Breached … AGAIN


So, you know how Google’s this huge, powerful, sort of bossy company who threatens to disable your account at the drop of a hat, right? Well, they disabled my BUSINESS account on Monday and didn’t bother telling me why.

I have to provide them a MOBILE phone number so they can TEXT me a code to enter. Then I have to change my password. I understand the need for security and such, but they don’t offer any other way to get your account back on. I’d have to contact their support team and sit around while they get back to me in their own good time.

Seems I got hacked and had to come up with a new password. Someone sent a spam message from my account. Fun.

In other news, Google’s mail system sort of sucks in a lot of aspects. For one it’s incredibly slow and cumbersome. For another it’s lame. No folders. But it does have easy access to my reader. Hey, how ‘bout that? F**king YAWN.

I dislike Google as a company for a lot of reasons. They make Microsoft look downright nice. But I don’t know how hard it will be to make the switch to yet another mail system, and do I want to go through that again (I had to do it to switch to Gmail)? I don’t know.

So now I have another password to remember. How fun is that?

What’s your favorite mail system? How come?

-JDT-

All original content copyright 2010 DarcKnyt
ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

9 thoughts on “Breached … AGAIN

  1. My favourite mail system is the one provided to me by my ISP. It’s just a branded Yahoo system, but, still, because I’m paying for it, I better like it. Besides, I just don’t like the feel of gmail.

    And gmail leads me down a road I don’t want to go. gmail, gmale, gay male. My brain doesn’t work properly.

    Oh, I don’t know about that. It sounds about right to me. 😉

  2. I like gmail. At first I didn’t know how to work without folders, but now I like using the search feature instead. I like it so much I use it in my Windows Live Mail instead of the folders. I think Google’s a nice company, except for that book scan thing, but don’t all big companies try to overstep their bounds at some point?

    Maybe. But Google has, and don’t ask me for clarification or expansion on this because I DON’T do political discussions here, put forward a political and ideological agenda with which I do not agree, and it’s only become more manifest over time. Despite what Bryce said, I feel Google as a company IS evil. That’s just me though.

    It may be just a matter of hating all the other email clients I’ve used: Lycos, Netzero, Yahoo. I hate yahoo with a purple flaming passion, to borrow a phrase from my high school days. 🙂

    I don’t like them etiher, but God knows, with the way things are now, I can’t set up my own domain and have my own email system, so I’m stuck with what the big boys are handing me. 😦

    I love that expression. Heh. It came a little after high school for me though. 😉

  3. I adore my Gmail, I’ve never had a problem with it.

    I get how most people won’t have a problem. But if you did, and it hurt you professionally, would that impact how you felt about it?

    Good luck with things though!

    We’ll see how it goes. Thanks. 🙂

  4. I have had a yahoo account for almost 10 years now. Weird email address but it has worked. Bobette has me using google calendar beyond that I don’t use google.

    Huh. I thought you were using Chrome, their browser? Did you give up on that? I’ve had a Yahoo! account for a long time too. More than 12 years now. But it just feels less professional to have that “Yahoo” extension on my email addy for some reason.

  5. Wow — sorry to hear about the bad Google experiences. Somebody must have it in for you!

    Yes! Google does! 😉

    I love Gmail so much that I manage all my POP mail accounts through it. It all comes into my inbox, and I’ve set up filters and labels so all the mail for Client X has one label, family mail has another, and so on. It took a while to get used to using labels instead of folders, but now Outlook and other mail clients frustrate me because I have to remember into which folder I moved something. With labels, I can do the equivalent of filing it in many folders at once. And with filters, I can have the labeling done automatically.

    I’d have to explore these things to figure them out. I never had cause to before, but I guess if I’m going to commit, I may as well figure it out. Thing is I have to wait until I’m less pissed to do that, and that could be a while. Heh.

    I haven’t met many people who’d pick Microsoft to rule the universe over Google. In fact, I think you’re the first!

    Hehehe. I don’t want Microsoft to rule the universe, in all honesty, but I’d rather have them than Google ANY day.

  6. Hotmail rarely lets me down. For work I have an account on an Exchange server, accessible, via Outlook. We used to not have any backup of our Outlook accounts, but now that we do I am using the to-do list, the calendar, and the contacts big time. I have nothing to compare it to, but it sure beats the heck out of my old Rolodex and paper planner.

