And that’s that…


The revisions of the SSRLP are finished, I think.

The copy editor got back to me. She said she was impressed with how I did, particularly if this was my first of this series of books. (It is.) She had a few questions (easy), needed a couple of new screen shots (not hard), and asked me about resources online for non-business users of PowerPoint (this was the toughie). It took me – oh, let’s say it took about three or four hours to do them all. I stopped in the middle to play Wii with the kids, and that stretched it to about six hours. Meh.

Now it’s off to typesetting. I’ll be getting the proofs back to make any final changes or to provide any additional screen shots they might need. NO rewriting whatever. None. That’s … that’s sort of like sinking a 500-yard hole-in-one. I can’t imagine doing it again.

So, I think the SSRLP is finished. I hope so anyway.

I keep saying that, but each new stagegate brings another learning experience. So I’ll leave it open this time. This aspect of the SSRLP is done, and the next one, should there be a next one, will be exciting, because I get to see how the first published book I’ll ever have will look.

While I wish it were fiction and destined to be a million-seller, it’s still fun as it is.

How was your weekend?

-JDT-

All original content copyright 2010 DarcKnyt
ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

8 thoughts on “And that’s that…

  1. I’m happy to hear you’ll soon be seeing the fruits of your labour! That’s exciting! 🙂

    Not quite as exciting as the money, but yeah, we’re getting there! 🙂

    My weekend was quiet, did some day-dream window shopping at the new Staples they just opened in town, and just stayed in for most of it. We had the weekend off, so we just relaxed, and did a whole lot of nothing.

    Sounds ideal to me. 😉

  2. I cleaned up the porch room to get ready for finally finishing it. The first thing will be anchoring the wall to the concrete, then getting the door set correctly. Once those are done I’ll be able to finish the inside at my own pace. It’ll be my new office, eventually. Eventually. I put my comfy chair in there and wrote some over the weekend since the weather was nice.

    I hope you post some pictures of the SSRLP when you get them. You’re about to be a published author, that’s pretty effing cool. No re-writing? Awesome, but not fair–some of us do nothing BUT rewrite. *grumbles*

    j/k 🙂

    Ah, no, I shouldn’t have said NO rewriting. I did a bit. Couple of sentences for clarity sort of thing. Nothing to speak of. The bulk of it, though, was new screenshots. 🙂

    A new office, eh? WOO! for new offices! WOOOO!

  3. Big woot! of congrats on this, man — a rush, I bet!

    I owe it all to you my man. Thank you.

    Good weekend for writing, dog-walking, and exploring the new satellite TV service.

    That sounds like a recipe for Awesome Sauce to ME, bud! 😀

    Speaking of which, I’d be interested in your reaction to a movie. A thriller called Transsiberian, starring Woody Harrellson, Emily Mortimer, and Ben Kingsley. Especially given your insistence that movies have lost the power to surprise you. 🙂

    I’ll see if I can find it at the local library, JES. Thanks for the tip! 🙂

  4. Awesome news! Hugs!!

    Thank you D! I need the hugs! 🙂

    I travelled from Hong kong to Singapore this weekend, spent some time with my better half, dined with friends. Not bad, all said and done.

    Very cool! Hope the trip was great; look forward to hearing about it on your blog. 😉

  5. Very awesome. That’s great.

    Thanks. 🙂

    My weekend? Gardening, hunting for snails, lizards & bugs, walking the dog, arguing with the kid, making art, meeting a friend for coffee, working out, and watching The 10th Kingdom again.

    Snails, lizards and bugs? Oh my! Sounds icky. 😉 And working out? Scary! 😀 Hope all in all it was a good one for you.

    • What can I say? It was icky, but important to my kiddo. So, I carried the snail bucket. Sigh.

      The sacrifices we make for our children. Will they ever understand? …before they have their OWN kids, I mean. 😉

      I haven’t worked out since 10th grade PE class. I’ve been working out for about 2 weeks. We’ll see how it goes.

      All in all–good!

      Glad to hear it!

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

