Only MOSTLY Dead


Ha! Thought you were rid of me, didn’t you? Well, think again, chumps.

More likely, none of you probably even noticed I didn’t post anything Monday. Or today for that matter. But I’m posting now because I like blogging, and figured I should say something to make it seem like I’m blogging. Heh.

How ‘bout a round of news and updates? …like I’ve got news, right?

  • The slurp (credit for coining that term goes to my friend Kristy btw, who came up with it during the first SSRLP) is not progressing. I’m waiting to hear back from the publisher on whether they’re okay with a total rewrite of the book, what their schedule is, where the heck are my guidelines, etc. So nothing to report there except I’m not writing it yet. I will be doing the HTML part from scratch, based on the outline of the first book. Maybe. The CSS part should be mostly unchanged, but a bit of research on each property used will soon tell. Meh. Shouldn’t be tough.
  • The e-book is still going. I worked over the weekend to get my sections proofed (not done), get the sections other people proofed into the main HTML document (done, thank you Sherri and Damyanti), and then I have a few last minute things to work through. Search and replace repetitive things, make any symbol corrections for em-dashes and whatnot…things like that. Then it will be ready to go to my Kindle Beta user and she’ll let me know if it looks all right on the Kindle. If it does, I will finally, finally, get to upload this thing to the Kindle store and Smashwords. I’m shooting for next weekend. Again.
  • Nothing new on the employment status, but a LOT of action on my resume lately. Calls from recruiters seem to be on the upswing too. Good stuff.
  • Got another idea for a book. I don’t have it formed well enough to put it to my story structure layout yet, but when I do I’ll know whether it’s viable or not.
  • Not writing fiction. *sigh*

Mm…that’s about it, I guess.

How y’all doing?

-JDT-

9 thoughts on “Only MOSTLY Dead

  1. An idea for another book?!? You tease! Now I’m chomping at the bit to know what it’s about!! Arg! LOL I love ya even if you are driving me nuts.

    AHAHAHAHA!!! You’re too awesome for words! Yes, another book. You’ll have to call me when you get a chance and I’ll tell you what it’s about. So far, nothing. MUUAAHAHAHAHAA! 😉 Love you too sweetie!

    • Evil, evil man! I am thinking about renaming you basement kitty.

      God, no. Anything but that. I HATE those damned ungrammatical cat pictures. UGH.

  2. Action on the resume, action on the Kindle, wooHOO.

    Yeah, not too shabby. I mean, it’s not a JOB and the Kindle thing may amount to a whopping ZERO since I’m not a marketing guy, but what the hey, right? 🙂

    Well, let’s see, how am I doing. I’ve got clear, breezy weather in the mid-70s, an iPod loaded with my favorite music (compliments of my wonderful husband), a full belly, a clean shed and another hour to work on this editing test before wife/mother duties resume, which I welcome with a smile. So…yeah. Doing good. 🙂

    Good! It’s good to be good! I like good. Fully bellies and clean sheds — what more can farmers ask? 😉 How’d that editing test go, and who was it for? Did I miss something?

    • I’m in charge of hiring editors for Cove Publishing–you know, the startup epub of which I am the senior editor. That sounds bizarre.

      Y’know, I know you’ve told me about this, so why is it sorta news? How long have you been doing this? Do you think I could apply to be an editor? I still need a job after I write the next non-fic book. Or is it royalty-based like the other one you had?

  3. I did notice your absence. I’m still working my fingers to the bone.

    Aw, thanks hon. I hope things are profitable for you at least. And your Laramie trip was fun. 🙂

    • Laramie trip sucked a$$. It was hot, a day short and there was too much to do without enough time to get it done. It was like work only worse.

      I hate when a trip ends up being like work where YOU pay. Sorry it worked out so poorly for you.

  4. It is only 95 degrees here, which is a great improvement. Now we can go outside without feeling as if the sun is a very angry death ray.

    When 95 is a marked, relief-inspiring IMPROVEMENT, someone please KILL ME. I can’t imagine it. 😦

    We got a second dog. Kiddo is HAPPY.

    Dogs make kiddos happy. 😀 Congrats on the new addition.

    And other than the being hassled at my favorite cafe, things are good.

    It sounded a LOT worse on Facebook than on your blog, to be honest.

    Glad to hear your news. Things look bright. Not as bright as the Texas sun, but that might burn your eyes out.

    Future’s so bright I gotta wear shades. Which draws a LOT of funny looks in public. Maybe I should’ve used sunglasses instead?

  5. I’m mostly dead right now too. Can’t feel my legs.

    Ah, well — long as you can still feel what’s between ’em, you’re a man. Nothing else matters. So I hear.

  6. The job market must be heating up in Toronto. I thought it was a buyer’s market, but not according to my experience this week. I scheduled 5 interviews. Two of the five no-showed. Didn’t even call to cancel! I guess they don’t mind be black-listed for the rest of their lives, at least in my books.

    Boy, those crazy kids. You never can tell with them, y’know? 😉 I’ve had one interview in the last year or more. I made sure I was present and on time for the appointment. But that’s just me.

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

