Monday Updates


All right, I swore up and down I’d have the e-book uploaded over the weekend, and I was *this* close to doing it. But …

I sent my buddy and fan Raga a copy so she could check it out for me on her Kindle, let me know what she saw. And what did she see? A typo. ARRGH!

Bud Sherri offered to proof it and I felt bad taking her up on it, so I didn’t send it to her (she’s read a LOT of stuff for me since I’ve known her; thanks doll). Now I’m paying the price because neither me nor my wife seems too keen on sitting down to read through a full manuscript (well, almost full) of stories. Which we’ve read dozens of times each already, btw. So no go on the upload.

But I’m still going forward. I have to do some stuff today, and then I’m off to proof it. I have to do this. Now I’m obsessed. Any of you who know me IRL know this is a bad thing, but it will get done by hook or by crook. So help me.

Anyway, all weekend I did nothing but agonize over that. How ‘bout you?

-JDT-

9 thoughts on “Monday Updates

  1. My eyes were bad over the weekend anyway. But you shouldn’t feel bad about asking. I can always say no. 🙂 My eyes are getting better, probably by tomorrow I’ll be seeing clearly enough to proof, if that’s not too late.

    It’s not too late, sweets, but it’s also about 52K. Don’t know if you can turn that around in a day, can you? If you can MORE POWER TO YOU and YOU DA BOMB!! … but I don’t think you want to waste your time with that, do ya? Still, Love ya for the volunteering. 🙂 Thank you.

  2. Sorry I missed your call for Kindle people. I’m still open to helping out, if you need it.

    Thanks, dear! Shoot me an email with the preferred addy for sending the file and I’ll get it out lickety-split. 🙂

  3. Oye! Those little buggers (typos) always seem to be found at the last moment (or after what we think will be that last moment to fix them). Darn it! Try not to agonize too much. 😉 I got absolutely no writing done and went for a little hike with hubby and the toddler. Despite carrying said thirty pound toddler for good portions of a few mile hike it was a lovely time. 🙂

    Glad to hear about a nice, relaxing weekend away from the stresses of writing. It’s good to take a break! And a hike sounds exhausting yet fun in a oh-God-help-me-I-can’t-breathe sort of way. I’m glad you had a nice weekend. 🙂

  4. I offered to help too, on my blog, I guess you missed it. Can’t do 52 k (though would have liked to), but send me a few stories and I’ll send them back proofed, promise!

    Sorry sweetie, it’s all one big document now. But I can send it and you can pick one or two if you’d like? I have a couple of really long ones and a couple of medium ones and a few short ones. 🙂 Thank you so much for offering!

    I think we can all pool in and do the proofing.

    Aw, you guys are awesome! Thank you!

  5. Send it across and I’ll tell you the names of the ones I’m doing so there’s no overlap.

    Or maybe could post the names in the comments so others helping you would know which ones to skip!

    I sent it and gave you a list of all the stories from which you can choose. Thanks hon! *hugs*

  6. I don’t remember where I read something about the dreaded typo, but the article talked about no matter how many readers are needed to look for typos–more than you’d think. And when you see a published book with a typo, it indicates how much money the publisher put into the book. More money, more proofreaders. Or maybe more time for the proofreader to do his or her work.

    Recently I read a book a friend self-published. He had a group of readers, and there were still two or three typos. Don’t beat yourself up too much.

    Nice to know I’m not alone; still, I have to embrace the Gospel of Konrath as much as possible and polish, polish, polish the manuscript! So I’m a-polishin’. 🙂 Thanks for the encouraging story though. I do find typos in published books sometimes, and lately they seem more prevalent. I wonder why?

    • I agree. Polish til you drop! But a mistake may just weasel through anyway. Perhaps if in fact published books have more typos it is because publishers are cutting back on the time and staff for each book. So, instead of being allowed, I don’t know, let’s say, a week to proof, the editor is given two days. And perhaps instead of (and this is a random guess) three people reading the manuscript, there is only one. And maybe instead of paying a bit more for someone with experience, they’re paying less for people with, well, scant experience. Some of my stories I’ve looked at so many times and I STILL find errors. And I’m an English teacher for crying out loud. Hush, don’t tell my boss.

      I think the exact same thing about why more typos now than in years bygone. And I promise, I won’t tell a soul about your mistakes. 😉 Polish ’til I drop for sure, but there’s an old saying which may apply here — “You can’t polish a turd.” I hope that’s not the case. 😉

  7. If you’ve both read the stories many times, you’ll never find the typos. I’d offer, but I’m busier than a one legged man in an a$$ kicking contest.

    ‘s okay, YC, we understand completely. You can make it up to me by buying one and getting everyone you know to do the same. 😉

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

