Good News … Sorta


Yes, Yellowcat – actual good news this time. 🙂

Yesterday I had a job interview.

On the upside, it was an interview with all of the hiring team for a company about 25 miles away. That means, if they make a decision in my favor, there won’t be any need for a second interview, most likely. Also on the upside, they liked that I’d had a book published and asked me if I brought a copy with me. (Note to self: Bring a copy with you next time. *Sigh*) Also on the upside, one of the three decision makers opted out of the process (not just my interview) due to workload, so the amount of time I spent interviewing was reduced by about 45 minutes.

On the downside, it’s 25+ miles away and there’s no good way to get there from here. All the ways you CAN get there from here are under construction and show no signs of being finished any time before I die. So if I get the job, my commute will be hell. At least for now. I may be able to move when the lease ends, but that takes serious money and I can’t see having serious money available by then even if I started work tomorrow, which I won’t. Also on the downside, there was no talk of salary and I wasn’t going to broach the subject on my initial meeting. There’s a salary range and they didn’t share it. I took that to be significant and let it fall. I did successfully drop hints about what ranges I’d turned down, so that’s something, but I’d still like to know if it was all waste of time and gas. Oh well. Further on the downside, this summer has been significantly warmer and more humid than last year, so I had to travel in a car with no air conditioning through pretty heavy traffic for an hour solid. Not the worst thing in the world, but a little nerve-wracking when I think of the potential drip- and stink-factor. *Sigh*

Still, I think the interview when positively, and because of my concern about the weather and how I’d make myself presentable for an interview, I never had a chance to get nervous about the interview. Therefore I was as suave and smooth as Antonio Banderas as Puss in Boots. I could’ve conquered the entire Tri-State Area I was in such control.

I still said things I don’t think I’m supposed to say in an interview, but by the time I realized they’d fallen out of my mouth it was too late. They also said they were appreciative of my honesty, so who knows? Maybe it’ll work in my favor, right? Right?

Oh, and one of the biggest surprises was how the hiring manager to whom I would report told me she didn’t actually think I’d be a good fit for the position I was interviewing for. She said she had a technical writing opening and was more interested in me for that position.

I said, “Great!” And I smiled like the Cheshire Cat, my lovelies, because you know what? God knows I don’t really want to be a technical support rep any more. He knows I’d MUCH rather be a full-time, permanent, technical writer. And so, there you have it. (Actually, now that I think about it, I’m not sure the technical writer job IS full-time permanent. Hm.)

In addition to the interview going (mostly) well, God is up to His usual amazingness and doing stuff behind the scenes. I couldn’t have made the trip, and been in the shape I was in when I got there (and back!), if not for His Divine intervention. The things which happened aligned too well, too easily and perfectly and things went just as we hoped and prayed. I don’t believe that’s coincidence. I just don’t.

Anyway, I should know something by the end of the week, or maybe next week. The company’s interested in moving quickly, so I should hear soon. If you’re the praying type, here’s one you can toss up for us. 🙂

Thanks y’all! Hope you had as great a day as I did.

-JDT-

9 thoughts on “Good News … Sorta

  1. Man, that is awesome, the clouds are parting! I like seeing you upbeat. Here’s to coincidence-which-is-not. I’ve had some of that myself lately. It’s a good feeling.

    Fal believes this is the tip of a turn-around, cloud-parting, new-things-coming iceberg. I’m all for that. 🙂

  2. That’s wonderful news!

    Thank you! 🙂

    I have a 30 mile commute to work every day, but I have a feeling 30 Wyoming miles are much different than 25 Chicago miles.

    Yikes, 30 miles each way everyday … here, that translates into more than an hour of sitting in some clogged, angry traffic. So I’m betting it’s very different too.

  3. I am very much the praying type, and you will be in my prayers till you land this one.

    Aw, thanks Damyanti. 🙂

    I like that you’re so positive and thankful…wish I could be like that all the time.

    Oh, I’m not like this all the time. Heh. This is rare. But you visit often enough you should know this of me by now. 🙂

    Hugs to you and your family from across the seas,
    D

  4. Sending good thoughts and best wishes for you getting this job. You deserve a break dude.

    Aw, thanks Delaney. I appreciate that. 🙂

  5. They have a technical writing opening? What are the odds of that? That seems like such a perfect set-up. They’d better offer you something, or it would just be a cruel disappointment! I will be sending up a prayer for you. Right now!

    Well, thank you Spark! Please know we’re praying for you too in your situation as well! Much appreciated. But I have to tell you — I’ve come to know how the Lord is doing things right now, adn if this dorr closes, it’s for a darned good reason. So I’m not sure I’ll be too disappointed. Kind of a win-win thing for me — if it comes through, GREAT! If not, GREAT! Ha! Hope that makes sense. 🙂

    • That totally makes sense. I’ve never understood the kind of “faith” that falls apart as soon as the “faithful” person stops getting everything they prayed for. God knows best! Full stop.

      For me it was almost NEVER getting what I prayed for. I had to learn, very recently, what prayer is really about. And YES, God knows best, FULL STOP. Love that. 🙂

  6. Sounds like your interview went well, I’m excited to hear how things pan out. It definitely sounds like things are playing in your favor lately.

    Best of luck!

    I’m just a tiny bit discouraged I haven’t heard back yet; they wanted to move quickly so that’s a bad sign, I’d think. Still, it was a good thing to have an interview in this economy and it ain’t over ’til it’s over, it’s always darkest before the dawn, and several other catchy motivational phrases, too. Thanks!

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

