we have been together for so dang long I doubt it matters even if I have hair or not. Joys of an extremely long relationship (34yrs).

    And again, GOOD FOR YOU. It SHOULDN’T matter after 34 years. I’m really happy to hear that.

  2. Like Delaney said, try it out and to heck with “them”. As for my husband, I’ve been cutting his hair for probably 8 years. I can do one haircut well. Funny thing is, while my hand injured he went to Mastercuts and guess what…Same exact haircut. So I took up the scissors again once my hand was better. Not so good at long hair, but the boys I can do. Come on over and I’ll give you the Sherri Special.

    Woo! I’m all in for the Sherri special. THE HAIRCUT. (Better add that before WIGSF makes something LEWD out of it. Although …)

    • Oh man, I didn’t even think of it like that! I think you’re just as bad as WIGSF, you just hide it better. lol

      Who says I hide it? I just don’t POST it. 😉

      • Yeah Sherri, you gotta watch what you say when I’m in earshot. I gots me a real dirty mind.

        Frankly, the blogosphere is lucky I didn’t pounce on the Sherri Special.

        Sherri’s probably lucky you didn’t too.

  3. If you did have a radical rock hairstyle, like wigsf suggested, then I say NO, you probably couldn’t get away with it. 🙂

    No, wasn’t radical rock hair. But it was longer than I’ve worn it in years, and my wife loved my hair longer back when we first met. 🙂

    Surely you could find a photo of some celebrity that had a style like yours. And if you go for it and can’t take the heat, you can always resort to a buzz and start over.

    I don’t know if I can ever REMEMBER whose hair I emulated, if anyone. I had a lady who cut my hair freestyle. That is, I’d say, “What do we do with it now?” and she’d go off on her own, wrote down on a card what she did, and did it again the next time until I asked for something new. Then I moved to the Midwest, and she gave me the card to bring with me. I’ve since lost it. 😦

    What does your lady say?

    I’ll find out when she reads the post, I guess. 😉

  4. 1987…men’s hairstyles…a little long, probably at collar, schwoopy (technical styling term), amazing if your hair is wavy (timeless?)…product is necessary. I vote go for it! If it is one of the styles I remember you could take it shorter if it isn’t all you remembered.

    Aw, thanks for the encouragement, Jaymie! I like that approach. My hair isn’t exactly wavy, really, but it’s not straight either. It’s just … unruly. So I want something to make it OBEY. And yes, it was just below my collar line. Brilliant deductions. 🙂

  5. I second the motion – no mullets allowed. Also, please strike rat tails from the list. 🙂

    Never had a tail, but thought about it. Not long enough, though. And mullets are OKAY IF DONE WELL, people!

    Seriously, I’m sure there’s someone out there who was cutting hair in the 80s who would welcome a change from doing blue hair rinses to give you that “fresh from ’87” feeling again. Ahhh… to be able to rock out to Bon Jovi’s Living on a Prayer, Wang Chung’s Everybody have Fun Tonight, and George Michael’s I Want Your Sex. 1987. It was a good year.

    It was indeed. For my hair, especially. It was so shiny and black then. *Sigh*

    Thanks for the trip down Memory Lane. Now I just need to dig out my tattered cassette of “Slippery When Wet.”

    You go girl. 🙂

  6. The Missus has finally stopped trying to convince me I need a $50+ haircut, preferably by a stylist of her choice. A few years ago I decided as a last-hurrah hair experiment that I was gonna stop getting haircuts altogether, and pull it back into a ponytail. Went three years, got up to about 16″ long. Then w/out warning anybody, I got it cut off on a midweek afternoon last spring. Ha. I love disorienting people.

    The expensive stylists are MY preference. I’m just a believer in getting what you pay for and when I go someplace like Supercuts or Great Clips, the haircut doesn’t hold up. Cheaper, yes, but also VERY temporary. I can need another cut in as little as four weeks. So the more expensive stylists charge more for a reason, and I used to go about every six or eight weeks for a cut.

    Pony tails rock but I don’t have the patience to let it get THAT long. I’ve tried before, but MAN … my hair goes through some really AWFUL periods while it’s growing out.

    I really don’t notice other guys’ hair, unless I’m obviously meant to (Mohawks, e.g.). My personal feeling is: go with what feels comfortable, won’t be too off-putting in a face-to-face setting, and stays at least moderately clean. Put your style in your demeanor and your words. Relax. 🙂

    And I don’t want to embarrass the love o’ my life in public, so I keep that in mind too. Thanks!

  7. LOL, still laughing at the thought of you with a mullet or something like what WGISF said.

    It wasn’t a straight-up mullet, but it was probably a modified one. 😉 Not a Flock of Seagulls do, though. That was my father’s fear back then too.

