The NEW SSRLP


The New Super-Secret Real-Life Project: Revealed!

It’s not so super-secret this time though. Matter of fact, the last one wasn’t either; don’t know why I didn’t tell y’all about it.

I don’t want to jinx this one, because it’s not a done deal yet. I’m waiting for the publisher to send me the guidelines for the new book so I can get started writing. I’ve already had some help getting started with the research involved, but the publisher may still kabosh the whole thing. With that disclaimer out of the way, I’ll tell you what it is.

A few weeks ago, I started getting new calls from the agent I work with and he proposed a couple of book projects for me. One of them was a book about the Android, the cell phone device; another was about HTML5 and CSS3. I never heard anything back about either of those books, but then he offered me another one, by the same publisher of my last book. As you know by now, that was an extremely simplified how-to book on PowerPoint 2010, available only in the UK.

Well, this series of books is called the Brilliant series. It’s a little more complex than the In Simple Steps series I wrote for last time, but it still cuts through a LOT of the bullsh!t and fluff found even in the  Dummies series and the Complete Idiot’s Guide series here in the US.

They offered me an update to their current HTML/CSS book. The original author turned the project down for another opportunity. He’s a programmer with extensive HTML/CSS knowledge. Me? Not so much. I balked, but my agent felt I could do it. I looked up stuff and web and decided, you know, I think I can do it after all. So I accepted the project.

Lots of little details to work out with this one though, including how much of the current information I have to use or will this be a complete rewrite (which is my preference, honestly, considering how much has changed in HTML from then to now). How much of the advance does the original author get? How much of the royalties? If I’m doing a full rewrite, am I allowed to use any of his original book at all? Those sorts of things. All tricky. I’ll leave most to the agent, though.

So that’s it. That’s what’s on my horizon, and I hope it ocmes through soon. How ‘bout you? What’s on your plate lately?

Have an AWESOME weekend, y’all!

-JDT-

8 thoughts on “The NEW SSRLP

  1. Very excited for you!! That’s great.

    Have an awesome weekend!

    Tank you V.R.! I’m sort of saving “excited” for when it comes through officially. 😉 Have an awesome weekend yourself!

  2. if you’re going to continue to use the term SSRLP, can’t we just band together and start calling it “The Slurp” because, well, slurp is a funny word.

    Absolutely, why not? 🙂

  3. Hey, what a great prospect! I’ll try to beam some good karma your way!

    Well, thanks Sparty Girl! I’m glad you stopped by today. Have an amazingly awesome weekend!

  4. Slurp! I love it! You sound very confident, Mr. Authorman. Glad things are going well. 🙂

    Thankye, sweetie. 🙂 I’m not TOO confident, I hope, but I think this can be done. I should probably get some things started just to have my ducks in line, but I’ve still not gotten the green light just yet.

  5. The best thing about that post? The two words — “my agent.”

    Ha! Yeah, they feel weird to say. It’s a strange relationship I have with him. I have no idea how to describe it. Not the same as a fiction author/agent relationship, I don’t think. Not based on what agents say of themselves, anyway.

    As always, good luck! You can do it! how can you not do anything involving a slurp?

    Gotta love slurpin’. 😉 Thanks!

  6. In my time, there was a “thinker” who wrote a book “I’m OK; you’re OK. I say we’re all OK until the evidence suggests otherwise. Proceed to destination.

    Darc – are you in the UK?

    No, not in the UK. But the book series IS, exclusively. 🙂

  7. I would like to do a How To series, but I don’t have much How To knowledge. I have a lot of How NOT To knowledge, though.

    Awesome, LOL. And you could write one on behavior in everyday restaurants for both customers and servers. Run away hit. 🙂

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

