Weekend Round-up


It’s Monday morning everyone, and I’ve been sort of busy over the weekend. I hope you all had a happy and safe time away from work and are facing your workday challenges and acquaintances with a smile on your face and a song in your heart.

Or whatever.

Without further adieu:

  • I finished editing and polishing (such as it is) my eBook document over the weekend. Without additional excuses available, I published on both Amazon.com and Smashwords.com. The results were mixed. With Amazon’s Kindle store, looks like all I need is for them to approve the book (wtf?) and then we’re finished. It’ll go live. That’s the big one. Smashwords gave me fits. They said something about not liking my TOC, so I have to check out what they want from me on that before that will be available in their “Premier Catalog” listing. *Yawn* We’ll see. Most Kindle authors are saying they publish on Smashwords and make about a fifth what they do on Amazon, so meh. Amazon’s the main thing right now, and they’re looking good to go.
  • This is the last weekend I’ll have off of work. From now on I’ll have to spend every weekend, whether I get a job or not, writing my non-fiction book. I have so much research to do it’s daunting, and I need at least one or maybe two sample Word documents from people who’ve already written one of these to use as a template. I’m excited about it, but it’s also a lot of work, and I hope the deadline (mid-November) is doable. I think so.
  • Of course, as soon as I can’t do it because of time commitments to paying things, I get a bunch of clever ideas from J. A. Konrath’s blog about eBooks and what they’re able to do. *Sigh*
  • And of course, as soon as I can’t do it because I’ve committed to the paying gig, I get another idea for a novel. You know what the best inspiration is for me? Not being available to write. As soon as I have free time to write the ideas dry up like the Mojave in August. But if I can’t because I’m working on something else or FOR someone else? Idea smorgasbord. *Sigh*
  • Any suggestions about marking the eBooks is appreciated. If you have a Kindle and would like to buy it, please let me know, although I don’t know why you would do that when it was up on my fiction blog for free for a long time. Still, I appreciate any and all support. Give it a nice review while you’re at it, will ya?
  • I’m thinking of making a Facebook page for it. Please join it. Be a fan if you’re on FB, okay? Please? Oh, and if you know how to do this, let me know. I need all the help I can get. Thanks!

So I guess that’s not that much after all, but I felt as busy as a three-legged cat with diarrhea all weekend. Hm. All about perspective I guess.

How was your weekend? Sound off, all!

-JDT-

5 thoughts on “Weekend Round-up

  1. Sounds like things are going well. Good luck writing the non-fiction!

    Thanks, Bob! Yeah, things seem pretty good right now. But, you know, it can all change in a heartbeat. 😉 Still, we’re optimistic and hopeful and sort of excited. 🙂 Thanks again!

  2. Ain’t that the way it goes? Nothing, nothing, nothing…EVERYTHING. I like seeing you busy, though, and I bet you do, too. 🙂 I think I’ll be busy soon, because I am no longer Senior Editor at the new e-publisher–I’m now Acquisitions Editor, crazy as that sounds. It’ll be a few months before we launch, so I can’t say anything else yet.

    WOW! Sounds like a promotion to me! Congratulations! This sounds so awesome — so email me with some details woman. “I can’t say anything else yet” my ass.

    Anyway, glad to see you rolling along.

    Rolling along best we can. 🙂

  3. 3 legged cat with diarrhea!! I love this. Do I have to pay a royalty fee if I use it? 🙂

    Yes, but to my father, not me. It’s his homespun expression. 😉

    I have a Kindle and I will buy your book. Holler when the Kindle version is ready.

    Awesome! Thanks! Should be soon — today or tomorrow. Which stinks because tomorrow is David Shrock’s book launch. 😦 Don’t want to steal any of his thunder.

    Also, I’ve set up a FB fan page before, so just email me if you need help. More than happy to lend a hand.

    GREAT to know! I’ll definitely be asking if that’s the way to go with FB — setting up a fan page for the book. I know another author who did this and it seems to be pretty popular (though I can’t say home many sales it’s translated to for him — which is all that matters!). Thanks V. R.!

  4. Making a page for it on facebook is easy. At the bottom of the main log in page it asks if you want to create a page for a celebrity, band or business. I would make an author page which is separate from your personal page. That way you can get fans, but they don’t have to be all up in your business.

    I didn’t see “author page” but I DID see “Writer” — are these one in the same? Sorry if that sounds stupid, but I’m not sure because I’ve seen other people have pages for a particular BOOK (option for which I didn’t see, but DID see “movie”, so wtf there?) rather than for a writer/author. Which would you recommend: Page for Author, or Page for Book?

    • I think Page for Author. I set up a page for my blog and I can’t remember how I did it, but it started with the Celebrity, Band or Business button.

      They’ve changed some of this too. Like I said, there’s no Author choice; it’s “Writer” which I guess means the same thing, and that’s what I did. Now I have to get an image up there and see what’s what. Thanks! 🙂

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

