At LAST!


Well, my advance from the SSRLP – revealed so it’s not so SS anymore – will be here in the next couple of days. What that means is, I’m officially a paid author. By the end of this year my name will appear on a book in bookstores and online retailers in the UK, and I can now join author associations and such which require a writer have sold a piece at market prices to a traditional publisher.

Not too shabby, not too shabby.

It took a lot of nagging and a LOOOOONG time to get the answers about when I’d be paid. I still don’t have my signed copy of the contract between the publisher and me. I don’t know when that’s coming. I hope soon. Meanwhile, I just found out their preliminary pass through the manuscript has been made and it’s being sent to copywriting for them to go through. I had one correction to make – an image didn’t upload correctly. Emailed to the project manager for this beauty and voila! – all done.

I’m sure there will be more as a technical editor looks it over. But I don’t mind. I’m sort of happy to have this. I need to be grateful for it, and I’m getting there. It was hard work but it was easy to do, if that makes sense. It was about getting things right in the desired format. Once I got that, I could move pretty quickly. But I’ve said all this before.

I’m sorry, I’m just excited because it’s coming. The money is finally coming!

*Ahem*

Yeah. I’m jolly.

-JDT-

All original content © 2010 DarcKnyt
ALL rights reserved.

12 thoughts on “At LAST!

  1. Woo-hoo! — maybe (maybe?)… celebrate a little? 🙂

    Well, have to wait ’til the bucks hit the bank, but yeah … maybe. We’ll see. 🙂

  2. Awesome! I’m so happy for you – sounds like prayers have been answered. Just think, now you have a published piece of technical writing for your resume.

    We’ll see how that works, in terms of getting it on there. But yes. And thank you. 🙂

    Bet you didn’t even imagine your first book would be on PowerPoint 2010, huh? 🙂

    Not ever, even once.

    Make sure you do something a little special to celebrate!

    We’ll have to see what we can do. 🙂

  3. This calls for dancing. I know, you are not a fan. But don’t your feet feel light? 🙂 This made my morning!

    I’m glad it made you smile, Jaymie. No, my feet still feel as fat as ever, but my heart is lighter. So I’ll let you dance for both of us and I’ll revel in it! 🙂 Thank you!

  4. How great! I’m so happy for you!

    Thank you so much!

    Now, more of the same please…

    HAHAHA! Let’s hope the next piece with my name on the cover is a best-selling novel instead of a PowerPoint book. 😉

  5. Why would you apologize for being excited? You’re right, you need to allow yourself to be grateful and happy about this, for all the reasons you listed here. I’m so proud of you, and envious, and happy. 🙂

    Nothing to envy, darlin’, just a lot of God’s blessing topped off with a super-supportive spouse who encouraged me to take the project in the first place. But thanks for being in my corner. 🙂

  6. This is wonderful news. Is there a possibility of follow up books with this publisher?

    I have no idea, honestly. Right now, I’m not sure whether I WANT there to be. Heh. It’s been a hard and daunting task — and that’s just getting them to honor the contract and PAY, nevermind the writing! 🙂

  7. Woo! This is great news! I wouldn’t mind doing something like that to supplement my income, but my knowledge base is pretty limited.

    So is mine. This was DEFINITELY learn-as-you-go. I don’t do PowerPoint — have never used it before, period. This was all new, and yet … here I am. 🙂 If I can do it, you can too.

  8. Congratulations!!! The fruit is sweet! And in my self-centered obsession, I can now say I know a paid writer!!! 🙂

    Well, thank you sweetie! I appreciate the encouragement. 🙂

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

