This, that, and the other…


Hey, got a couple of quick things for you today. Not much. Don’t want to get in the way of your weekend.

Did you notice this…?

Guess what? I’ve been doing some writing exercises. Just staying loose, really, but some of them have morphed into sort of vignettes. I don’t think they’re stories, really.

Matter of fact, I posted one today for #FridayFlash. Check it out if you’re a mind to. Let me know your thoughts too.

I posted one on Wednesday night too, to not much fanfare. It was the first thing  I’ve posted in a while, if I recall correctly.

Speaking of that…

I’m seriously considering starting a new novel. I haven’t started a new one since late 2007. That one’s languishing in the unfinished pile because it needs work. Lots of work. And I’m a little daunted by the amount of work.

My current “manuscript” didn’t seem to hold up to the editing process too well. I put it up against the four-part story structure, and it’s missing the last half of Act II, a pinch point, a second plot point, and the entire climax has to be redone. With all that going on, I don’t know if the story’s worth fixing.

I’m thinking of calling for people to look at it as is and tell me if they think it should be salvaged. But most people I know who could do that are writers and don’t have enough time in their schedules to do that. So I’m sort of drumming my fingers, thinking about what to do on it. Rewriting the last half of the book and making it worth submitting is more exhausting in my mind than starting over.

Thoughts on that?

And the other…

I got a call on Wednesday from the company with whom I interviewed a week ago Thursday (May 6). They wanted to let me know they opted for another candidate.

Story of my life, yo.

I’m not upset though. I just have to start this whole process over and keep at it until something breaks. Or, you know … we have to move into a cardboard box.

If you’re the praying type, we can sure use it.

OH, and HAPPY BIRTHDAY, Onyx! May it be the best and grandest you’ve ever had. 🙂

That’s all, folks!

Have a great weekend, everyone, and I’ll talk to you again next week.

-JDT-

All original content copyright 2010 DarcKnyt
ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

4 thoughts on “This, that, and the other…

  1. Damn that sucks. I thought you would at least get a second interview.

    Me too. Oh well, thanks for the support in prayer, Bob. We need all the help we can get and we sure appreciate it. There will be other chances, I hope. Or something better is in the Lord’s plans for me. I hope. 😉

  2. I’m sorry about the job. I was keeping my fingers crossed.

    Thank you Holls. It’s okay. Something will come along.

    Have a happy weekend.

    I’ll try if you do! 🙂

  3. Hehehe birthday shout out to me (: thank you so much!!! It was a fantastic day! Lots of fun, very chill, and Matt had one of the ladies that works for him make a cheesecake for me! I’m thinkin’ about goin’ back for another bite.

    Why not? It’s your birthday!

    Maybe having a few other sets of eyes go over it may help you make your decision, but maybe if you’re not excited to re-write/finish it, maybe moving on for right now may be the best idea?

    It’s really been hard to let it go, but you’re right, it might be time.

    I’m sorry to hear you didn’t get the job. Something better must be in store for you. I’ll keep you in my thoughts!

    *positive brain waves*

    Thanks. I’m hoping that’s the case.

    • I’m sorry about the job. I’m happy you’re writing.

      Now, you know, I’m not really a believer in God having a plan, but if indeed God does have a plan, maybe that’s why you’re getting all this time to write. I mean, a “real” job wouldn’t leave you much time for that, would it? So, start that novel!

      I’m thinking about it. I’m not sure being out of work is part of God’s plan for me — I’m not one to think He’s destined me for homelessness and starvation — but I know writing IS part of it. So I should be seeking it out more, and I’ve made steps in that very direction. Thank you. 🙂

      Best wishes to you as always. (And I’m too delirious from writing a story every day to say anything else or comment regularly.)

      I’m just impressed you found time and energy to visit at all. I didn’t expect you until after your recovery period sometime in June. Thank you for being a supportive and caring person. It means more than I can ever tell you.

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

