To the 9s


I watched 9 over the weekend and I have to say, I was pleasantly surprised.

Movies influenced by popular short films aren’t always able to convey the same ideas and hold the audience as rapt as the original. For instance, Star Wars was nowhere near as effective as its counterpart short, Hardware Wars. If you’ve never seen that parody, you’re missing out. And of course the Family Guy short versions of those films are more effective than the movies also.

Having said that, this steampunk version of Raggedy Ann is awesome.

There were storytelling glitches, to be sure. This is one of the problems with making films by the seat of one’s pants, in my opinion. Visually, it was stunning and the battle sequences were epic. Heroics, villainy, and a little magic tossed in with the technology. Blur the timeframe and you have a beautifully drawn and animated piece which sweeps the viewer into its world in a heartbeat.

9 was a great film for watching. If you love tight storylines though, you might have a few issues. A lot of questions remained unanswered. My wife, not being into cartoons like I am, asked them before I did, but when I thought about them I found some problems of my own. Nevertheless I recommend the film. It’s fun and gorgeous. What more can you ask in a date?

-JDT-

9 thoughts on “To the 9s

  1. What more can you ask in a date?
    Dude, how can you ask that question in a place where you know I’ll answer it. Something I’d want more in a date than watching that 9 again, hmm… SEX!

    Couple things you should know, dude:

    A) You don’t scare me;
    B) If I didn’t want you around, I’d BAN your a$$. Done it before, whipper-snapper.

    😉

  2. I liked the movie. I went in with low expectations and it surpassed them.

    I had high hopes, but I would say I liked it too. It was very visual and I liked the story potential. 🙂

  3. It was really short, so my filmgoer timing of the elements was off till I figured out it wasn’t even an hour and a half long. I wanted the story to wow me as much as the visuals, so I was a little disappointed.

    Yeah, I can see that. Writers especially want GREAT storytelling with great visuals, and this one missed a couple of times on the former. The latter it has in droves, though. 🙂

  4. I’m curious about the unanswered questions. I haven’t seen the movie, but in general, how much ambiguity works for you in a film? By unanswered questions do you mean not a tidy plot wrap up at the end or plot holes? Some unanswered questions seem to be because of laziness on the writer (or moviemakers). Others seem to be because the writer didn’t feel the need to answer them, wanted to leave certain things for the reader (viewer), or some other purposeful reason. So how much do unanswered questions matter to you? (And please answer the question! 🙂 )

    I don’t like unanswered questions. Yes, there are PLENTY of times I’m supposed to answer those questions myself as a reader/viewer/listener, but I hate that crap. To me, that’s a lazy way to leave an unresolved issue. The unanswered questions here include things like: Where’d the technology come from? How’d that get there? If this guy was there doing that before all hell broke loose, why not just do this yourself and save a lot of lives and/or problems down the road? How could this happen AFTER that? In short, they were unanswered questions in the story AND plot holes, which is a problem for me in any degree. And, I hope that clears things up. 😀

    • Oh, you know me, that makes me ask more questions. How do you work out answering questions like, “Where does that technology come from?” and not just be info. dump or drag the action?

      No no — you misunderstood, or I said it wrong (probably the latter). I mean, as a READER (or viewer), I want to know what the answers to all those great questions are. As a writer, I don’t think I CAN answer them all without going all Frank Herbert and Dune-ish.

      I’ll agree that plenty of times not explaining is laziness or a short of budget (in film anyway), but I also think there are writers who aren’t lazy, they just don’t think of explaining it. I mean, I’ve had people ask me questions about something I wrote, and honestly, I just didn’t see why they cared about that particular point. And I also worry about spoon feeding an audience. If I’m going to err on too much info-insulting reader-viewer intelligence drag the action or on the don’t quite explain leave ’em guessing, I’d rather leave them guessing. But that’s me. And there are certainly other ways to go about it.

      I think sometimes something is important to a reader or a viewer when it shouldn’t be. And sometimes — like with my loving spouse, f’rinstance — the only ending acceptable is the happy one. She doesn’t want to read fiction for unhapy endings; gets enough of ’em in real life to want them in her fiction. But as a horror writer, I don’t DO happy endings, so where my head and hers are is very, very different. I think sometimes that’s true with story aspects. And in this film, there were plenty of them. It was impossible to cover it all. And they didn’t. But, leaving holes isn’t acceptable either, and they did that too. BIG ones.

  5. I enjoyed 9, it didn’t blow me away, but I enjoyed it, and would recommend it. I adore cartoons.

    OH, man! I LOVE cartoons!

    We saw Toy Story 3 last week, I bawled for the last 25 minutes of the damn movie.

    You’re kidding! Really? Now I have to see it. 🙂

    • Matt and I were both crying. The woman behind us was crying. A woman came into my work last week and said her boys saw it, I mentioned I cried at the end, and she’s like “you know, I’m glad you say that, I was sobbing like a baby.”

      Hehehe.

      Toy Story has always held a special place for me. It was the first movie I ever saw in a theatre when I was a kid, and that was a HUGE deal.

      UGH, GOD. I feel ANCIENT now.

      It’s a great movie for the whole family, but Matt and I were chatting afterward, and I think unless you’ve grown with the movies over the years, I think some of the magic isn’t there for the young kids watching it now. Don’t get me wrong, great movie for kids, it’s funny, and some life morals/messages in there, the novelty is there, but on a whole, it’s best for adults, who’ve grown with it. They really did a great job rounding the movies off for the people who started watching Toy Story way back when.

      Guess I’ll miss the magic. Haven’t even seen TS2 yet. 🙂

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