    Yeah, Outlook’s okay. You can use Windows Live Mail, a free client downloadable from Microsoft’s website, to make your Hotmail account behave the same way. The problem I have with Hotmail is that cheap, unattractive-sounding email extension. *Sigh* Oh well. A choice of poisons, I suppose. And it’s not that Google let me DOWN, it’s that it let someone else IN … TWICE!

  7. Hey, step off the big G.

    Pff, screw that. Tell them to step off ME, and to drop their f’d up political leftwing agenda. In short, tell ’em to STFU and I’ll think it over.

    I mean, their company slogan is “Don’t be evil.”

    I guess “Don’t be evil” also means denying people their First Amendment rights, on Blogger and YouTube. Nice idea. Now live up to it, Google.

    I think Microsoft’s is “Destroy the little guy”… or something.

    No, it’s “Make as much money as you can by driving all competition out of the market place.” You know, the same one Wal-Mart uses.

    Folders are for children. Tags + archive + fast intelligent search = easy email organization ftw.

    Color me child. I can’t figure that other crap out.

    I always thought someone should buy up the site hotamil.com and put up a joke site featuring a guy named Amil who thinks he’s good looking.

    I volunteer YOU to do it. And let me know when it goes up so I can be the first visitor. 🙂

    • I actually don’t bother to tag most emails. I just delete the crap and archive the rest. Wondering what search term to use is easier for me than wondering which folder I stuck something in. And access from anywhere is nice. But if you use google’s tags extensively, it ends up being pretty much the same as if you were using strict folders.

      It’s not that I can’t figure it out, but mostly I do like you. Delete garbage and stuff I respond to right away. With my business account though, I’ve been using it for the publisher and their contacts. It’d be a pain to switch now.

      And what is their political agenda? I’ve never heard anything. (But I haven’t bothered to study it out, either.)

      Why don’t you? It’s very interesting and sort of alarming. Look up Pamela Gellar and Bob Parks as two examples of their agenda.

      And, uh, I hate to be argumentative (no really I do), but I don’t believe it’s possible for google to infringe on first amendment rights. The 1st is not the right to use somebody else’s services, resources, and property in whatever way you want.

      Okay, I’ll concede you’re right about this. It’s actually CENSORSHIP, not violations of First Amendment rights. Your point.

      For example, let’s say you own a building and you let local graffiti artists paint whatever they want on one wall. One day someone paints some very rude things about your mother. Is it infringing on their 1st amendment right for you to paint over it? No, it’s still your property and you can do with it whatever you want.

      This isn’t a great example. I understand your point but there’s a difference between censoring ad hominem attacks and factual, documented statements about a political candidate being censored. HUGE difference, in my book. This, however, is NOT a political blog, so I won’t go into any more detail about that. Email my wife if you’d like to hear more about Google’s agenda and how they forward it.

      And for the record, I’m not really a MS hater. Their development tools are top notch, and they’ve done a bang up job staying on top. And in a pinch I’ll use word 😉

      Hate ’em if you want bud. It’s still a (relatively) free country. 🙂

      I just checked. It’s too late on hotamil. I should have moved on it the first time I misspelled it years ago. Microsoft bought it and now it redirects to hotmail. 😦

      Bummer.

      Oh, and didn’t your hotmail account get hacked a while ago, too? You need to obtain a usb drive and install a portable browser on it for use on public machines (if your library’ll let you that is.)

      I don’t know; I’ll have to look back and see. I think you’re right. I think my Hotmail account WAS hacked, now that you mention it. I have a portable browser, too. They SUCK, and no, the library doesn’t allow them.

      How go your edits?

      Well, on the non-fiction book, they’re done. I think. Ghost Hunters has been completely destroyed. The back end of that thing is such a mess it’s going to have to be rewritten. It can’t be saved. C’est la vie, no?

  8. I have 3 yahoo mail accounts and 1 gmail account. I like to keep my mail separated. One yahoo account is for my mother and her forwarded jokes. Another yahoo account is for my ebay stuff and my blog, yet another is for all the junk mail I get when I sign up for something such as netflix or amazon. The gmail account is for people I actually want to hear from.

    HAHAHA! I do the same thing. I have a separate account I use for registration and one I give people to forward crap to. And then I have one for communicating with business contacts and such. And THAT, of course, is the one which got hacked.

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