    I have had the same hair stylist since I was 8. I drive 3 hours to see her now that I live so far away, about once to twice a year. Anna has been through everything with me. From men to mood swings to me walking in with hair to my waist and walking out with it above my shoulders. This includes all those 80’s hairstyles and older to which I will not date myself on. Let’s just say Anna and I have been going through this for over 25 years now. Just find you the right person to do it and it won’t matter, it’s just something that will help you feel better.

    Wow, 3 hours is a bit of a hike! You’re committed, I’ll say that!

    • Hey, when you can go somewhere and just say do whatever you want and don’t have to worry about going Shinade O’Connor….you keep going back. Plus I have donated to Locks of Love several times with her. My hair grows like a thick weed.

      Awesome. Love weed-growing hair.

      Your post made me go back looking through some old pictures…guys I used to hang out with, old racing pics, yeah, not all mullets were bad, but nothing beats a man with long hair….

      Hm. I don’t know. I’m partial to women, but that’s me. 😉

  8. No pictures exist?! Oh, come on… 🙂

    Not of me or the hair style I had. Honest.

    Hmmm, well, I have no advice. I’m in hair style no woman’s land as I’m growing it out to donate to Locks of Love. After that, I don’t know what’ll happen.

    Why not go for it. Like you said, it’ll grow out if you don’t like it. And it seems that 80’s is back, so 80’s hair could be a good thing.

    I didn’t know 80s hair was back in! When did that happen?

  9. You sure could get away with a modified 80’s hairstyle. The 80’s are back in a big way, at least in my city.

    Awesome! Why doesn’t anyone share this stuff with me? Oh, that’s right … because I don’t care usually. But I’m all for 80s hair comin’ back! I want my hair FEATHERED!

    I won’t be going back to my 80’s hair. I had BIG hair. I have naturally puffy hair: thick, wavy, and frizzy. Back when I was in high school it was the coolest hair you could have. My sister, who’s 13 years younger than me, has the same hair, but she was a teenager in the late 90’s and early 00’s when straight hair was in. Sucks for her, I guess! It’s all about timing.

    HA! Timing indeed! I should’ve been born inthe 40s where I could cover it with a kick-ass cool hat or slick it back with some hair tonic or goo. 🙂

  10. I will pay for a haircut that you want..call it a birthday present just let me know. Hairdos i think sometime change with age and have more to do with how you feel about your life at the time…my hairdo is driven more by my job (Navy) but i would love to have a ponytail…..good luck lemme know how i can help..zman sends

    Aw, very generous of you Steve. Thanks for the offer! I’d love to try a pony too. 🙂

  11. Mullets never go out of style. HAHAHA! This is what I get for commenting a day late…everybody took all my witty comments.

    You’re not a day late. This is today’s post! And I agree — mullets live forever!

    Who cares what anyone else thinks. If it makes you happy, do it.

    Well … except my spouse might have something to say. 😉

  12. Okay, this one is unexpectedly stimulating. In 1980, I had Farrah Fawcett hair then got lazy and my hair grew past my butt (really). Then I met a “hair sculptor” around the mid-80s and he chopped almost two feet off and literally sculpted my hair into . . . shapes. [I kept the braid from that haircut (weird, huh?) until a few years ago.] Then I went through my Mary Tyler Moore phase and blew dried my hair every morning into a flip. When I moved to Texas about five years ago, I chopped most of my hair off and did Texas “big hair.” Luckily, laziness prevailed, and I now just let it grow. It’s very straight, so no maintenance is needed except for brushing it out after I wash it. I do not carry a brush in my bag. In the last year or so, I have been getting even more lazy. I cut several inches of my hair when it gets to my waist. Did you really want to know this? 🙂

    I don’t know if I could handle hair that grows so fast I have to cut it to prevent it from taking over the Earth, but it’s an interesting story. I’m glad you told it. 🙂

  13. I can’t go anywhere without hearing 80’s music, so 80’s hair is probably back in. Have the hair you like. It isn’t like you can please everyone anyway. When it comes to men and hair, I’ve never much liked it when the guy spends more time on his hair than I spend on mine. And for all my liberalness, I’ve never been able to really trust men with long hair–and unfortunately I’ve known a few long-haired men who reinforced that opinion. Though I know some guys with long hair are perfectly nice people… It isn’t so much how long it is, it’s how much time they spend on their own with it.

    ha.

    Not into having an affair with my hair. 🙂

  14. Sorry I’m late here Darc. Haircut!!! That’s been a “four-letter” word to me since the mid 60’s. Geez, the last time I actually went into a barber shop and paid for a haircut was in 1968 and it was $1.25.

    ROFL! AWESOME! Even I could afford one at that price. Think anyone will do a “throwback” price?

    After that of course the era that it was at the time, I didn’t get it cut until around 1975, and I did it myself and have ever since. I dunno, I’ve never been one for making a ‘fashion statement’ … and my hair style has been the same my entire life. I guess at my age, I’m just happy to even have hair!

    Woo! Hair! How do you cut it yourself? I’d actually think about that.

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

