The proof is in the …


Well, I’m starting work on the proofs for the (not-so)SSRLP today. I got the first PDF files back from the publisher. They couldn’t send hard copies, because all the air traffic is grounded in Northern Europe right now, including Great Britain. So I get e-copies instead. Just as well; I make the corrections on any pages I must by printing them. Then I scan and email them back. Here’s hoping there aren’t going to be many of them.

As the process winds down, I can’t seem to find the excitement so many have expressed over this project and Lord help me, I don’t know why. The only thing I can think of is, I’m less enthusiastic about it because it’s not fiction work. But it is a paying gig and it paid pretty well, so what the heck is my problem?

And therein lies the rub, you see.

I can’t tell you why I’m not excited. I can tell you it still doesn’t seem real. Maybe because it happened so fast. It was almost anti-climatic. It rushed by in a whirlwind and left before I knew it hit me at all. Maybe that’s it? I just don’t know. But here I am, working on the proofs which will go to the typesetter. This thing is supposed to hit shelves in June.

It’s weird; I feel like I’m in a fog most of the time on this. I can’t decide why, but I think if the true magnitude of being published and how easily that happened ever settles on me, it will make me pass out. Or maybe giggle like a giddy schoolgirl.

So I’ll try and let you know how it looks. I only have until the 26th to do this, so I have to get cracking. If I’m not around your blogs over the next week, that’s the reason.

God bless y’all.

-JDT-

All original content copyright 2010 DarcKnyt
ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

7 thoughts on “The proof is in the …

  1. You’re so close!

    I think you’ll giggle like a giddy school girl, then pass out from excitement when you read your name in official print.

    Now get crackin’!

    (:

    Oh, I don’t do schoolgirl giggles, but I cracked years ago. 🙂

  2. I hope at some point you end up giddy as a school girl. That would probably work best for me. 😉

    Well, I don’t know if giddy will cover it, but “paid” goes a LOOOOONG way. 😉

  3. Maybe you’re not excited about it because it’s pretty close to what you’ve already been doing. You already write, edit, and send and receive documents over the Internet. Have you received the check yet? That’ll help! lol

    Payment comes in two chunks: Half when I sign the contract (yeah, riiiiight; that took TWO MONTHS), and the other half later. I can’t remember when without looking at the contract again. So yeah, I got half. I think the other half comes in June. We’ll see. 🙂

    This makes me wonder, though, if being published isn’t as exciting as I imagine…? I know this isn’t your chosen genre, but it seems pretty exciting from the outside.

    Does it? How interesting! I figured I was boring y’all with this.

    Nice to see you’re almost finished! I hope they send you a few copies eventually.

    Me too. I really would rather not have to order them from Amazon.uk. Heh.

  4. It’s sort of like wanting a chocolate cake, but getting a yellow cake instead. It’s still cake, but not the right cake. Do you dive in and eat it or do you hold out for the cake you wanted?

    You grab the cake and stuff that sh!t in your mouth as fast as you f**king can because it might be the LAST godd**n cake you ever get. Srsly.

    On the other hand money’s money. Giggle like a school girl on your way to the bank.

    It IS money. Just not giggle-worthy amounts. Especially for the amount of time I’ve spent. Still, I’m trying to be happy! Really!

  5. All the best, Darc, and I’m so happy for you…..but I know, not all projects give everything.

    They sure don’t, but I was glad to have it regardless. Thank you, Damyanti. 🙂

    5 of my short stories are being published in different anthologies in Malaysia and Singapore, and I’m making 50 usd out of only one of them. The rest, you guessed it, zero. So it is harder to make fiction pay.. at least you’ll be a published author now, and will have something in the bank to show for it…cheer up already! 😀

    HAHAHAHA! Awesome, and a GREAT point. Thank you so much for the reminder. I actually am very excited about the money, even if it IS a bit less than Stephen King makes. 😉 And congrats on the publications! They’ll make it easier to move to bigger projects, I’m sure. 🙂

  6. I think I understand. I write reports that require some degree of creativity and precision, and, while I can really get into them, it’s simply not sexy. Creativity is used to explain something to the reader and avoid wrong inferences. I think it’s the difference between woodworking a cool chair for an arts fair, and creating a special rocking chair for your pregnant wife. Both have your soul’s imprint, but the latter embodies your heart. Keep writing your stuff! Consider it priming the pump 🙂

    Wow, Berna, AMAZING analogy! Thank you so much! I’ll be sure and keep priming that pump until it finally gushes. 🙂

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

